We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not made to safe and comfortable!”
Review of Hotel X-dream

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel X-dream
Ranked #22 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've just got back from XDream and I'm glad to be away from the hotel. The staff on the reception was often rude (especially small blonde lady with straight hair) and snarled at you when you passed the desk.

The BBQ we paid for consisted of two small cheap burgers. Something out of the budget range. Our group paid to go on a off-road quad biking session. It cost us £40 each ( said BBQ included). Our group was taken to a disused derelict warehouse. At the back of it was a patch of wasteland they had used tyres around it for our so called off road experience. We were also shown pictures of 250cc quad bikes at the hotel and promised that's what we were using but when we got to the place, small 90cc bikes were the only option. One of the supplied helmets were damaged and we were advised to use the quad without it!!!

The dancers in the bar area were very pushy and wouldn't leave us alone. The food in the bar area was expensive as was the food in the rooms. The fridge in our room had no plug on it. The bedding was of a poor standard.

The area surronding the place was run down and required a 30 min walk to find decent places to eat and drink.

The guide took us on the first night to an overly expensive restaurant (I'm sure she got a kickback) the service was really poor and we had to wait for over an hour before we got our main course. we were there for 2 and a half hours and not because we were having a fab time but rather due to the waiting around and poor service!!

I would not recommend this venue for any stag do!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

Me and 13 other guys just back from a stag weekend in the xdream hotel in Riga.

This hotel is situated about 20-30mins stroll from anything worth seeing or doing (ie mcdonalds) in which the hotel served its purpose and can agree on a lot of things said on here.

We had 4 rooms with 3 to 4 beds in each. Rooms were ok, but one of our beds were broken even before we slept on them, and after realizing i gave my bank details as a deposit im kinda shitting it they'll charge me for the damage even though it was like this before we got in, so might cancel my bank card.

Anyway, the bathroom did had a musky smell of cat pee but after 4 nights of drinking and eating nothing but crap I think a lot of bad smells were from us. We also had bites which we thought was from the quad biking we done on he sunday but after reading here, was most probably the beds. Our rooms were across the road, with a guy inside at the door 24-7, and also at the top of the stairs. It felt as if were extras in the film Taken. But was kinda funny as dont think they spoke a word of English. Also, you get a VIP yellow wristband thing that gets you into the club and accomodation etc, however i was that hammered on the first night i took mine off, but was still not challenged at all for the rest of the 3 nights even though it says if you lose it, theres a small fee for replacement.

The reception across the road was hot or miss. The reception area seemed as if they hated anyone who spoke english (we are all scottish so even this was debatable). we had to ask for a change of towels as after 3 nights of showering the towels werent very clean. The bar in the hotel was just off the reception and that was actually pretty good. Was 2 lats for a plastic cup of beer, but we did get pestered by the dancers quite a bit, but they were also ok for conversation and stuff and we even managed to get control of the music system that was there. also an xbox you can play and managed to watch some of the football there during the weekend.

To finish, I would say that it was the kind of weekend that we couldve been anywhere and it wouldve been a laugh, the place was ideal for stags but not the best, and certainly not the worst. I probably wouldnt go back to Riga as it was great for the weekend but that was plenty. now time to try and recover.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alister83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just back from spending a full week with the lads in Riga on a stag do!!

Spent two nights in the hotel xdream and couldn't fault it, staff were friendly, very helpful, well organised...

Here's what I would recommend, get a strip limo from the airport (worth every penny) then get yourselves into the onsite club where you'll be astonished as to just how good the Eastern European lap dancers look.

Get a pub crawl (ask for Sasha as the guide) she'll take you to awesome steak house, the to a few cheeky bars which are pretty good.

If you are planning to stay longer than a weekend, suggest that you have a look at RigaApartments for rent, we stayed at 54 Gertrudes street, and had everything we needed.

Lastly - you MUST visit the Kiwi bar near dome square, full of expats, bar staff are up for a great laugh, it's cheap and the food is spot on...

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank Meerkat2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

An ideal base for your Stag Do, does the job and has what you need for a weekend of booze-fuelled debauchery...

Read bad reviews before going, though had no concerns when there. Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. Sure, you might not get a winning, sparkling smile every time you see them, but they know their stuff, which is dealing with massive groups of blokes intent on drinking the bar dry. And remember, one of you is dressed as: a giant baby/in a leopard print lycra jumpsuit/as a Baywatch Lifeguard/as a gay pirate/delete as appropriate...

Our group was split into accommodation in the main building and two rooms across the road. Rooms were fine, basic, but fine. Clean and comfy enough. The room wasn't cleaned during our stay, which was fair enough. Some of us took our own towels and toilet rolls, which came in handy. Bathroom fine, shower, toilet sink all worked, all good. No problems.

Food wasn't amazing, but sufficed. McDonald's is about a 20 minute walk away (longer after a few pints), but then who's going for the cuisine?!

The lap bar/lap-dancing club was good. Lucky, as you will spend a fair bit of time in here! Despite random music choices pumping out, it had attentive bar staff and of course even more attentive lap dancing girls! One of them looks a bit like Donatella Versace, but that's by no means an indication of quality - just a talking point (and in our case a running joke)!

The place really is like a black hole where time disappears... Along with your cash! Trust me, you will find it hard to get the stag party out of here and leave - unless it's to leg it to the cashpoint and back!

We had lifts from the staff to and from the scheduled trips and also into town, when we had broken free from the hazy hypnosis of the bar.

The rest is a bit of a blur, but basically, it's fine. Go for it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gladj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

As far as Stag weekends go, this was right up there for everything a Stag Doo should have, however, this review is not for the weekend, but for Hotel X-Dream.

I will start with the positives:
It has a lap dancing club off of the main reception (great for the stags and guests!)

And now for the negatives:
The service was terrible, checking in took over an hour and they messed up the rooms, what was booked was 5 twin rooms. The group had to be split over the two buildings, 4 guests in twin rooms and the other 6 guests were split in to 3 rooms on the other side of the road, my room had 4 single beds, another had 5, and the 3rd room had 4. The girls on reception are either really nice or really rude and unhelpful.

Getting to our bedroom on the other side of the road was interesting as you were first greeted by a mute gorilla who would grunt at you when he opened the door to let you in. After finding our way to our rooms, we were met by another brute (at least the security is good here I thought - if not a little overkill!). The rooms, were small, cramped and uncomfortable, the bed sheets didn't cover the mattresses and the duvet cover had the thinnest duvet I have ever seen. My pet hamster has more bedding than this! The curtains (hung upside down!) didn't cover the windows, but did disguise the padlocked door to the balcony (no key supplied). The shower spat out brown water, and I generally felt dirtier after having a shower. Not much sleep took place and most people awoke with big puffy eyes - and some with bites! The towels provided are not much bigger than a hand towel and took a layer of skin off!

The rooms were grubby, and smelt musty.

The location was in a deprived area and no one ventured out on their own due to the fear of the Russian mafia that apparently runs Latvia. There are no shops or bars nearby, only a lonely looking run down park opposite in between lots of other run down looking buildings.

The bar made up for the lack of everything else, which was its only redeeming feature, as the bar staff and most of the dancing girls were friendly (remember this was a stag doo, I wouldn't bring the wife and kids here!). The girls in the bar were mostly pretty and good fun, however if you didn't want a dance they took offense! I got told by one girl I was selfish (I told her I didn't want a dance), and the same girl smacked a mate round the face (he asked if he could dance for her!!).

We all moved after 1 night of abusive behavior from the staff and flea bites and moved to the Radisson Blu in the old town - which was fantastic, see my review for that one.

I will just add, for anyone looking to book this hotel for a stag doo - be warned their taxi service is horrendously expensive - we were charged 14 Lats (about £16) for a taxi in to the old town. The red taxi firm 8383 charged us 2 Lats (About £2.40)!! They also take you to very expensive bars, are quite happy to drop you off at the bars, but will charge an arm and a leg to bring you back to the war zone that is the X-Dream Hotel!!!.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Radisson Blu with the sky bar are much better, £25 pp for a twin room with an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mawilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Liene
Hotel Liene
#89 of 110 in Riga
57 reviews
1.5 km away
Radisson Blu Latvija Conference & Spa Hotel
0.9 km away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#26 of 110 in Riga
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Dodo Hotel
Dodo Hotel
#51 of 110 in Riga
459 reviews
0.9 km away
A1 Hotel
A1 Hotel
#60 of 110 in Riga
230 reviews
1.4 km away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel X-dream? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel X-dream

Address: Artilerijas iela 34, Riga 1009, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price Range: ₹ 1,954 - ₹ 3,257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate choice for stag, hen and lad's weekend parties - maximum tolerance - our reception will also help to arrange transfers, usual stag activities and guided nightlife at costs only available to locals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel x Dream

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing