We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven”
Review of Casa El Capitan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa El Capitan
Ranked #13 of 379 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My son, daughter and myself stayed at La Boca 2 nights. We loved the peaceful countryside, the beach and ocean at our door and the lovely wrap around veranda. Out hosts were wonderful and as I read in another review, Jesus was a legend. We had many good laughs and warm moments. The food was so very very good. At night, the sound of the ocean put you to sleep.

The owners have plans to develop more space on the rooftop and add a sea water pool. Even more to look forward to.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2011

As the last casa on the run out of La Boca on the way to Playa Ancon, I wasn't entirely sure what to expect. However we were met enthusiastically by the lovely owners, and their lovely casa. With the token Cuban rocking chairs outside sitting on the wrap around veranda, we were nearly speechless when we were taken around the back to overlook the daily sunset that we'll never forget. No other casa in La Boca has this view or proximity to a west shore and sunset. Being the last casa and a little further away from the others, does give you that extra peace and quiet.

Michael and Gilet (apologies for the spelling) are nothing but kind and friendly, willing to find out info for you, book taxis, welcome you into their home; they seem to know everyone around the place and always have a smile on their faces. And as for Uncle Jesus - what a legend!

You shouldn't believe Cuba's reputation for poor food - the food at El Capitan is fit for a King. It's delicious, varied, local, and you have a choice everyday. There was far too much of it for us, which didn't stop us eating until it hurt every night!

If you still have the energy to drag yourselves out, there's not a lot going on in La Boca, just a series of casas along the main road, where you'll find the odd traveller. Head into Trinidad for the 9pm Salsa band on the steps, and El Capitan will happily book a taxi for you.

We stayed in La Boca for peace and quiet and to relax on the beach (Playa Ancon). There's a little tourist train (when it hasn't run out of Diesel) that comes by El Capitan a few times a day, which you can jump on for 2 CUC return. The driver will start to remember who you are by the end of your time there and just drop you back off at El Capitan. Failing that, just wave and shout and he'll set you down wherever you need

I couldn't recommend this casa more. It was clean, safe, relaxing, peacful. I read 4 books in 6 days, got a nice tan, had many laughs, and couldn't thank El Capitan enough for our amazing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gravynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We were recommended this Casa from some people we met at another Casa, and truly they were right, this is a nice place. My wife and I ( from Denmark ) stayed 2 nights. We enjoyed very much the good food we vere served on the terrasse overlooking the sea. Rooms are nice and the owners very friendly. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schioth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Located on the outskirts of La Boca, overlooking the Caribbean, this place brings visitors back time and time again. Great food eaten on a patio overlooking the ocean, and very accommodating of our vegetarian family. Very friendly hosts who made us feel like we were part of their extended family. Pocket beaches with incredible snorkeling are within walking distance. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and include a small fridge, and private bathroom with reliable hot water. All in all, this is as good as Cuba gets!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaEcotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank lamandierfrancoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
5.7 km away
Club Amigo Costasur
Club Amigo Costasur
#1 of 2 in Playa Ancon
604 reviews
5.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
5.8 km away
Hotel Ancon
Hotel Ancon
#2 of 2 in Playa Ancon
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#10 of 10 in Trinidad
1,711 reviews
5.4 km away
Hostal Dr Lara y Sra Yuda
Hostal Dr Lara y Sra Yuda
#29 of 379 in Trinidad
318 reviews
5.3 km away
Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa El Capitan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa El Capitan

Address: Playa La Boca #82 | Carretera Ancon, Trinidad, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 379 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing