We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect villa set in a beautiful peaceful and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa do Alpendre

Relaxing Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relaxing Pool
Casa do Alpendre Lounging area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Relaxing Pool
Casa do Alpendre
Lounging area
Dining area
Dinner alfresco
Lounging Area
Kitchen & Living Room
Kitchen & Living Room
Kitchen Appliances
Comfy Sofa
Double Room
Bathroom
Bathtub
Bathtub
En-Suite WC + shower cabin
En-Suite WC + shower cabin
Sunny Vineyard
Aloe Vera
Casa do Alpendre
Warm Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
nealehews...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect villa set in a beautiful peaceful and relaxing location”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the end of may for 10 days for our 30th wedding anniversary.The villa is simply perfect, it is the cleanest and most well equipped holiday home we have stayed in.
Fernando and Lucretia were lovely and could not do enough to help and were happy for us to help ourselves to the home grown eggs,fruit etc.
A car is essential however because of its location which is rural, this was not a problem to us as we always hire a car to visit the wonderful beaches etc.The local town of Tavira is beautiful & traditional with plenty of excellent restaurants. The beaches of Cabanas and Fuzeta were our particular favourite's requiring a lovely short boat ride to both. If you are looking for a relaxing tranquil holiday in beautiful surroundings close to beaches, towns and restaurant's then this villa is perfect. Finally I would like to thank Nelson & Magda along with Fernando & Lucretia for making our anniversary holiday so special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equipped, clean and very peaceful
Liked least: heat on an evening
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HindiIndi
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We had an amazing stay!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Everything I write has been written before. From our communication with Nelson and Magda to the welcome at the airport by Fernando and Lucretia. We had absolutely nothing to worry about.

The weather was sunshine all around. The villa was what we needed away from the rat race. In a lovely quiet location with all mod cons needed. The swimming pool kept the children occupied (two and five year old) as did picking fresh oranges and looking for eggs. (Children were accompanied at all times and knew not to go near the pool without and adult).

We went for walks, drove down to the beautiful beaches and visited the lovely little towns. (good thing we had our sat nav as it saved us time in navigating).

We only stayed one week and it was not enough. Will we return? No doubt about it and we will recommend it to family and friends.

Lucretia, Fernando, Magda and Nelson. Thank you again for letting us stay at your villa. Lots of hugs and xxx! Hawa

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrie A
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Magda and Nelson have a wonderful villa getaway surrounded by stunning scenery. The property is in excellent condition and spotlessly clean. Many thanks to Nelson, although unable to meet us at the villa was just at the end of the phone for advice etc.
Lucretia and Fernando were extremely accommodating..........meeting us at the airport and guiding us to the villa. They made us very much at home and showed us all around the villa and it's excellent facilities. We were introduced to the hens in the garden that produced eggs daily for breakfast. We were welcome to help ourselves to fruit from the orchard.........the oranges we crushed, for an amazing, refreshing drink. Walking in the surrounding hills each morning set us up for the day. We have had a lovely relaxing holiday and wish to return as soon as we can. Thank you Magda, Nelson, Lucretia and Fernando for your excellent hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning secluded surrounding hills
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maureen r
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hidden treasure of the algarve!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from 11 days (not enough) at Casa de Alpendre and cannot praise it highly enough! A real treasure and little bit of heaven in the Algarve!!
We were greeted at the airport by Magda's parents, Fernando and Lucretia (not forgetting Cochas!) who in the words of a previous guest 'were like angels sent to make your holiday perfect'! On arrival at the villa, which was the best equipped and cleanest villa we have EVER stayed in, they could not have been more helpful and generous; showing us where we could pick oranges, grapes, figs, lemons and even collect our own fresh eggs from our very own hens during our stay. They gave us a welcome basket containing honey (made by the lovely family at the end of the lane), coffee, and olive oil and Lucretia made sure that she left us well supplied with grapes, onions and garlic before she left! As another reviewer mentioned the little museum in the cellar was charming and it was very interesting to hear about Lucretias's family and how they lived years ago and to see some of the tools they had used in their various occupations.
Nelson gave us lots of useful tips about places to visit and was always at the end of the phone if we needed any help. We also spoke to Magda who was also was very friendly and keen that we enjoyed ourselves and were happy with everything during our stay.
The times spent eating on the patio with a glass of wine enjoying that amazing view and then later in the evening looking at those fabulous starry skies, were some of the best and most relaxing times ever on holiday!
We visited Tarin and her 'Glass art gallery' (just at the end of the lane and round the corner!) and that was fascinating , as she explained how she made her wonderful pieces of art and showed us her studio.
This was our first visit to the Algarve and it is a very beautiful place. We were impressed with the spectacular views at the most western point of Cabo de Sao Vincente, the higher views from Montchique, and the amazing beaches and little towns and villages we visited all along the coastline. All the people we met were friendly and helpful, but coming back to the Casa and that lovely view at the end of a day was a definite bonus!
Thank you so much Nelson, Magda, Fernando and Lucretia for a fabulous time - we are making our list of things still to see - ready for our next visit!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view, the peace and tranquility of the villa and the amazing generousity of the owners!
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorBos...
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superbly equipped villa”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have just enjoyed a fantastic two weeks at this lovely little villa.
We were met at Faro airport by Magda and her father Alfonso who waited while we picked up our hire car then escorted us to the villa which was greatly appreciated as we would have really struggled to find this place without them.
The villa is actually in the hamlet of Corte Vidreiro which is a remote farming community tucked away in a valley several miles from Santa Catarina,there is a river running close to the villa however it was almost dry whilst we were there. The views from the property are amazing,in one direction you can look out over the valley and in other directions the view is of the steep rocky hillside which has plenty of pathways to explore .
On arrival we were shown around the villa and grounds and given a welcoming gift pack including olive oil and honey,we were encouraged to help ourselves to the seasonal produce growing in the garden which included oranges,lemons,peaches,tomatoes,onions,garlic and green peppers,there are a couple of hens for fresh eggs but unfortunately they werent laying during our stay.
The villa is superbly equipped with everything you could wish for and plenty more besides, the electric juicer was a nice touch enabling us to make full use of the oranges.
The villa was the home of Magdas grandparents who were the village shoemakers and there is a small museum in the downstairs basement area which gives a fascinating glimpse into past Portuguese life.
A car is an absolute essential due to the remoteness but the whole of the Algarve is easily accessible once you reach the main road which is only a five minute drive away.
Tavira is the nearest town of any size which is well worth a visit,there you will find a modern shopping mall with a big, well stocked supermarket.
Although we had a fantastic holiday here I dont think this would be a fair review if I didnt mention the negatives,their are two bathrooms which are extremely small and cramped and would have been better if instead of two bathrooms there was just the one of a decent size.there is no air conditioning and it did get rather hot during our stay but the fans helped.
To sum up this villa is fantastic if you want a get away from it all relaxing holiday with superb views of open countryside and wildlife, we even had an owl visit us most days and Magda, Alfonso and Lucretia came round every few days to clean the pool etc. and nothing was too much trouble for them

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing