We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average... ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
Ranked #97 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

The rooms are very modern, and I liked that the rooms are adjoining; it worked perfect for our needs, so we were able to have a king room connected to a room with 2 queens. The room was very clean, but the bathrooms are itty-bitty and there's no outlet in the bathroom. Like others, I found the additional $20 fee per room per night to be pretty outrageous (especially when there was no decaf coffee or hot water at 8:30 am our second day), along with the $46 parking fee per night. The tissues were like sandpaper; for the total price including the additional fees and taxes, I would expect higher quality paper products in the room. The beds and the bedding were great, and all the staff was courteous, polite and helpful. The text and email service was also a nice touch. Overall the hotel is better than average, but I was pretty underwhelmed with the restaurant operating in the Liaison.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank travelwithtwointow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, General Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill DC, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear travelwithtwointow -

Thank you so much for staying with us and I appreciate very much the detailed feedback on your visit with us. Our team works hard to create a great experience for our guests and while it appears on the service side we were able to execute, on some of the product side we didn't make it happen. We are constantly reviewing all of our products from paper products to amenities to bedding and your feedback is important to us and appreciated. I apologize as well if there was any time that we were not executing at 100% either in the restaurant or anywhere throughout the hotel. While a busy time, we need to be ready for every guest no matter the time and I apologize that we fell short at all. Please let me know when you will be back in DC as we would love to have you back so that we can demonstrate to you the service that we are capable of delivering from arrival through departure. Thank you.

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

My teenage daughter and I visited for the 4th of July holiday. The hotel was clean, room service was good and the beds were comfortable. The rooftop pool area was nice but too small to accommodate a full hotel on a holiday weekend. They rented out the pool on our first night for an adult only private event so we could not utilize it because I was traveling with a teenager as I mentioned. I was still charged the hotel fee per day which included usage of the pool eventhough we couldn't use it on our first night. The hotel is very close to tourist attractions.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nafeesa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, General Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill DC, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Nafeesa N -

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing a positive review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and appreciate your feedback on the Rooftop and please know that we are changing all of our programming for 2018 so that our guests are able to enjoy our Rooftop every day! Your feedback is important to us and we know the importance of access at all times and are making both the programmatic and some physical changes to accommodate more guests comfortably. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have you back again this summer!

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

This was a great location to keep you close to everything you want to do in Washington DC. I did book for a King bed and ended up getting two Full Beds because I was told they used up all of the Kind Beds. The beds were not that comfortable and the bathrooms were a little small. The pictures on the website when I booked looked much different than reality. However the front desk staff, DeAngelo, was outstanding! He made every effort to make up for the booking issue and had a few customers that were being rude and handled them with calmness and was very professional.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, General Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill DC, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Adam B -

Thank you very much for being our guest and for sharing your comments here. We especially appreciate the great comment on DeAngelo. While he is one of our newer desk team members, he has quickly grown to be one of our best and it is great to hear that he made a great impact on your visit with us. I apologize that we did not have the bed type that you reserved as well. That is not typical and not in keeping with our expectations or yours and I appreciate the feedback so that we can identify and correct this issue going forward. I do hope that you will return to us again so that we can demonstrate that we can exceed your expectations and deliver exceptional service and stay quality throughout your visit. Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your feedback so that we can improve!

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Wonderful two night stay in this hotel, very close to the Capital. Clean, comfortable rooms. Big Flatscreen TV. Really wonderful staff at concierge/bell desk, front desk, and elsewhere. Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starsky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Have stayed at the Liaison twice. Rooms are above average. Personnel friendly. Art and Soul Restaurant located in hotel is excellent. Within walking distance of the Capitol, the Smithsonian and the train station.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank boham2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, General Manager at The Liaison Capitol Hill DC, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear boham2017 -

Thank you very much for being our guest and sharing a great review. We love hearing that the staff made such a positive impression and that you were able to enjoy Art and Soul while you were with us. Thank you again for staying and we hope to have you back again soon!

Jeff Brainard
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,726 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,219 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liaison Capitol Hill DC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liaison Capitol Hill DC

Address: 415 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Capitol Hill , Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 9,056 - ₹ 31,760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Liaison Capitol Hill DC 4*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a prime location in DC's historic Capitol Hill neighborhood, the Liaison is the closest hotel to the U.S. Capitol. The Smithsonian, the National Mall, Union Station & dozens of the country's most visited museums & monuments are all within walking distance. During your stay, be sure to visit Art and Soul restaurant, where our team creates globally-inspired cuisine. Spend some time in our lobby: the artwork featured represents local DC landmarks, culture, & talent. Our spacious Rooftop Pool & Lounge makes another spectacular setting. Before a day of sightseeing, head up to the roof to catch rays & swim laps. Our rooftop pool is open from Memorial Day - Labor Day. Hotel Facilities Fee: $19.95 per night (plus tax), includes daily coffee at our Grab & Go from 7-10am, premium high-speed Internet, local & domestic long-distance calls, the use of our business center & access to Press Reader, a mobile app which lets you read newspapers and magazines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Liaison Capitol Hill DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing