We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful Drive!

I attempted to drive up to Hatchers Pass but only was able to make it to the Hatchers Pass Lodge... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Stefan M
,
Apex, NC
Hiking Up In God’s Country

If you have the time, head up the Pass to indulge in hiking of all levels. Mountain streams and... read more

Reviewed 23 October 2018
CheffK
,
Wasilla, Alaska
via mobile
Read all 156 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Alaska
from US$ 225.00
More Info
from US$ 299.00
More Info
from US$ 170.00
More Info
from US$ 135.00
More Info
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
133
18
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
18
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews summit lake beautiful drive gold mine paved road berry picking tree line wheel drive hiking trails parks highway blueberries fall colors magnificent scenery late june palmer area picnic lunch trail head glenn highway
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We were introduced to Hatcher Pass by our professional photographer friend, Hanna with Relic Photographic. She took our photos here one night and we returned the next day to tour the trails. We hoped to see some bear, moose, larger mammals. Instead, we were enthralled by the scenic views. Though we were visiting during tourist season, our weekday visit wasn't terribly crowded and we were easily able to safety stop for photographic opportunities. Great hidden treasure, Hatcher Pass.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank RockinM412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We drove to Hatcher Pass from Anchorage on a summer day, since we didn't have any scheduled activities that day. It was a beautiful drive. Little Susitna River was beautiful, with turn-outs where you can park and go down to the big boulders in the river. The gravel road leading up to the pass was very navigable and lead to some great views.

Lots of short trails leading up to the hills for kids and adults to enjoy and get 360 degree views from, and Summit lake was beautiful as well.

Wasilla, Palmer are close by, so I would recommend packing a picnic lunch before you drive up there.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Siddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

..drive. We drove the whole loop, from Willow to Palmer and back to Willow. Easy drive, with great views. Weather dependent, although, but we were lucky. Read in to the pass history will make it even more rewarding. If u want hike, there's plenty of opportunities. A good day!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Dag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

After having sledged "The Mile" in February 2017, I wanted to return to Hatcher Pass to see it in the summer. Honestly I expected to see rocks and eventually land slides. But what I've gotten was an overwhelming sea of greenery covering the scarps of those majestic mountains!
As most of the places in Alaska, also the Hatcher Pass has different faces depending on the season. The contours and the overwhelming height of the mountains, the fault that goes through its base and the Little Susitna River are the only constants. But to call these constants is also to accept the fact that what you see has the same name it had months or years ago, but still, it's totally new to your eyes. The river, the detailed relief of the mountains, the whole scenario changes . The focus of the observer may bee totally: from the all covering white to the all covering green. And some grays and browns peeping in between.
If you have a chance, don't miss it. It is big enough to offer you a sportive challenge independent of the time of year. And a plate full of three-stars-food for your eyes and your soul!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank CsFid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We drove up to Hatcher Pass one afternoon. It's a long (maybe 20 miles), windy, paved road to the top. But the Pass road itself was still closed in late June because of snow. (The Pass road is a gravel mountain road between here and the town of Willow which is north of Wasilla). It was quite breezy up here on the day we drove up. If you plan to explore, definitely bring a heavy fleece or a jacket. There is a huge parking lot at the top of the road. The main thing to see up here is the Independence Mine State Historic Park, a huge abandoned gold mine with many of the buildings still intact. There is a $5.00/car fee to get into the Independence Mine property. There also are trails that take you higher and higher up the mountainside. We hiked up one of the steep trails for about 45 minutes. You're above tree line so it's pretty rocky and wide open hiking. Great views! After returning to the parking lot, we strolled over to the Hatcher Pass Lodge and Cabins and walked down several of the short paths on the tundra-like landscape. Amazingly, even in this relatively harsh climate, we found little flowers blooming. The ride back down the mountain has a number of pull offs that offer some gorgeous views of the Mat-Su valley. We had the good fortune to have a sunny day to really take in the view. As you descend (or as you climb), the Little Susitna River hugs the roadside for a while adding to the pleasure of the trip. There are other hiking opportunities along the Hatcher Pass Road. A favorite of our B&B host was the Gold Mint Trail - but we didn't have enough time to give it a try.

Date of experience: June 2017
4  Thank Vermonters210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews