We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently high standards maintained”
Review of Calcada Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calcada Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 28 Tavira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 May 2017

This was our second time to stay in this wonderful guesthouse. So impressed were we with everything about it that we couldn't wait to visit again. We've just come back from an eight night stay and cannot recommend it highly enough. Every comfort is provided, Andy and the staff are so welcoming and friendly and go out of their way to make sure guests feel at home. Everyone seems to leave with the same thought-a desire to come back.

Room Tip: All good rooms, comfortable beds , large shower area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Calcada guesthouse is a little treasure and I can't recommend it highly enough. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and stylishly decorated with some lovely little touches like a bottle of fresh filtered water in your room each day. The guesthouse is situated in the old town of Tavira, quite close to the Roman Bridge and is within easy walking distance of everywhere in the town. There is a spacious indoor lounge for the use of residents with coffee and tea available to make all day. Upstairs is a pretty terrace where breakfast is served (unless the weather is poor.) Guests can choose whether or not to have breakfast as it is not automatically included in the room rate, but I would certainly recommend that you do because they are delicious. Andy and Tamsin are great hosts and their staff are so helpful and friendly. I have no hesitation in saying that the Calcada guesthouse is fab.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Calmcglaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Tiny little back street entrance that opens up into a wonderful spacious home from home. Tea and coffee on tap, comfortable beds lovely rooms and a really lovely breakfast. Chatty helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Boopadoop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We liked Calcada Guesthouse a lot. We had room 3, one of the two rooms on the bottom floor that do not actually have a window with a view. Instead, they have a small patio with table and chairs and sliding doors including screens. At first this seemed a little strange, but we got used to it and indeed found that the patio was a good place to do a little work, considering the excellent wifi here. And private and quiet. The furnishings, bed, and bathroom were excellent, as was the cleaning. And we appreciated the filtered water supplied. Plenty of electric outlets for charging. The breakfast is not included, and served only at 9:00, but it is so good that we had it every day we were there. It is served on the roof-top terrace when the weather permits, and it included fresh OJ, press coffee, fresh yogurt, muesli, a bowl of great fresh fruit, cheese, ham, several type of bread, and jam. Very nice.

The location of the guesthouse is terrific, on a quiet street but near everything. Andy, Daniel, and Andrea took good care of us and answered all our questions and had good restaurant suggestions. I'd stay there again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Charming, little spot in old Tavira. Andy, the British guy who runs it, is incredibly helpful. He even found us and guided us to the place. Clean, attractive rooms and breakfast on the roof. Would love to go back!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnandmaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.4 km away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
0.2 km away
Pousada Convento Tavira
2.3 km away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,102 reviews
2.9 km away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
391 reviews
0.4 km away
Tavira House
Tavira House
#3 of 28 in Tavira
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcada Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcada Guesthouse

Address: Calcada Dona Ana 12, Tavira 8800-308, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range: ₹ 5,351 - ₹ 8,639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calcada guesthouse is a beautiful and unique accommodation located amongst the oldest streets in the town centre of Tavira. It is hidden away in a small residential square behind the main praca within the heart of the historical centre of Tavira, one of the most architecturally attractive towns in the Algarve. The guesthouse comprises of 6 individually decorated bedrooms (five king size doubles and one twin) all air conditioning for Summer months and heating for the Winter. Each bedroom has it's own balcony or patio doors and private en-suite wet rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing