We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”
Review of Tiger Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tiger Hostel
Ranked #16 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Riga
MAnchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed here in October 2011. The hostel is around 10 minute walk from the main bus station and Old Town. The hostel is very easy to find as its on one of the main roads with a bar below underground.

The reception and hotel is very clean and basic. The staff were very helpfull.

We had a triple room which was very nice and very clean. The beds were slightly uncomfortable but what do you expect for £8 each per night. The shared bathroom was clean and was also very nice. The computer in the room had free internet but was very very slow and took ages to load.

Overall I would say 4 out of 5 and we would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    30
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
9
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I was staying at the Tiger hostel for 3 weeks. For that period it became as home for me. :) Thank you very much to everyone who works there! The conditions are really good for so perfect price. I had everything clean and fresh.Hostel's staff is very friendly and nice!
Hope to go there again in one day!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

All the design corresponds to the name - even the bed linen and cushions. Really cute. Located close to the railway station which is convenient if you travel by train and stay only for a few nights.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hel0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed in this hostel for 1 night during August 2011 with a few friends, so my experience is limited. We rented a 4 person private room. It was very affordable.

I consider this an average hostel. The staff (we only met 1 person during our stay) seemed reserved but nice. Not very open to having conversation but she still answered any questions/requests.

The room was clean and had ample space for 4 people and luggage. There was a safe in the room. The only downside was that the street outside was somewhat loud (we were on the second floor) when the window was open. Tiger motif was a bit overwhelming - think tiger print linens and decor. Showers were solid and had ample hot water. We didn't meet any other travelers while there, since it was a quick stay and we were out at all hours of day and night, so I can't comment on the mix of visitors you will encounter.

Overall this was a safe, clean, affordable hostel. The best part of it is the location. Very easy to get around town from this point. While it's not in the center of the old town, its within easy walking distance and it's a solid value for any budget-minded traveler. If you are looking for a hostel with a party vibe and nightlife, I would look elsewhere as this one was somewhat quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed in this hostel in October 2010. There were a lot free beds and rooms, so we were upgraded from 8-beds dorm to 4beds room. Showers and toilets are outside of all rooms; but they are clean and comfortable, no problems with hot water. The hostel is situated very close to the tran station, big shopping mall and 10 minutes walking to Old city. In lobby area you can find different tourist information, booklets, broshures and books. There're computers (actually, too old) with free internet access in each room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IceBossMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 km away
Riga Hostel
Riga Hostel
#8 of 137 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.5 km away
Teddy Bear Hostel Riga
Teddy Bear Hostel Riga
#28 of 137 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 km away
Seagulls Garret Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mr. Hostel
Mr. Hostel
#14 of 137 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.5 km away
Tree House
Tree House
#7 of 137 in Riga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 km away
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiger Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiger Hostel

Property: Tiger Hostel
Address: Raina bulvaris 31, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,163 - ₹ 2,779
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Tiger Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tiger Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing