We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cold and damp” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roofs Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Roofs Hotel
Ranked #102 of 108 Hotels in Riga
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cold and damp”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for two nights at end of March 2012. Location was great, staff was friendly although these are all the good things I can mention about this hotel. We have got big suite with separate bedroom and once we entered the room it was so cold – you never wanted to take your coats of. It was about minus 1 C outside during night and up to +10 during the day, but both batteries in the room remained dead cold. I have asked for a heater at reception, but the one I got was very small and didn’t do much at all. The suite still was cold and damp. The hot water was not hot at all. It was just bearable to take the shower. I am wondering if they didn’t have problems with Legionella before. The towel dryer in the bathroom remained cold all the time; no one changed our towels, so we had to use the same damp ones every day. The drain in the shower was blocked, and I only realized that once the water from shower reached the door of the bathroom.
Breakfast was average – two choices of cereal, some meat, cheese, milk, yogurt, tea and coffee.
I would definitely recommend skipping this hotel, there are plenty of better hotels in the old town at the same price range.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
1
13
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sale
Level Contributor
192 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Red Roofs and it was OK. I would have to say that it was nothing particularily special but nothing to complain about, either. Located right in the Old Town, opposite St Johns Church, it is the ideal location for exploring the city. The 2 girls I dealt with were pleasant and spoke good English and the reception was manned 24hrs a day. My room was small - about 2 metres by 2 metres, with just a bed, wardrobe, small table and small sofa but it was warm and clean. The breakfast wasn't great, 2 choices of cereal, 2 cold meats, some cheese and yoghurt, with coffee from the machine in reception and some bread. As a cheap option - 16 Lats per night - it was fine and if I visit Riga again, then I would bear this place in mind.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaleDamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We had a wonderful time in Red Roofs Hotel - stayed for our honeymoon. The staff was amazing nothing was to much trouble! Clean and comfortable rooms. Warmly recommend. Also we wish to recommend family restaurant Alibi near the hotel. It’s very tasty grilled dishes in Latvian traditional style and romantic atmosphere. We tried grilled venison with peas puree and red wine sauce. It was fantastic taste.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

I stayed here in a single room with shared bathroom for just one night.

The bathroom was a really bathroom, not a dorm bath. Very clean. Felt like I was staying in a room in someone's country manor instead of a hostel, though I was paying hostel prices.

Incredibly cute room. Possibly the cutest room I've ever stayed in. Modern medieval? I think that the bed may have been shorter than a normal-length bed (just like they are when you pay money to see those really old mansions and palaces and you wonder whether people were just way shorter a long time ago). Luckily, I'm only 5'1" so a shorter bed didn't bother me at all.

Location was excellent. Right in old town, but not next to a thumping night club.

My only quibble was that internet wasn't very strong in the rooms upstairs; only in the lobby downstairs. The receptionist told me that their internet guru was on holiday for 3 weeks, so maybe that's not a typical problem.

All in all, a very satisfying short stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlgenxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I stayed at Red Roofs Hotel in Riga with my wife during our trip to Baltic countries. We booked one double room through booking.com, but when we arrived to Riga all the doubles were occupied. We were given an apartment instead. I want to stress that this decision was automatic and not forced by us. We appreciated our apartment. You have to take into account that this is rather a budget place and even apartment, although very nice, was kind of budget (but spacious).
The location is fantastic - you are literally in the middle of action, but on a very quiet street. If you don't want to overpay and still want to stay in Riga's Old Town, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacek73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#42 of 108 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Square Hotel & Suites
3.7 km away
Vilmaja
Vilmaja
#78 of 108 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#10 of 108 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.2 km away
Forums Hotel
Forums Hotel
#47 of 108 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 km away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#32 of 108 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roofs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roofs Hotel

Property: Red Roofs Hotel
Address: Jana iela 6, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 108 Hotels in Riga
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,089 - ₹ 5,810
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Roofs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Hotel in a quiet and green street in rightmost center of Riga's Old Town. Friendly, international staff (we speak Latvian, Russian, Swedish, Norwegian, German fluent) clean, recently renovated rooms and suites (Family rooms> 35 sq.) awaiting you. In our house you find a bier- and wine bar, one of Riga’s best restaurants and a small Club in the basement. Don’t hesitate to contact us prior arrival in any matter. If you need help planning your cultural activities in beautiful Latvia we can organize trip’s to the country side, guided tours to the Old town and Museums, Opera and concert tickets, a SPA package, hockey or football visit’s or a Pub tour. Of course we have free internet and our bar shows all major sport events such as Premiere- or Bundesleague. In the basement we have a smoking club and we sell cigars for those who fancy it. Business customers can use our conference room (if free) and can get access to high speed internet. Next to our hotel you find Galleria Center, one of the most exclusive Shopping Centers in the Baltic’s and the only one in the Old Town. In any case we will try to make your stay the best … so you recommend us further or better … you always come back. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing