We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

EcoWorld Picton Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 17.20*
and up
Ecoworld New Zealand tour from Marlborough Sounds
Ranked #13 of 42 things to do in Picton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Meet the Locals at EcoWorld Picton Aquarium.•Nature •Heritage •Explore & Learn •Family – Friendly •Affordable •FUNExplore, get up close, have fun discovering some amazing animals that make New Zealand, (the youngest country in the world), Unique!We strive to deliver outstanding, intimate and unique visitor learning experiences. Our enthusiastic, knowledgeable staff help you discover and have fun, showing you some of the cool native animals that live in the beautiful Marlborough Sounds. •Little Blue Penguins + Behind the Scenes Tour* of penguin area and Wildlife Rehabilitation Refuge•Tuataras + Close Encounters Tour* with New Zealand’s very rare “living fossil”•Giant Weta (Maori wetapunga - “God of the ugly things”)•Seahorses - tiny baby “ponies” to adult New Zealand pot-bellied seahorses•Giant squid - “Monster of the deep” - preserved 5 metre giant squid•Fish from Marlborough Sounds - sharks, crayfish, rays, octopus, blue cod, snapper many more•Kakariki - endangered native parakeet•Lizards - geckos, skinks, + frogs and turtles in a turtle refuge etc.•Orca and Hectors Dolphin - life size models•Touch pool, children's area, movies, shells, fossils, many highly informative displays. Open every day except Christmas Day
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our whole family loved the aquarium the animal feed time was great, the talk was both educational and entertaining. Only one sugestion the uniforms needed looked a bit tatty and one guy was wearing what looked like a picton promotional group uniform it took me a while to work out he was staff.

3  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoWorldNZ, Owner at EcoWorld Picton Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Hi. Thank you for your feedback and comments. Please accept my apologies for the state of some of the staff uniforms. As we are actively interacting with the animals throughout the day we do tend to end up up with some muck on our clothes. We do do our best to keep ourselves as clean as possible but sometimes we do slip up.
I was the person in the blue shirt with the logos "Coolest Little Port in the World - Picton". I also act as a Picton Ambassador promoting Picton and all its great features to visitors, especially those arriving off the ferries and cruise ships. I apologise for any confusion but my enthusiasm probably got the better of me and I should have been wearing an EcoWorld shirt behind the admissions counter and my name badge should have been clearly displayed.
Thank you again. We do look forward to hosting you and your friends again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

very well stocked acquarium and very knowledgable staff. Good to have so many views of the fish swimming but with so many species together a little difficult for the non-expert to distinguish one from another.

3  Thank walreagis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoWorldNZ, Owner at EcoWorld Picton Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Hi.
Thank you for your kind comments which we really appreciate.
We strive to give you our visitors outstanding, intimate and unique learning experiences. Our passionate knowledgeable staff are really dedicated to helping you discover and have fun, showing you some of the cool animals that live in the beautiful Marlborough Sounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Not very much inside, took about 15 mins to walk around. Fine for small children touch pools etc. 1 very small penguin swimming around in the fish pool.

Thank sue_hendry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoWorldNZ, Manager at EcoWorld Picton Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Hi. Thank you for your feedback and comments. We try to encourage as many people as we can to come to one of our feeding presentations that adds to the experience for children and adults alike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Great Aquarium with lots involved. Fish, turtles, touch pool, Tuatara, penquin, Informative talks and feeding sessions. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff.

4  Thank Dee20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoWorldNZ, Owner at EcoWorld Picton Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Hi.
Thank you for your kind comments which we really appreciate.
We strive to give you our visitors outstanding, intimate and unique learning experiences. Our passionate knowledgeable staff are really dedicated to helping you discover and have fun, showing you some of the cool animals that live in the beautiful Marlborough Sounds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This was a great way to see some of our local fish species. Feeding time is at 2 o'clock, so that is a great time to go

1  Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EcoWorldNZ, Manager at EcoWorld Picton Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Hi. Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are glad you had a good experience at the aquarium and would love to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed EcoWorld Picton Aquarium also viewed

 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to EcoWorld Picton Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing