We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Temple of the Holy Prince Alexander Nevskiy
Save
Review Highlights
Nice temple

For me, not a must to see. I just walked past it, and It’s a very nice temple. I don’t know... read more

Reviewed 15 July 2018
fluffycatpower
,
Norway
via mobile
Bright colourful church

Bright structure located just north of the freedom monument makes a nice photo however no photos... read more

Reviewed 30 June 2018
nilintentum_reliquit
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Read all 67 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Riga
from US$ 5.80
More Info
from US$ 23.20
More Info
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
26
30
11
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
30
11
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews freedom monument old town orthodox icons building
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Like many other Russian Orthodox churches in the city, it is quite colourful. It is pretty both inside and outside, and worth a quick visit.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

This is a landmark in Riga that definitely stands out, mostly because of the color. The building is not that big, but very nice.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Looks beautiful when lit up at night and definately worth a look inside. It is small but wonderfully ornate.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank wishyouwereheretoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

We christened our baby there , it's very beautiful inside , well worth going there just to admire the art work

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Polina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Not being orthodox nor christian at all myself I found this small chruch really exciting! At night is was truly beautifully lit outside compelling to see more. We visited the next day with our 8-9 y. old kids and boy it was pretty. Lots of candles, huge numbers of paintings with silver and gold, icons, atmosphere.. Doesn't cost anything to visit, but you can leave a coin or two to support. There's also a a litlle kiosk where you can buy honeycomb candles or tiny icons for a couple of coins.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Tuomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews