We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”
Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sequoia Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2011

we only stopped here for one night before catching the ferry early in the morning.

we had to wait around for reception to re open as they close for a few hours in the afternoon as one person does a very long shift and needs a break. we were eventually checked in, rather rushed and the guy wasnt happy at all as by the time he gets back there are lots of people at reception wanting to check in.

the hostel itself is nice, they have parking, kicthen was ok, common area was nice, rooms are a good size. you also get some free wifi and then theres free choc pudding in the evening (you have to get in quickly though!)

the one thing that concerned us was there are no locks on the dorm room doors (our room was in the main building), so we locked most of our stuff in our car. They said they do not have locks as people leave at different times of the morning/night due to the ferry and its a lot of hassle with key deposits etc which I can understand but our room was right by the front door - this was left unlocked and ajar all night!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alders627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

I would first start by saying: do not stay in picton. There is nothing here and it is much better to continue onto Marahau, Kaikoura, or Nelson. But if you must, then Sequoia Lodge is ok. The kitchen is big, you get 50MB free internet, there is a hot pool, and free pudding. The place smells a bit of old/musky, but it is clean.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalan_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed one night prior to taking the ferry. Reasonably priced, clean accomodation. The pudding was less than delicious, but tough to complain about this for what it is.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed one night in a clean spacious twin room with own ensuite bathroom. Great location - only a few minutes walk into town for dinner and back to enjoy the FREE hot chocolate pudding & ice cream in the comfortable colourful communal dining room. Then a lovely hot soak under the stars in the outdoor spa pool.
In the morning, FREE breakfast before jumping on the ferry nearby.

Can't ask for more than that!! Much more than I expected from a Backpackers....

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Wish I could have stayed for more than one night.

Staff were very helpful and did all they could to ensure you had a good time (gave the person I arrived with and myself a free room upgrade because they were quite busy in the normal dorms + altered the times of the free shuttle to the ferry terminal to suit everyone + allowed me to stick my wet stuff in front of the fire). Also nice of them to not require you to strip the bed on checkout

The extras were great...free shuttle to and from the ferry terminal, tasty chocolate pudding, solid breakfast and a spa pool.

Hostel facilities and cleanliness were very good.

My one criticism is that the mattress I had seemed quite thin/soft, but it didnt really disrupt my sleeping only an issue when I was sitting on the bed chatting.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.8 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
266 reviews
0.6 km away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#4 of 27 in Picton
341 reviews
4.3 km away
Waikawa Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#13 of 27 in Picton
62 reviews
0.4 km away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
1.3 km away
Picton Top 10
Picton Top 10
#3 of 27 in Picton
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Address: 3a Nelson Square, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price Range: ₹ 2,593 - ₹ 4,954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequoia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly, relaxed, family owned hostel. The Spa pool’s bubbling hot, the fire’s roaring, it’s warm. Great music’s playing and the people are friendly & genuine. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Free all you can eat breakfast every morning, all year. Free wireless internet. Sky TV on the big screen. Free Bikes. Car Parking. Central location. Our sister hostel’s in Nelson, Tasman Bay Backpackers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing