We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Nice meals, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barn Cafe

Barn Cafe
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 21
Cuisines: New Zealand, Bar, Cafe, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Wyalong, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice meals, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had dinner here during our stay in Picton. My husband had fish and chips and I had the roast of the day, which was pork. We both really enjoyed our meals and found the serving sizes to be just right (some places you get huge meals end either leave feeling stuffed or feel guilty for wasting food...). I think there was an open wood fire and the room was decorated with old bits and pieces from Picton's history which gave the place a nice feel.

Would eat there again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TamaraM86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    96
    27
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice for lunches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Good value for money for lunches. Not sure if it does evening meals.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just a feed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Since last in Picton this has changed owner and we found it to have gone downwards in quality. It still has the same pleasant feel to the place but food wise the same as the other restauraunt owned by the same people, very average.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YVONNE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food - great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Service was friendly and the way they had set out the bar/restaurant was awesome. You could have been mistaken for being in a saloon in the USA. The food was served quickly and tasted great although initially were worried about the amount of stuff going in the microwave. The meals are good value for price and a good place to take kids.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Telly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsbeaMsbea
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty good nosh but service so so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

food was really nice, but took ages to be served and finally get food. Waitress was good, and male host was good too. However no computerised point of sale was available and the lady (manager?) manually added up dockets and charged me more than $35 over the actual cost. When i pointed this out, she looked quite annoyed and snatched the receipt back off me and re added, which proved i was right. She didn't apologise for this, nor did she allow me to keep an itemised receipt as "they need them" so all i got was an eftpos receipt. bit annoying really.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MsbeaMsbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barn Cafe also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Barn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing