We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy and ridiculous breakfast” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Hostel
Ranked #4 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Noisy and ridiculous breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Our room was near the common area and was very noisy. The bell sound is high and can ring every time during the night (read 3 and 6 o'clock). The girl at the reception desk talked at a loud voice well after 11 p.m. that is the time they ask to the guests not to make noise. The room was not very clean. The breakfast is ridiculous. You have to make your tea or coffee and cook and wash your dishes in a tiny kitchen with just one kettle and there are some food like vegetables, bread and jam on a small table in the same little room, where only 4 people can stay without pushing each other. I have stayed in a lot of hostels in different countries and for breakfast there was always a prepared buffet. I could have accepted something like that for a much lower price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    89
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
65
65
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

we stayed for a weekend at the central hostel riga,the place was really clean and breakfast was good the staff there was so helpful...we where really shocked by the price we where charged it was not that we where overcharged it cost us £18 for 3 nights and that was with onsuit we got more value than we paid for.....will stay there again

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank levelhead2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rybnik, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

The hostel is well situated close to the main railway station. The old town is a 15 minute walk away. We had visited Riga in winter and we were happy that the room was warm, despite freezing temperatures outside. The room was small but very cozy and pleasant. The spacious common room was a good place to have a break. The included in price breakfast was rather simple. Internet access was good quality and available in the common room and also our apartment.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgataWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

When I was looking for a hostel to stay for a one night in Riga, I just decided to choose the cheapest one. So, via booking.com it was Central Hostel for that time.

I wasn`t dissappointed when I checked in: there`s a plate that they are in a hostels top10 over all Europe for a two years sequently and I can prove it.

For only 4 lats (5.55€) you can get a bed in a room for 5, free wi-fi and, what is very rare in a hostels, free breakfast. It`s not big: just bread, butter, milk, jams, crisps, tea or coffee, but it is quite enough for a breakfast. Anyway, in some hotels where the breakfast is included, you can get even less... Also, you can make tea or coffee for yourself for free all day and all night long.

For internet you can use your own laptop or the computer inside the room for common use near the reception.

As for sleeping, shower facilities etc — everything was quite nice. I put «3» mark for sleeping quality just because somebody snored very loud in my room so I used to switch on my walkman and listen music to can fall asleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boris_texnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed 4 nights in Central Hostel and it has been the best hostel I've ever been. Very nice and friendly staff, the rooms were are clean.
The basic breakfast was great, if you want to eat something else just put it in the kitchen fridge. The rooms were just relaxing. Very simple but great design of the rooms, some with these chairs you hang on the ceiling.
If I go to Riga another time, than it will definetly be in the Central Hostel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Citypille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.4 km away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#1 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
4.5 km away
BEST Hotel Riga
BEST Hotel Riga
#57 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#7 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.0 km away
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
0.6 km away
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hostel

Property: Central Hostel
Address: Ernesta Birznieka-Upisha iela 20, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price range (per night): ₹ 717 - ₹ 1,563
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing