We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“hidden treasure of the algarve!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa do Alpendre

Relaxing Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relaxing Pool
Casa do Alpendre Lounging area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Relaxing Pool
Casa do Alpendre
Lounging area
Dining area
Dinner alfresco
Lounging Area
Kitchen & Living Room
Kitchen & Living Room
Kitchen Appliances
Comfy Sofa
Double Room
Bathroom
Bathtub
Bathtub
En-Suite WC + shower cabin
En-Suite WC + shower cabin
Casa do Alpendre
Warm Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
maureen r
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hidden treasure of the algarve!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from 11 days (not enough) at Casa de Alpendre and cannot praise it highly enough! A real treasure and little bit of heaven in the Algarve!!
We were greeted at the airport by Magda's parents, Fernando and Lucretia (not forgetting Cochas!) who in the words of a previous guest 'were like angels sent to make your holiday perfect'! On arrival at the villa, which was the best equipped and cleanest villa we have EVER stayed in, they could not have been more helpful and generous; showing us where we could pick oranges, grapes, figs, lemons and even collect our own fresh eggs from our very own hens during our stay. They gave us a welcome basket containing honey (made by the lovely family at the end of the lane), coffee, and olive oil and Lucretia made sure that she left us well supplied with grapes, onions and garlic before she left! As another reviewer mentioned the little museum in the cellar was charming and it was very interesting to hear about Lucretias's family and how they lived years ago and to see some of the tools they had used in their various occupations.
Nelson gave us lots of useful tips about places to visit and was always at the end of the phone if we needed any help. We also spoke to Magda who was also was very friendly and keen that we enjoyed ourselves and were happy with everything during our stay.
The times spent eating on the patio with a glass of wine enjoying that amazing view and then later in the evening looking at those fabulous starry skies, were some of the best and most relaxing times ever on holiday!
We visited Tarin and her 'Glass art gallery' (just at the end of the lane and round the corner!) and that was fascinating , as she explained how she made her wonderful pieces of art and showed us her studio.
This was our first visit to the Algarve and it is a very beautiful place. We were impressed with the spectacular views at the most western point of Cabo de Sao Vincente, the higher views from Montchique, and the amazing beaches and little towns and villages we visited all along the coastline. All the people we met were friendly and helpful, but coming back to the Casa and that lovely view at the end of a day was a definite bonus!
Thank you so much Nelson, Magda, Fernando and Lucretia for a fabulous time - we are making our list of things still to see - ready for our next visit!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view, the peace and tranquility of the villa and the amazing generousity of the owners!
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrevorBos...
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Superbly equipped villa”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have just enjoyed a fantastic two weeks at this lovely little villa.
We were met at Faro airport by Magda and her father Alfonso who waited while we picked up our hire car then escorted us to the villa which was greatly appreciated as we would have really struggled to find this place without them.
The villa is actually in the hamlet of Corte Vidreiro which is a remote farming community tucked away in a valley several miles from Santa Catarina,there is a river running close to the villa however it was almost dry whilst we were there. The views from the property are amazing,in one direction you can look out over the valley and in other directions the view is of the steep rocky hillside which has plenty of pathways to explore .
On arrival we were shown around the villa and grounds and given a welcoming gift pack including olive oil and honey,we were encouraged to help ourselves to the seasonal produce growing in the garden which included oranges,lemons,peaches,tomatoes,onions,garlic and green peppers,there are a couple of hens for fresh eggs but unfortunately they werent laying during our stay.
The villa is superbly equipped with everything you could wish for and plenty more besides, the electric juicer was a nice touch enabling us to make full use of the oranges.
The villa was the home of Magdas grandparents who were the village shoemakers and there is a small museum in the downstairs basement area which gives a fascinating glimpse into past Portuguese life.
A car is an absolute essential due to the remoteness but the whole of the Algarve is easily accessible once you reach the main road which is only a five minute drive away.
Tavira is the nearest town of any size which is well worth a visit,there you will find a modern shopping mall with a big, well stocked supermarket.
Although we had a fantastic holiday here I dont think this would be a fair review if I didnt mention the negatives,their are two bathrooms which are extremely small and cramped and would have been better if instead of two bathrooms there was just the one of a decent size.there is no air conditioning and it did get rather hot during our stay but the fans helped.
To sum up this villa is fantastic if you want a get away from it all relaxing holiday with superb views of open countryside and wildlife, we even had an owl visit us most days and Magda, Alfonso and Lucretia came round every few days to clean the pool etc. and nothing was too much trouble for them

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darren l
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“warm loving people”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we had one of the best holidays we have had for some time the owners of this casa can not help you enough they are so warm and caring and the casa as all the utensils you need i will be going back again next year we all loved this place and the cleanliness was five star *****and the people of st catarina where all very kind and helpful margaret and my self would like to say thank you so much for all your help fernando and your lovely wife and daughter
darren and margaret

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owners of the casa and all the people of village of st catarina
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo J
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hills, starry night sky, fantastic beaches”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We would agree with everything written by previous reviewers. The position of the villa is very rural but shares the valley with other houses so you don't feel completely isolated, some Portuguese, some English. Great to watch locals going about their business tending their fields etc. Tavira, the nearest large town, is a beautiful old town to spend time in, busy but not yet spoilt by tourism. If you can tear yourself away from the wonderful beaches would recommend going to Spain, dead easy down the new motorway. Less than 2 hours to Seville.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome, stars at night, everything possible provided, fruit and veg to pick and eat...yum!
Liked least: Dogs barking at night....bring your earplugs!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionasstu...
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely house :)”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Arrival to the villa was made easy as we were greeted at the airport and escorted to the villa. Approx 30 mins drive from Faro airport.

Gift basket was left for us with homemade olive oil and honey and some provisions to get us through (we arrived late at night).

There are lots of tomatoes and various other fruit and vegetables being grown at the villa, having these at hand was a real plus. The kids loved setting off with baskets to pick their own fruit! The kitchen in the house was very well equipped with juicers, blender etc - perfect for making use of the fruit!

Things to bear in mind - this house is fantastic but there is no air conditioning. Fans were in place which were great and very much needed at night. In high temperatures fans may not be enough for some people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing