We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
1
5
3
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
5
3
3
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Place is run down, kitchen is a health and safety issue, dark and has a bug issue.

Toilets are okay however the shared towel to dry hands was covered in stains.

We stayed in a cabin for 1 night before crossing the ferry cost $80 for 3 people. It was $130 at the top 10. Wish i had done my homework before booking.
The man on the front desk treated us like he didn't want to be there and made snarky comments.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AmandaCoombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

The couple that run the campsite in the owner's absence were very friendly upon our arrival and throughout our visit. However, once the owner returned, unfortunately he came across a bit rude, at one point walking into the kitchen and audibly sighing whilst going around tidying, which was a bit uncomfortable. On the couple of times I spoke to him, he did not really exude friendliness either.

Having said this, the campsite is lovely, with some great facilities (a bit dated, but nevertheless very good). There was a kitchen with loads of hobs and all the utensils ans some cheap washing machines and tumble dryers, a T.V/. room and hot showers, all very clean and relatively well maintained.

The site itself was lovely and very picturesque. There is a train track on a viaduct running through the site, which did not disturb us at all and the location was a 15 minute walk into the town centre. Good grass coverage on the tent pitches too! A very reasonably priced site given all it's pluses! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

The camp is very basic with a washing machine and ironing board that is rusting away. There are health and safety issues with the electrics in the kitchen. Lovely ducks on the stream not safe for young children. Playground equipment in poor condition.

This was the worst site we stayed on in the whole of New Zealand.

Room Tip: Camping site so no difference to sites
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

It’s a very basic campsite but it has everything you need. Hot showers and a kitchen. It’s located about 20 minutes walk away from the waterfront. Next to it flows a river that you can take a swim in. The highlight for me was the glowworm trail. Went there one night and it was absolutely magical.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We arrived around 7pm, it was dark & raining. Nobody seemed to be around & it is an odd place to find & you drive across a narrow bridge to get in with not much lighting to help. The attendant was civil but not friendly. The cabin was drab & smelt damp. Had to pay for Wi-Fi & it was small. It seemed clean & was adequate but for $90 for the night we got much better at New Plymouth for the same price the next night.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gayle5609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews