We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very cute trendy place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Funky Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Funky Studio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Funky Studio
Funky Entance
Funky Outside
Parking On Site
Top of 'Jacob's Ladder' looking down on Onetangi Beach, 100m from Funky Cicada
Onetangi Beach, 2.5ks of Golden Sand
Sunset Onetangi Beach
The Vineyard Next Door
The Journey Begins, Downtown Car Ferry
Downtown from the Ocean
Stunning Waiheke
Stunning Waiheke
Stunning Waiheke
Walk to Trig Hill Viewpoint?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Waiheke Island, North Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janyes
Palmy North
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very cute trendy place to stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Well maintained and very warm, clear instructions as to how to get there, we took the bus and the driver stopped right at the road. Had a lovely stay, thanks highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
927julie
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Funky and cute cottage stay near to onetangi beach”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I booked Funky Cicada as I was attending a wedding on the island and was solo traveler. The booking process was easy - and the owner Nigel promptly responded to all my questions that I had in relation to the property. He also kindly provided some travel tips for my arrival.
The accommodation is studio style and is shared with the grasshopper property. I liked the interior design of the studio and found the bed extremely comfortable. Tea, Coffee and some milk was provided on my arrival. There is also a fridge, microwave, toaster and kettle which made things easy to prepare a breakfast first thing in the morning.
Onetangi beach is approx 10-15 min walk nearby. The path down to the beach provides a spectacular view. Walking back up the stairs might be a bit challenging - so I opted for a road walk around instead. It's a little longer - but good exercise if the day has been spent lazing at the beach.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pepcidac
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Nice little spot”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Cozy cottage perfect for two people. Though it is on the same property as another rental it still affords privacy and you seldom notice the other people except when they are coming and going. The private seating area in behind the cottage is quite nice and offers a good view, with no neighbour immediately next to the property. Not too far of a walk from the beach though the stairs may be a challenge for some.

Gas station and liquor store nearby for the basics, and the grocery store isn't too far by bus.

A nice bbq to use but keep in mind that cooking options are pretty much limited to this.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misteroll...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location on Waiheke”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Awesome studio apartment - nice and modern and clean. It was perfect for a long weekend on Waiheke while we attended a wedding. Nice stroll to Onetangi beach and bus not too far away.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross O
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Weekend breakaway!”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

What a fantastic weekend away. Booking Funky Cicada was easy. Communication with the owners was simple and clear. The accommodation met our needs perfectly - tranquil, peaceful, clean, convenient and great value. And our bond was back in our bank account in no time! Everyone "local" we met on Waiheke was friendly and helpful. The food options were brilliant. We hired a car for two days from Fun Rentals at short notice. That enabled us to explore the island. Man o' War Bay and winery was the perfect place to sit with a beautiful glass of Rose to let the busyness of the year drift out with the tide. And there is still so much more to explore on our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and privacy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2014
Funky Cicada is the prefect couples' retreat, small but funky! Best wishes, Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing