We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best backpackers I've ever stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantis Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best backpackers I've ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

From the wonderful, and quirky welcome to the amazing staff/guests this backpackers continued to amaze me, by checking in you've joined an international family with an outstanding mum, 'Shira', this backpackers has everything it needs and bonuses like free desert, just because desert is wonderful. TRAVELERS BE WARNED: if you check in you may not want to leave, and some don't for years...
This will be my preferred accommodation in Picton for the foreseeable future and I will recommend it to anyone who will listen.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipmunk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    22
    17
    10
    12
See reviews for
5
24
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

Sheira and Howard Hudson have created a cozy and most welcoming retreat in the heart of Picton on Queen Charlotte Sound. There are plenty of rooms, kitchen and bathroom facilities reasonably priced at the waterfront gem.

Room Tip: Check out the room with the poster bed. A must for the romantics among you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Our group stayed one night at this hostel before biking the Queen Charlotte walkway. They were very accommodating with finding a safe place for us to leave our bikes inside. We found the hosts very friendly and helpful (and bit eccentric, but in a nice way). The hostel has a somewhat quirky layout and decor, but the beds were good and we had a great sleep. The kitchen was well set up, and spotless. We were delighted with the free dessert that was provided by the host - yummy apple crumble on the night we stayed. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

This hostel is fab, I didnt want to leave. The main dorm is very big but is cost as each bed and bunk is sectioned off. It has a heated indoor pool and free breakfast, and very friendly helpful staff. One of the best nights sleep I had had in a long while.

Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

The photos on the website are deceiving, as is the advertisement for a swimming pool, etc. We reserved a double ensuite deluxe. Arrived and walked through a smelly maze of ramps, rooms, steps, in a building, then out a building to a very old, tired, smelly small building and told that it wasn't "exactly ensuite"--if someone wanted to take the adjoining room, then we would have to share the bathroom. If you're a hippy or very young and don't care where you sleep then this would work for you. It is dark and dingy. Very nice people who run it, but this is a real misrepresentation. We checked out within the hour (they did give us a full refund) and we promptly checked into the Beachcomber Motel that was only 15 US Dollars more for a lovely room with a view.

Helpful?
4 Thank ToddLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Picton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.3 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 km away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#13 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#12 of 27 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 km away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.6 km away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 27 in Picton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Backpackers

Property: Atlantis Backpackers
Address: London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Picton
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,178 - ₹ 3,862
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing