We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gateway Motel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We cannot rate this motel highly enough. Absolutely no criticisms, the staff could not be more helpful. The gold star goes to Greta who let my husband sit on no less than 3 beds so he could find the most supportive. We're from the UK and have travelled a lot. This motel puts many hotels in the UK and Europe to shame in the way they provide for all your needs. We were really taken care of, and would highly recommend is motel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twotravellingseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    182
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
230
379
79
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We decided to get away for a night after having a busy couple of months. We looked at staying in couple of places but the friendless, competitive prices and guarantee of a decent shower made all the difference. Chris's local knowledge and friendliness was something that my partner really appreciated. It was perfect, a great homely feel. I real effort has been made with the furniture and feel within each of the rooms. Fantastic reflection of New Zealand, will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

On a marketing trip around the South Island, I had the fortune to stay at Chris and Kerri's most homely accommodation By Far. I was greeted by a friendly face and they were most accommodating at the late time of check in. The Room was neat, clean and smelled great! It is apparent that great care, time and money was taken in the decor and sleep comforts.
Thank you Chris and Kerri. Will definitely see you on my next marketing tour.
Regards
Ralph
Skydive Fox Glacier

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Last week my brother (from Moeraki - South Is) had a heart attack while on the "Field Day" up North. I am from Dunedin. Naturally his partner Sue, all his family and I were distraught (he is ONLY 58 years old ) ! So, Sue and I searched the net for "puppy friendly" motels cos they have wee Lucy puppy dog. We rang and booked in so we could catch the ferry the next morning to Wellington. Chris was so very helpful and understanding ! X

My brother had been told that he would need either heart stents or bypass surgery and that he wouldn't be able to fly back down South for at least 10 days post procedure. So we did the road trip.

When we got to Gateway Motel Picton, I waited while Sue checked in. As she walked out from Reception, I saw this lady (Kerri) give Sue a cuddle !! X

A few of days later, after my brother had heart stents done, we all headed South (Moeraki for them - Dunedin for me). We crossed the Cook Strait Sunday night and had already rung Kerri and Chris for beds for the night, arriving about 11pm. When we arrived at Gateway Motel Picton, very tired (esp my brother) there were 3 roast meals cooked by Kerri, waiting for us in the oven in our room !!! Wow !! So delicious and so needed !! Where else would you ever find so much kindness and hospitality ?? Thanks Kerri and Chris !!

So, if you ever need a bed in Picton, please choose "Gateway Motel Picton" for a lovely, clean, comfortable stay BUT ESP FOR EXCELLENCE IN PROFESSIONALISM AND SUPER CARING !!!!!

Cheers, Maree Fraser XX

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frasermob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I recently stayed here after my camper van broke down. I can not thank Chris and Kerri enough, within the first few mins of meeting me their personal car was offered to go collect my things and for any other use I may need around the city. I had a fantastic room at a great price, it was cosey, clean, and modern with nice furnishings. The next day they organized to go personally tow my car in the cold and wet right to the door of the towns best mechanic who just so happened to be their friend and he fitted me in the same day in time to get away on the ferry that night! Phew what an incredible effort by all! Everyone I met in the town was wonderful, helpful and genuinely kind, Picton is an awesome place and a must see spot for all visitors to NZ. I can not rate the service these owners provided highly enough. My disaster trip turned into a fantastic experience as Chris and Kerri demonstrated hospitality that deserves a medal! Thanks for everything

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jac_dAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
3.6 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.2 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.0 km away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#11 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Property: Gateway Motel
Address: 32 High Street (Main Street) | Canterbury, Picton 8062, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,586 - ₹ 9,745
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dedicated to providing informative and unbiased online Accommodation, Transportation and Travel & Tourism information. Established in 1995 by Danny de Hek, our extensive network provides comprehensive travel guides for popular destinations and top resources for activities and ‘all things New Zealand’ Our approach is not to compete with other New Zealand sites but rather to be a gateway for visitors to a diverse wealth of information presented in a concise manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing