We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,834)
Filter reviews
5,834 results
Traveller rating
4,197
1,099
380
111
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,197
1,099
380
111
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal service el patio outdoor shower show table junior suite the mediterranean restaurant beach restaurant jean marc butler service rs beach rs restaurant a la carte restaurants royal section main beach private beach lobby bar hour room service
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 5,834 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

What can we say about the Royal Service at Paradisus that hasn't already been said, probably the best holiday we have had and we travel a lot. This place really is a slice of paradise. The staff really make it, everyone from Lina, the captain, to the gardeners are an absolute delight. Food wonderful, butlers outstanding, beach sublime, restaurants delicious, bar service impeccable and despite what has been reported before - we had wi fi everywhere!
We don't return to the same resort as a rule, it's a big world, but for this resort we will I'm sure make an exception and look forward to seeing all our new friends again.
Thinking of booking? Stop thinking and book you will have a fabulous time.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
9  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Mike S,
Your review is like a jewel to us and we are very grateful to you for sharing your opinions on this site, showing great support to our team.
We sincerely love knowing that you will be making an exception in such a big world and are already planning to come back to visit us again.
With our kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Wow!! This was our first time to Cuba and we didn't know what to expect.We were not disappointed. The view was amazing, food and staff. We met several people who had been going to this resort for many years and that told us just how special it was. The staff feel more like family. Lina, Edgar, Junior, George and Arnando are amazing! The royal service was well worth it!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank liesebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear liesebm,
We thank you for your kindness in writing a review on this site and for sharing it with future travelers.
Your mention of several of our employees honor us sincerely and you can count on us for passing your praise to them.
We truly look forward to having the privilege of hosting again soon to our unique little paradise.
Kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have just got back from 2 weeks of blissful peace and tranquillity at the Paradisus Rio de Oro on Esmeralda Beach. We travel a lot and always enjoy seeing somewhere new. We loved Cuba - probably one of the cleanest countries I've ever been to. Rolling countryside is beautiful and the people are genuinely lovely. We were very lucky with the weather only 1 cloudy day in the whole 2 weeks and I think we saw 15 mins of a downpour but it was hot and sunny straight afterwards. We stayed from 26th Feb to 12th March. The first week - evenings were a tad cool and I felt the need for a wrap at dinner but the second week things were warmer. The sea conditions were fairly choppy for the most part. Stunning to look at but too churned up for much great snorkling. The calmer times were great. The sea is aquamarine and a comfortable temperature. The best reef is to swim from the main beach out and to the right round the rocky headland. We stayed 4 days in a normal junior suite then upgraded to Royal Service for the last 10 days. We felt it was worth it for the breakfast and lunch a la carte option alone. Royal Service has a quieter and exclusive atmosphere which is perfect for really feeling unrushed and relaxed. You can still go down to the main pool and socialize at the bar but when the loud music quizzes start its lovely to escape back to tranquility. We especially liked the less regimented layout of the private beach. Great attentive service for drinks by the team from the beach bar. You never wait long at all.....I also felt the drinks were a better quality. Surprised to see throw away plastic cups at the main pool instead of reusable ones. Most Canadians bring their own vacuum flask things but I can't stand drinking out of them. Huge variety of restaurant's on site and different options for lunch. We quickly avoided the buffet and the pool snack place and stuck to the beach restaurant for lunch - great live music and salads were lovely. Can't beat the view either. Our evenings consisted of the 5 choices of a la carte. Our favourite was Japanese - Royal Service - El Patio - Mediterranean and lastly the Cuban in that order. The house Chilean Cab Sauv was palatable enough. Entertainment was of a good standard. Piano player was not to our taste but loved the surprise operatic serenades at breakfast. Cuba is famous for the arts.....one thing to watch out for if you are an avid Kindle user like we are. Because Amazon is an American company it seems you cannot purchase more books online whilst abroad. You cannot change location of residence either as Cuba is not even on the lust of options. So make sure you buy and download all the books you might want before you go. I had to give my Dad my log in so he could buy books for me from the uk. Once tgey are purchased and in the cloud you can access them when synching. Still a bit of a faff that I could have avoided if I'd known in advance. Wifi is only accessible via a scratch card log in that lasts an hour each time. You can stop and start it. Its free at RS and you get good signal everywhere. Down at the main lobby its 1cuc per hour which is reasonable. The cards are good anywhere you can get a signal. We stayed in room 9424 at RS. It was the last bungalow on the sevond floor so felt very private. No one walking past your balcony.....the view of the gardens was great. We spent a good few happy hours with our G&Ts on the patio after a long day at the beach....the butlers are fab. We had Yunior. He made sure everything was just so. I'm not one for a bath usually but this jacuzzi one in the massive bathroom was really good. I loved it. RS meant your pool towels were swapped on the evening turn down so you were ready for the next day....liked that little touch. Fab hotel with beautiful scenary and grounds. We felt like it was the longest holiday we've been on for ages. Might ne because we broke it up in the middle....enjoy! Cuba won't let you down.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank beachhappykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear beachhappykate,
We love your review and are very grateful for the wonderful marks of appreciation you are showing by writing at length about what you have experienced at our resort.
You did not miss one subject, going from the weather, the swimming, the food, the drinks, the surroundings and so many little details that made your holiday an exceptional one.
Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your support and for providing so much information to others about our hotel.
We would love to know that you are already thinking about coming back very soon to visit us for another unique vacation under our beautiful Cuban sun.
With our kindest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Our third visit to this beautiful hotel and we have already booked next year.

We stayed in the Royal Service sea view rooms which are spacious and well equipped to make your holiday extra special. The food is amazing but what really makes this holiday is the people from the Gardeners right through to the management team, they are all there for you! Special mentions to Lina and Edgar in the management team, Julio and Norge in the beach bar, Arnaldo in the pool bar all the amazing staff in the restaurants and the gardeners who bring you flowers to put in your hair! We have made some very special friendships

Found it difficult to leave. We have visited many places but the Paridisus RS is outstanding and we can’t wait to go back❤️

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Swimkidz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Swimkidz B,
Your very kind review is a real pleasure to us and we sincerely appreciate your feedback of the wonderful stay that you enjoyed so much at Paradisus Rio de Oro.
We thank you for mentioning some of our shining stars, who will definitely receive your commendation for their outstanding performance and for making your holiday so special.
It is a true honor for us to know that you can't wait to come back to visit us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon to your piece of heaven.
With our warmest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Just returned from three weeks of being looked after by the very best of management and staff. Our 15th visit since royal service opened ten years ago, and already booked for September 2018 and February 2019.
The accommodations and royal service amenities are first class even allowing for fair wear and tair of the property after ten years use. The strongest asset is the sheer dedication and willingness of staff to cater for the needs of guests,particularly led by their rôyal service manager, Lina Cordovez Lorenzo. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Sea views are extra but worth it.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank 3463PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paradisusri0de0r0, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear 3463PG,
We are truly honored and delighted by your review and most importantly, for having you as royal guests for so many years and as part of our Paradisus Family.
There are no words for describing what we feel when you come to visit us again and again and we feel sincerely privileged for being considered in such high esteem, like your only real place of vacation forever.
With our warmest regards,
Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews