We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, comfortable rooms, great service”
Review of Ekes Konvents

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ekes Konvents
Ranked #2 of 62 Riga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent location, comfortable rooms, great service”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel was not ever really a convent in the sense usually used--in the 17th century, a merchant endowed a hostel for widows of the guild members. There are nine rooms in the main facility, opposite St. Peter's Church right in the center of the Old Town. The rooms are comfortable and simply but comfortably decorated with full bathrooms and reasonable closet and bathroom space.

You won't be more than a ten minute walk from any other part of Old Town and a few minutes from the park that follows the canal as it winds through town. What's called the "Quiet Centre", and which is where the City's Art Nouveau architecture and design is concentrated, is a 15 or 20 minute walk through the Esplanade. The train and bus station is a ten minute walk away.

My only real suggestion is to ask for a back room, not because there's a lot of street noise, but because, at least when I was there in early June a not-very-good accordionist set himself up every evening in the square near the hotel. I've done Vilnius, Riga and now Tallinn on the way to St. Petersburg and I've got to say that Riga, beautiful and friendly, is a noisier place than the rest of the Baltics but the hotel, flutists and accordionists aside, is a refuge.

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The included breakfast is served at a nearby hotel is full and good (I see that another reviewer has criticized the breakfast but I found it fine--I'll venture that the Baltics are not a great place for vegetarians, in general).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmiclir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    36
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
52
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of the historic centre of Riga, but in a quiet street (if you disregard the man playing the flute for hours at night, right in front of the hotel). Buffet breakfast is served in a restaurant nearby and was good with enough to choose from. The rooms in the hotel are very small, but nicely decorated and clean, with a lovely bathroom. The only negative points I can think of is the fact that you have to climb lots of stairs with your suitcase, as there is no lift (not surprising of course for an old building, but still) and the staff that gave mixed signals about paying with credit card. Upon arrival, the girl checking us in insisted on cash payment, but the next day, another girl did not have a problem with credit card payment, so we settled our bill with her. The hotel has free wi fi, which did not work very well inside the rooms, but a lot better in the hallways and at reception. A nice hotel to stay at for a few days.

Room Tip: Because of the stairs you have to climb, I would recommend getting a room not too high up in the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nernier, France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Our stay at Ekes Konvents hotel was a great experience. The hotel is well located in the very historic city center. It is the oldest hotel in Riga and the history is everywhere when you enter. Rooms are not big but spacious enough. We asked for a quiet room and we had a room with a street view on Saint John church which was very quiet as we expected.
Prices were very reasonable compared to other hotel nearby. We would warmly recommend this place for anybody who wants to visit Riga and stay in the old town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photograph74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed there one night only and enjoyed the hotel. It is a cute little place located in the heart of old Riga.
The room is quite simple and not too large but it is clean and comfortable. The staff however do not know much about Riga and its tourist attractions which was rather disappointing.
The hotel is located in a very busy part of town but there was hardly any noise at night which was very surprising as it is a very popular tourist destination and I was there over the weekend when the weather was excellent.
The breakfast was served in a near by restaurant and it was rather disappointing - there was really little to choose from for vegetarians and if one wants a decent coffee rather than the one sitting on a table for some time, it can be requested but at extra charge.
All in all, I would come back if I am back to Riga.

Room Tip: I thought it was a quiet room but can imagine it is much noisier in the summer time so request a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsuzsanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2012

A charming, historic building that also offers modern comfort and easy access to all the sights. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Riga who enjoys an individual experience not a bland hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandaholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.1 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#10 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.3 km away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.2 km away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.0 km away
Konventa Seta Hotel
Konventa Seta Hotel
#32 of 109 in Riga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 km away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekes Konvents? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekes Konvents

Property: Ekes Konvents
Address: Skarnu iela 22, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,232 - ₹ 5,365
Hotel Class:3 star — Ekes Konvents 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ekes Konvents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing