We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 31
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Villa La Roca(Holguin)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 42
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Villa Azul(Holguin)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 39
Booking.com
View Deal
Villa Flori(Holguin)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 47
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 75
US$ 55
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pernik(Holguin)
US$ 48
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 107
US$ 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
14
21
17
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
21
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour tour guidestayed nightsseen better daysswimming poolcuban hotelsguayabojeepmellawoodpeckersrustcristaltaxireceptionistcucrenovationhurricane
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The setting is lovely. Reminded me of cabins in the Laurentians or Adirondacks. The showers worked reasonably well in our room a big plus after a long bike ride from Cobre that day (we cheated and got a ride up the steep dirt road). The setting is lovely. The air is cool at night and it's shady during the day. Like many small Cuban hotels it's seen better days, but the setting was what made this unique. Even so, the digs were reasonably clean. So three for facilities and four for setting (setting won). The food is basic Cuban, so don't expect amazing cuisine. You can't mark it down for food though, as it's no different that most other places. The ducks, chickens and peacocks that run around the grounds were fun. There are rabbits on the grounds too. I'm not sure if they're feral or semi domestic. I would hazard a guess that you wouldn't see rabbits wandering around anywhere else in Cuba. The drink prices were good, and all the fixings for Mojitos were at the bar.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John-RockySkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Traveled from Guardalavaca hotel in a 4 wheel drive hire car with our guide Karlos. I opted to drive myself, and what an experience.
You drive out of the hotel zones through palm treed hills, then agricultural land and sugar canes. The roads are quiet but in bad repair, sometimes it's easier to drive on the verge than on the road itself.
After Mayari town, the road becomes a track as it steadily climbs higher into the Cristal Mountains.Again the landscape changes into tropical rain forests with views to die for.
Mind the huge pot holes and the road becomes quite tricky if it rains.
You pass the Guayabo falls on your way which are well worth a visit.
Its about another 20km after the waterfalls until you reach the villa.
We were the only guests at the hotel and were treated really well, the food was delicious both lunch, dinner and breakfasts portions being very large.
The rooms themselves hadn't changed much since the revolution, but they were clean, warm and had what we needed.
There's a pool, gardens and plenty of walks around the grounds which lead higher into mountains.With an abundance of wildlife with Tody's,Trogans and woodpeckers easily seen and wild orchids and other plants growing near to the pathways.
This villa is a million miles from the all inclusive hotels that you normally stay in, but if you want something completely different and too see the real Cuban countryside, way of life and some fresh pine air, give it a try.

Room Tip: take a coat/jumper it gets cold at night
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

I only came here for lunch while on a day tour to the Guayabo falls.The main dining hall & swimming pool are great but one of the main buildings is derelict & dangerous. Some of the rooms were made up and left open so I had a wander through. The sheets & blankets were in a poor state & there was evidence of bugs & critters throughout the room. I'm not sure where the people stayed who gave it good reviews but i don't think it could've been in the main area around the pool because those rooms were sad & neglected.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank LJCamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Challenging to get to due to the long drive on a bad road, but well worth it to enjoy a more natural side of Cuba. Accommodation is clean and comfortable in large, well maintained, chalet style wooden cabins, staff are very friendly and excellent, food is as good as it gets in Cuba. Stay for a day or more and enjoy hiking up the Loma Mensura (995 meter ridge directly behind the villa) and the on-site botanical display of native plants and orchids. Great swimming pool to cool off on a hot day.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

After you get there , you are not allow to go with your car to your cabin or room even when this have a road, , when you arrive you check in , then you have to walk more than 500 meters to your room with your suite case under the rain , I asked, why? They told me is the management policy, really? Some workers told me "is because is not safe leave the car there" ... but they have a security team around making sure, no one from outside even closer to the rooms.... when you arrive between 1:30am or 5:00 o clock am most of the security guards are sleeping ... Including everybody else ...

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank almen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews