We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Supposed to be the best 5* hotel on the beach in Trinidad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Supposed to be the best 5* hotel on the beach in Trinidad”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were moved from the Costasur to this hotel because the Costasur had hot water problems. We did not have hot water for 3 whole days at this hotel despite complaining everyday. The ceiling outside the bathroom was leaking and nothing was done about this either. The food was not very appetising; left over food from the restaurants were served in the buffet the next day. All cocktails are made using syrups. Not very good value for money basically.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    435
    476
    303
    240
See reviews for
309
717
59
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The single star as opposed to zero stars is based on the location, setting, and housekeepers and wait staff. We arrived on a rainy Friday night. We found half the electricity did not work in our room, and a broken safe. The buffet dinner ranged from unhealty (mold on fruit) to inedible. That night we discovered we had no hot water, that the shower head delivered water in fast drips. Calls to the front desk were unanswered, busy, or told it's Friday, we can't do anything until tomorrow. Saturday, despite promises, there was no change is the delivery of hot water or water pressure, this despite a promise to bring a new shower head, a promise that did not materialize. Saturday the hotel 'ran out of exchange money', a situation that lasted through the weekend. The towels in our room had black (mascara?) and make-up stains. The water and electricity and food situation affected the entire hotel for the entire weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trinidad hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the Brisas in Trinidad for 4 nights after being in Havana for 3 nights but before we went to Varadero for a week. This hotel is not a patch on the hotels in Varadero but we thought it gave a more realistic view of Cuba itself. We wanted to visit Trinidad but enjoy the beach too and felt that this hotel was the best option, we weren't disappointed. The food was OK and the entertainment was fun (although a little repetitive) and our beds were comfortable. Stay here if you want to visit Trinidad but if all you want is a beach holiday in a very touristy place then go to Varadero. Four days was enough. Do visit Trinidad and we recommend a Coco taxi back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lesley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This "resort" is state owned and run like all Cuban hotels - and it shows. It would be kind to call the rooms marginal. Our balcony had no chairs and repeated requests were simply ignored. The room was in a general state of disrepair. The sundries store was only open 8am - 6pm so if you wanted something in the evening you were out of luck. Drinks at the bar were served in cheap plastic cups and did not taste good. The worst attribute has to be the food though. I'm not a very picky eater but there were many things on the buffet I would not touch. Many "mystery meats". One of our group tried to cut a pork chop for about 10 minutes and then finally gave up. Hands down, the worst food we have ever experienced anywhere in the world and there are no alternatives nearby.

If I had to compare this place to something outside Cuba it would be a low cost dive resort in Cozumel. However, even the worst of the Cozumel dive resorts have better food and service.

There are simply too many things wrong with this resort to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NC_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This property was quite nice for the two nights we were there. I was part of a tour group and so maybe that had something to do with the good time. The food was O.K., the room was good (except we couldn't open our patio door) and we had an ocean view which was marvelous, the service was fine. The beach is great and close to the property. Enjoy yourself and don't worry.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saturn_Sela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
7.2 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
19.4 km away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
293.9 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,243 reviews
54.0 km away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
141.8 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Trinidad del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Trinidad del Mar

Property: Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Address: Peninsula Ancon, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,012 - ₹ 13,898
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Trinidad del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Also Known As:
Brisas Trinidad Del Mar Hotel Trinidad
Brisas Hotel Trinidad
Brisas Resort All Inclusive Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing