We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy camping in a unique location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camping Jungfrau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camping Jungfrau
Certificate of Excellence
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trendy camping in a unique location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Switzerland can be very expensive, but Camping Jungfrau didn't break the budget. Lauterbrunnen is an amazing location, with views of snowtopped peaks and waterfalls from the site. The campsite is one of the most international I have ever stayed at, and also one of the most diverse in terms of the people it attracts. We were a little concerned that the coach-loads of 18-30 tourists on the site might keep us awake at night, but this was not the case. The site is lively and trendy but not noisy and it seemed quite a harmonious place. We loved the 24-hour music in the toilet/shower blocks, the clean and well-planned nature of the site. We found staff helpful and were pleased to have free washing facilities, tv room and somewhere to freeze our freezer blocks.

Room Tip: This site was quite busy, booking might be best if you have a larger tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolagreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    82
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
135
105
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Everything about Camping Junfrau is perfect. The standard of chalets or camping facilities, the cleanliness, the location, but above everything else is the staff attitude. I'm sure it's not easy running a complete range of services to this standard but it has been achieved here. If I return I would not dream of staying anywhere else. It's my favourite place to stay in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robinsonmartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
193 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

From the moment I get off the train in Lauterbrunnen I feel my shoulders relax. The campsite, a short but easy walk away from the station is set in stunning scenery. The site is well kept, and the restaurant serves tasty meals at reasonable prices. The shop is adequate for basic provisions but take what you can from home as it's not cheap but neither is the coop in the village. Fresh bread every day is a bonus! From the site you can easily access the surrounding area, and trains are really frequent. The site is quiet with a noise curfew after ten which adds to the tranquility. The only sounds you hear are the cowbells, the waterfall and the birds. Perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at the bungalow for 4 nights in May 2012, and we all really liked it. The location of the camping place is unbeatable. You see 5-6 water falls directly from your camp ground.

The bungalow had 2 rooms: one master bed and the other is for kids. My kids loved the bunker bed they had.

All the cookwares are there, except for an oven. We did BBQ one night, and it was fantastic.

The front office closes at 7PM, so be there before 7PM. They also close from 1pm to 3pm.

One negative about the bungalow is that the room was too hot when the weather gets sunny. It looks like the roof is absorbing all the heat. You can not really open the window since there are a lot of bugs and mosquitos.

anyway, the stay exceeded our expectations, and I highly recommend this place for family. A lot better value than a hotel nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shoshosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
256 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We can't say enough good things about this place. The location is excellent with great views of Staubbach Falls and only a 5 minute walk into Lauterbrunnen where you can catch the train up to the Jungfrau Joch etc. We originally booked 2 nights for early April at the b&b but upon arrival were informed that the rooms were under maintenance so we were upgraded to a neat little self contained cabin with everything we needed, toilet, shower, double bed, cooking facilities etc.
The staff were friendly and helpful, food was superb, clean, free breakfast and free parking. If ever in this part of Switzerland again will definately return. Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Found_Lost_Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauterbrunnen
1.1 km away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#6 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Horner
Hotel Horner
#3 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Oberland
Hotel Oberland
#2 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
2.8 km away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Jungfrau? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Jungfrau

Property: Camping Jungfrau
Address: In der Weid 406, Lauterbrunnen 3822, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Lauterbrunnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Lauterbrunnen
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,890 - ₹ 7,779
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Jungfrau 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Service:Free Wifi Internet for all Camping Jungfrau guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Camping Jungfrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Jungfrau Hotel Lauterbrunnen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing