We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay for business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Washington DC
Ranked #55 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

No real lounging area in the room but it's sizable enough when you just need to use the room for sleeping. Bathroom is nice--no tub but the shower is plenty spacious. Room is styled with the usual signature hipness. The seats in the lobby, while interesting, aren't very comfortable. Staff are friendly but not the friendliest. There was an event on the rooftop lounge so we didn't get to look around much.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beantownqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    993
    594
    268
    138
    91
See reviews for
323
578
141
698
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I came on thursday night (2am of friday) starving after a flight from LA, dont't ever think you can eat here because not only the grill was getting clean, I was told my burger would have had an hour delay and wasn't offered not even a salad. On Friday night we had a delay for towels but I understand that this is a punchi punchi hotel and all the staff are really bussy during the night. It is noisy, really noisy during the night but I can live with it.
On Saturday morning called again to get shampoo and soap but never came... really bad for what you pay.
I used to love the old Hotel Washington, this W not that much and I hope I don't need to end up here never again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magarcia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody_Insider, Manager at W Washington DC, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Hello Magarcia99,

I do apologize for the less than perfect experience you had while staying with us. This is not the service that we offer here at the W Washington, DC. We strive to give the guest Whatever/Whenever as that is our service committment to our guest.

I do hope that you will visit us again soon in the near future. Feel free to reach out to me directly and I will make sure that you have a fabulous stay.

All the best,

Cody
W Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I spent five nights at the W hotel and must admit it has great personal service. The rooms are spacious and disctreely lit, and the ability to adjust lights to match different moods is good for those looking for some peace of mind. And despite being right next to Treasury and the White House, and Pensylvania Avenue, this hotel is surprisingly quiete and serene. Ok, the Music at the Rooftop may be too loud, and the restaurant too noisy.. but that is for those who chooose to spend time there! The staff are attentive and go out of there way to help. But the hotel can be crowded, and the booking easily gets cancelled if you do not show up quickly....and that can be frustrating as happened to me ...forcing me to look for another hotel before coming back.

Room Tip: Dont be too close to the Rooftop. That restaurant can make you run mad with the noise. And always ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulnairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
776 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Few months ago was here for business also and I was disappointed. This time it was better. Strong points are its location, quality of services and attentive staff. And of course the POV bar at the eleventh floor, this becoming a minus if you stay at the tenth floor due to the noise... It's one of the most wanted places in DC... Weak point also is the breakfast restaurant, where choice is limited, a bit expensive and slow... And don't ask for the bill split for more than three persons... More choices in the neighborhood...speaking about the room amenities, you have to ask for slippers or vanity kit..

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, ON
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We had stayed at this hotel years ago before it was redone by Starwood. The new modern decor doesn't match the charm of this old building. The hallways are dark and do not have the feel of a high end hotel. The rooms are small with no exterior light coming in.

Valet parking is the highest I have paid in DC at $50/night.

On a positive note, the location is fantastic! Easily accessible to all of the main sites and great restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PortiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Washington DC

Property: W Washington DC
Address: 515 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#65 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,687 - ₹ 39,594
Hotel Class:4 star — W Washington DC 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to W Washington DC, a hotel beyond expectations. Next to the White House, the most powerful suits - pinstripes and black lace-rendezvous at W Washington DC, where Italian Renaissance meets modern cool. With commanding rooftop views of major landmarks, W-Gate is all about stately indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your W Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
w Hotels Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing