We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manhattan prices”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Art Hotel Laine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Hotel Laine
Ranked #1 of 63 Riga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manhattan prices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

I spent two nights in this hotel in early 2000 in it's deluxe room and found it a bargain: just what these small hotels offer instead of the big ones with less individual touch and with a bulk of people brought in by a travel agency/tour operator.

I needed to book a room again after almost a decade, so I spent some time to find out what was the hotel I stayed in back then. Once I found it, I was exhilarated.

But when asking for the price of the room, I was given a price of 600 euros (last time it was 79 euros for two).

Ok, it was for around the new year but still: the only place where I have bumped into similar prices is Manhattan.

One cannot blame another for being an entrepreneur but seriously: about 10-fold prices, equating those with Manhattan?

I believe Tripadvisor is the place to make such voices vocal: be advised that my first experience here was very pleasant: I just don't think that the 'regular' customers should be treated like this.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbadensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    105
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
30
76
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This hotel is far from a luxurious stay, but there are some really good qualities to it. It is really well situated, close to Riga Arena and city center, it has free parking, really good breakfast and it is rather on the cheap side.

We could hear our next door (and above) neighbours a bit too well, but that didn't bother too much. Overall conditions were very satisfying.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
330 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Typical moderately-priced European hotel--lots of stairs, small rooms, few amenities. Reservations required at peak times. The buffet breakfast included in the room price was excellent. There was a wide variety of choices in a very comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Caveat: It can be a bit unfair to rate a hotel after having just flown in from halfway around the world.

We stayed there 4 nights and picked this hotel as our first destination because of the $ we got it at on Priceline. The room sat off by itself around the corner, at the end of a hallway. The bathroom, while only for our us, was not connected to the room. The room itself was drab and ultra plain. There was no air conditioning and in July, the room needed an air conditioner. The only chair in the room was small and uncomfortable. On the plus side, the breakfasts were great, the best we had in the Baltics over a 3 week period. The staff was always a big help. Good drinking water was never an issue as the 5 gallon dispenser in the hallway always had plenty. The hotel is located within walking distance of the old town of Riga and is situated in a area of the city worth exploring. And as previously stated, the price was the best we could get in Riga. So, there +'s and -'s.

Room Tip: For the Budget Traveller, this is a fine place. Others, look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polaris22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires argentina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My first impression was walking through a dreary courtyard. Yes, the hotel has an elevator, but it only goes to the 5th floor ; my room was on the 6th. Strike 1 . I was told , when I checked in, that the wifi wasn't working. Since it was a Saturday, the technician would not come to the rescue, until Monday. Strike 2 The breakast was unbelievably bad. Couldn't have been worse. Strike 3. My room was huge and the bathroom was fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XchocolateX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.2 km away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.0 km away
Old City Boutique Hotel
1.2 km away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel Bergs
Hotel Bergs
#3 of 109 in Riga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Laine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Laine

Property: Art Hotel Laine
Address: Skolas iela 11, Riga 1010, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Riga
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,807 - ₹ 5,895
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Laine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Laine is located in the historical city center of Riga, just a few minutes away from Old Riga. Hotel is located in a magnificent Art Nouveau building that was put up in 1912. The modern interior is combined with wonderful Art Nouveau elements, which lends particularly special charm. Rooms are decorated in harmonious colors, which give homely atmosphere. A comfortable bed guarantees a great night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel Laine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laine Hotel Riga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing