We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing but helpful and accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
Ranked #1 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Differdange, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
1 review
“Nothing but helpful and accomodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We showed up and within 45 minutes we were in a van heading out on a dog sledding excursion. Rooms tip top and the staff is extremely helpful. I couldn't recommend this hostel enough to backpackers!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    68
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
58
152
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here in a twin room in January 2012 and it really is the best hostel I've stayed in anywhere. The location is great, rooms all in good order and all areas incredibly clean - especailly the showers that were an absolute joy! The staff were always on site and really friendly and helpful with any query. We booked through hostelbookers and it was very good value for money. I would defintely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Great place, great people, great atmosphere... all in "+", no "-", can't make it better. :))

Stuff really friendly, many, many helpfull information, many additional trips for request.

I will visit this place again!!

Room Tip: We were in double room, (windows to the street - a little bit loud music from bar in building in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasiek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hostel was great. They had activities organised every night from karaoke, pub crawls to Latvian food night, so it would be ideal for single travellers. It was also a good sign to see the owner involved in the daily running and upkeep of the hostel. The common areas and the bathrooms/toilets were super clean. The hostel is located really close to the bus station - less than a five minute walk - and it was in the old town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed here based on reviews and I've gotta say there reputation proceeds them. They greeted me with a shot of the traditional drink of Riga- Black Balsam, that was a wonderful way to start my stay. They gave me an overview of what the hostel offered and then proceeded to map out for me anything and everything I could do in Riga at there recommendation. Such a friendly staff. I then went on an outing offered by the hostel, an AK 47/Glock/12 Gauge Shotgun shoot at one of the local shooting ranges and had a great time doing that. After returning to the hostel I was served a complimentary pint of beer. That evening I enjoyed a local cooked meal which was great. They offer a super cheap happy hour which is great for pregaming before hitting the bars. The night I was there they weren't offering the pub crawl but were nice enough to draw up the list of bars that they go to on it and even had cards on hand for one of the pubs that was a buy one get one free and a group of us took the tour on our own and really enjoyed the different venues. Numerous toilets and showers with hot water, free locks for the in room lockers, free computers to use for internet, a complimentary kitchen, and a absolutely fantastic staff to top it off. Don't miss out by staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.0 km away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.5 km away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.1 km away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#9 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 km away
SemaraH Hotel Metropole
0.7 km away
Dome Hotel & SPA - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naughty Squirrel Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naughty Squirrel Backpackers

Property: Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
Address: Kaleju iela 50 | Old Town, Riga 1050, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Riga
Price range (per night): ₹ 771 - ₹ 3,981
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aussie owned Backpackers in the Heart of the Old Town. Only 300m to Main Square, Airport Bus, Central Markets, Bus Station, Supermarkets and many Bars/Restaurants. AK47 Shooting, Bobsled, Free Walking Tours, Pub Crawls, Latvian Food Nights, Karaoke, Husky Dog Sledding, Daily Happy Hours, Latvian Beer Tastings and much more! Voted No.1 Hostel in Latvia 2009 and 2010.A Genuine Backpackers for Real Travellers !!!!!** NO STAG PARTIES ALLOWED **Clean, Secure and Fun backpackers hostel in Old Riga for small groups and solo travellers. We are a true backpackers with friendly local staff that will help you 24hrs.** Female Only Dorms Available!! Our prices include all taxes, all linens and your bed already made for you... PLUS a FRESH TOWEL!!- FREE internet and WIFI- FREE lockers and locks- FREE Foosball Table- FREE shower and hand soap- FREE tea all day- FREE guide map- FREE popcorn & gumibears (Movie Nights)- FREE good times and awesome memories. We offer you TWO common rooms to meet other backpackers and a fully equipped KITCHEN for cooking 24 hours. All dorm rooms have large security lockers under each bed that can fit your whole backpack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Naughty Squirrel Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing