We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason this is the #1 casa in Cuba!”
Review of Casa OsmaryAlberto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa OsmaryAlberto
Ranked #16 of 354 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“There's a reason this is the #1 casa in Cuba!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Actually, there are many reasons! Let's start with the fact that Alberto and Osmary went out of their way to make our stay there special. It was our anniversary the first day we arrived. Alberto and Osmary not only cooked up a special (delicious) dinner, complete with fresh fish, flaming cake and excellent cocktails, but they also brought in a classical guitar player to entertain us (and give us a few dancing lessons). In our room that night they had left champagne as well!
The layout of their house is lovely with lots of plants and sitting space. This was the best place to sip rum, smoke a cigar (our first) and meet other travelers. Alberto and Osmary speak English, but were so willing to suffer through our Spanish so that we could practice and were happy to answer so many of the questions we had about Cuba.
Another reason I want to mention: in town one day we got to talking with a Cuban woman from Trinidad. She mentioned that she had lived there all her life and that this couple (Osmary y Alberto) were often doing things that were good for the community (i.e. donating clothes or food) and you can see the ripple effects of your stay here as having a positive and sustainable impact on the town. We stayed here three nights (which is longer by 2 than any other place we stayed in Cuba). We wished to stay a fourth, but they were full, so we stayed with Alberto's mom in the middle of town, which was another fabulous casa. Amazing family, amazing casa! Vamos a regresar.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    46
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
84
257
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reinbek
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We, a family of five(three kids), were received with lots of hospitality. Roberto gave lots of advise and made our stay perfect. Very clean and tasty food. This place is already on the verge to a hotel experience and a little more expensive than other casas in all respects. Nevertheless a very good place for a family or a couple. We would always stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemensKolbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Casa Osmary Alberto in late March this year. Firstly we were greeted at the coach station by 'Jack Black' or his doppleganger - I believe Alberto's cousin. He took us in his car to the casa - it wasn't far but the roads are cobbled so we were grateful of this with our giant case that barely fitted Jack's boot! The casa has rather gawdy loud bedrooms, but a lovely courtyard, comfy bed, large clean bathroom en suite and within short walks you can see most of the town. We ate all our dinners here - I know that doesn't sound adventurous - but it was just so good :-) Every morning he'd offer us a whole array of choices (chicken, pork, lamb, fish, seafood etc) so we tried some real Cuban cuisine as fresh and delicious as it comes. The black bean soup was amazing, the grilled red snapper was a little plain but very healthy, and each dinner started with a fantastic 'muse bouche' as the chef at the casa clearly had high aspirations.

Alberto and his family were very helpful throughout our stay, organising transport to Playa Ancon for us (proper 50s car! only 6 CUC each way) and to the local national park where we swam in the refreshing waterfall (20 CUC, driver was Jack Black!). Trinidad itself is a MUST, a wonderful contrast to Havana with old cowboys on donkeys, men stroking chickens on their laps by the side of the road, wonderful old buildings and Mexican baldy dogs running around - almost like being on set of a Western.

I would definitely recommend this casa - after 3 very full days of sightseeing and half board, our end bill was just 155 CUC. I think we spent that in one day in Havana! Visit the 24 hour bar for a mojito.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamsr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I can't say enough good things about this place and the people who own and run it. I visited Trinidad for 5 days in early May after a week's Cultural Exchange in Havana with a choir I sing with in Vancouver, Canada. The reviews here speak the absolute truth. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable as is the courtyard where you can relax on a hammock under a lime tree. The incredible food served here is prepared with fine and fresh ingredients and beautifully presented. You are always offered a cocktail before your meal and on a hot day after walking the pebbled streets there is nothing more welcome than an ice cold daiquiri or mojito. But it is the family here that really make the place and Alberto is a very special person. He was so helpful to me during my time in Trinidad with my friend and went way beyond to help me when my iphone was stolen from the bus I took to get there from Havana. He let me use his own cell phone to communicate with my husband in Canada. I can't thank him enough! I can't wait to go back! Trinidad is an absolutely beautiful place! Alberto's wife Osmary is a wonderful artist making beautiful hand-made and hand-painted clothing that is very modern and stylish. Just sorry Alberto that it took me so long to get this review up!

Room Tip: We stayed in the green room. The mattresses were very comfy. The pink room looked lovely too. You ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieo1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This was the best casa we stayed at in Cuba. Its more like a boutique hotel they have chefs wait staff etc. They actually live across the street & all 4 rooms here are for leting out. They even have a BICI cab meet you at your bus to pick you up. They have awesome food 8 CUC PP for Dinner & 4 CUC for breakfast. They do a great bar service. Easy walk to historcal centre. The pool/fountain was not working but it looked good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CautiousKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.1 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
13.0 km away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
225 reviews
197.2 km away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
178 reviews
199.3 km away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 65 in Varadero
1,276 reviews
0.3 km away
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
#6 of 354 in Trinidad
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa OsmaryAlberto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa OsmaryAlberto

Property: Casa OsmaryAlberto
Address: Miguel Calzada No:114 (Borrell) | /Lino Pérez y Camilo Cienfuegos, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 354 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,510 - ₹ 1,887
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing