We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal.....”

Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 29
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Typical Swiss Restaurant Famous for the traditional Swiss Cheese Fondue and the Roesti. Steaks, Pasta, Pizza, Salads, Sweets and Coffee.
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Hubby and I went for a meal here with our little one who was asleep in the pram. We didn’t book but luckily got a table as it was busy. We both had tomato soup to start which was delicious, super tasty and plentiful. For main course I had the Mexican chicken pizza and hubby had 4cheese pizza. Both were very good and loads of chicken on mine! Bags of flavour. For pudding we shared apple strudel which was very enjoyable and a lovely end to the meal. The restaurant is typical Swiss decor, very warm and welcoming. Staff were attentive and polite. I recommend and would go back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 186394Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans F, Inhaber at Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you very much for your great comment. This is much appreciated by the Weidstübli Team. We are pleased that you did like our meals and services. Hope to welcome you soon again. Kind regards from Lauterbrunnen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2018

This restaurant is good value for money with nice food and comfortable seating. Meal sizes are huge. Suit a 25 year old athletic giant. Food was tasty. Wine available at a reasonable price. Gluten free options available. Chef was kind enough to prepare mushrooms separately from the flour based sauce.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans F, Inhaber at Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

The Weidstübli Team thanks you for having visited us. Great that you did like our meals and services. Would be a pleasure to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Food tasted good and portions were large. Also the prices for Switzerland are pretty cheap. We ate a Swiss cheese fondue and it was fantastic. We ordered a fondu for two people split between four of us and it was plenty big. It had bread onions garlic pickles all to dip. Granted for 40 franc it should be large. We also had the potato Rosti which is a potato dish with Swiss cheese, onions,bacon and mushrooms on it. That was 16 franc. Another huge and filling pasta dish was Alpermacceroni. It was basically a carbonara pasta dish with applesauce. It was 15 franc and it was huge!! Draft beers are 4.5 franc. Not too bad considering other resteraunt prices could be double these. Ultimately your in Switzerland so your going to have to pay higher prices for some reason. This place is good I would recommend it to anyone.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Trbleshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans F, Inhaber at Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Thanks for having visited our Weidstübli. It was a great pleasure to welcome you. Your comment shows that you did enjoy our meals and our services. It is a fact that nothing is cheap in Switzerland. But be always try to offer good quality to a reasonable price.
Hope to welcome you soon again. Your Weidstübli Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

We ate here 2 nights in a row as we camped here. It was very busy but the staff were excellent. The portions were large and the food was excellent especially the pasta dishes. The kids were happy and the prices were not too bad either.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 110StuartN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

This was a disappointing meal. I realise it is a place that gets very busy but if this is the case more staff should be available. We had booked a table and headed over to the girl to say this, we were greeted by a very stern looking girl asking us what we wanted like it was a very big inconvenience. We were shown/marched to a table. My friend was a little confused about the beer selection and had a few questions which again seemed like a lot of trouble.

We eventually ordered a cheese burger and a spaghetti bolognaise it took 50 minutes to come. It's busy, ok we understand but a simple 'sorry it's taking a while we havent forgotten you ' would have done the trick but we were ignored.

The food was ok nothing special and definitely not enough to ignore the appalling service.

Also I don't see the appeal of sitting outside the view is hidden by the awning.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sparkle556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans F, Inhaber at Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Guest. Thank you for having visited our Weidstübli. The Weidstübli Team is very disappointed about your comment. But we are taking all comments very serious and will improve our services where necessary. You visited us on a very bus night. If you felt that you have not been treated correctly, we appologize sincerely and we will certainly investigate. On a very busy night, our service can get a little bit slower. In your case a better communication from our side would have been helpful and necessary. Not all our staffmembers are perfect "Englishspeakers". This could have been a further problem. Even then, we expect our staffmembers to work professionally. They are trained and expected to be friendly and attentive at all times. We are glad, that many other comments on Tripadvisor do show a better picture of us. Kind regards from the Weidstübli Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Swiss Restaurant Weidstuebli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing