We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for ferry or wine trips”
Review of Broadway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadway Motel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The Broadway is a spotlessly clean, well managed modern motel offering large, comfortable and well equipped rooms with a firm, comfy bed. Parking is easy and the large sliding patio-style door into the room meant it was easy to get the luggage in and out. There's a free internet terminal for guests in the reception area - which is a bonus. The motel is brilliantly located for the ferry port and Picton's somewhat limited selection of bars and restaurants. It's also a good base for Marlborough wine trips as the main operator Sound Connection, picks up in Picton...which, on balance, is a more interesting place to stay than Blenheim. Only one downside: the motel is on the junction of the two main roads to the ferry terminals and as a result there was a fair amount of passing traffic - including lorries - during the early morning. Might be worth checking with staff about the location of the room before confirming any booking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Popgunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Popgunner:- thank you for your positive comment about our family business. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our central location and that you thought the room was well appointed and spotlessly clean.
I am sorry to hear that passing traffic noise disturbed you in the morning as we have already installed double glazing and heavy drapes to minimise any noise disturbance, as recommended by Qualmark. I also noted that Evamelb (previous reviewer) used earplugs, so we will be making these available for all guests, to ensure that we have done all we possibly can to minimise any disturbance to our valued guests. If you would like to get in touch please do not hesitate to contact me at stay@broadwaymotel.co.nz
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Henry Kersten (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 441 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had three nights at the Broadway before and after our walk on the QCT. The rooms were spacious with a sitting area and a small well appointed kitchen. Beds were very comfy and the bathrooms had very large showers with lots of hot water. Furniture is modern and the place is well looked after. On our first night we were on the ground floor and the other nights we had the executive spa suite upstairs as it was the only room available. I preferred the downstairs 'standard' room which was identical except for the spa bath. You have to climb into the bath to take a shower which could be difficult for more elderly guests. The downstairs room also had a much larger balcony.
The motel is on the edge of town which isn't too much of am problem as Picton is so small and compact but we arrived by train and left by ferry so the walk up and down the hill to and from the train station and ferry terminals with luggage was a bit of a slog.
It's too far from the water to have any good views but the biggest gripe I had was the proximity to the train line and the railway crossing. With freight trains coming through all night It can get quite disturbing for light sleepers like myself. After one night I had to invest in a pair of earplugs. The rooms away from the train line may be quieter but they open out onto the car park so you have to keep curtains closed if you want privacy.
Having the supermarket across the road was very convenient for stocking up on basic supplies.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big_H_1, Owner at Broadway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Evamelb:- Thank you for your feedback and it’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay in our spacious Executive Units with comfy beds, large showers and central location. Just so other readers are not confused, there is couple of corrections that I do need to make. The downstairs unit you stayed in (No 14) is not a standard unit, it is an Executive Unit without the spa bath and does have the same layout as you mentioned. Also the Broadway Motel is in the centre of Picton and it is only 250m from cafes, 450m from the Train Station and 700m from the Ferry Terminal.
I am sorry that the train disturbed your sleep and in case you are not aware, we have already installed double glazing and heavy drapes to minimise any noise disturbance, as recommended by Qualmark. We do appreciate your comment regarding the ear plugs so in future we will be making these available to all our guests who may be light sleepers. If you would like to get in touch please do not hesitate to contact me at stay@broadwaymotel.co.nz
Thank you again for your feedback as without this we would not be able to continually improve the service we provide you our guest and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Henry Kersten (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

A quick stop on route to Nelson brought me to Picton. If you dont have a car you will have to cart your bag up the hill to the motel. Staff are friendly and helpful. The room was ok clean but did have a dirty microwave and the last tenants tshirt hanging off the tv!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stay here routinely when I am in Picton for work. I would rate the hosts as the best I have encountered, very helpful, welcoming and go out of their way to ensure your stay is the best it can be. I have just about stayed in every room and they are all off a high standard.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I took time out to have a quiet holiday break in Picton. We booked a luxury king unit which was very nice and spacious with a spa bath. I liked the fact that even though it was a motel, the rooms were serviced daily and the staff friendly and helpful. The location to shops, restaurants and cafes was ideal with everything within 5-10mins walk. It was just unfortunate that our room backed onto the railway line and we heard every train come and go to the ferry (including late and night and early morning) and were also woken in the early hours by the car rental place next door washing their cars! No amount of double glazing or ear plugs could block this out! So unless you can sleep through anything, I would recommend getting a room away from the west side. I can't fault the hotel facilities, cleanliness and comfortable bed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janine_k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
3.9 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.3 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
266 reviews
0.3 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
24.9 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
667 reviews
0.3 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Motel

Address: 113 High Street | Marlborough, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Green Hotel in Picton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#3 Family Hotel in Picton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#5 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range: ₹ 6,621 - ₹ 10,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Broadway Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality in the Heart of Picton. If you are expecting ... Central location, spacious / modern / clean units with air-conditioning, kitchen facilities, flat screen TVs, Sky TV, mains pressure showers, comfortable beds, free Wi-Fi, all within 700m of the Ferry Terminals and Train Station. Then the Broadway Motel is the place for you. With a Qualmark 4 Star Plus rating, for the last ten years, this puts us amongst Picton's Top rated motels & hotels. Being a family business it is very important to us that we provide excellent service and a clean, serviced room for you every time. So close to the supermarket, shops, restaurants and bars, all within 450m, - we are ideally situated in the heart of Picton. Quality accommodation, friendly service at an affordable price for your next stay in Picton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing