We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding atmosphere”

Fish Restaurant Le Dome
Ranked #16 of 972 Restaurants in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 22 - US$ 67
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The sophisticated restaurant Le Dome is truly a jewel of the Latvian cuisine. Chef Sergey Siporov continuously achieves new levels in culinary art by discovering the finest nuances of the local seafood and products from Latvian farmland. He creates refined combinations of taste, applying contemporary European culinary techniques.Le Dome menu reveals the plentiful world of fish recipes. We are sure that you will embrace the taste of plaice, sturgeon, cod, Baltic pilchard, sander and other fish from Latvian lakes and the Baltic Sea, prepared in variety of ways. Nevertheless chef Sergey Siporov is eager to reinvent the tastefulness of other seasonal products - wild game, vegetables and berries, specially prepared sauces, and he takes no compromises on the way of creating ever new courses and constantly renews the menu. The light design and pleasant atmosphere is suitable for both a successful business lunch conversation and romantic dinner. During the day the restaurant is embraced by a businesslike atmosphere, in evenings by leisurely conversations and romance, while in weekends these are gourmands that enjoy the gastronomic pleasure and appreciate real values, a qualitative and savory meal, selected wine and outstanding service. In weekend evenings one can enjoy live piano performances and such an evening is really worth to enjoy taking one's time.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We had a late lunch here on a Friday, ordering the Latvian fish soup. The location was stunning and the atmosphere upscale and enjoyable. The service was average, considering we were the only guests and there were three employees hanging around, we could have had a bit more attention - we had to ask for water and bread refills.

The soup was nice, but didn't quite live up to the hype. The wine list wasn't very inspired.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate P, Manager at Fish Restaurant Le Dome, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Celina T,

Thank you for the compliment about good atmosphere and location!
Our fish soup definitely differs a lot from most traditional soups you can have in other restaurants. It is not a classic fish soup, this could be the reason why it did not reach your expectations fully. Also I would like to let you know that recently we have changed our menu and improved the receipt of fish soup, what now can be found in culinary heritage of fish restaurant Le Dome. You should definitely try it and compare.

To be honest I was really surprised reading your comments about the service of the staff. I’m sorry that you felt this way. I am sure that it was not the intention of waiters to make you feel and like this. They tried to be not intrusive. This time as I see they have had tried too much. Please again receive my apologies!
Looking forward to see you again!
Sincerely yours,
Renate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    76
    21
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant especially if you love fish”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We arrived a bit late in the evening and 2 things from the menu were not available anymore. Although that might not be nice, I always think it shows that they are working with fresh food and that they prefer saying no then waisting food.
I had two tapas as starters and herring with goat cheese as main. Absolutly perfect.
I don't think the food was expensive according to west european standards, in fact i thought value for money was extremely good. I am unable to say the same thing about the wines however. They start about 20 lat and as the bottle we had was 23 i think it shouldn't be that expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mvberkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate P, Manager at Fish Restaurant Le Dome, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear, mvberkel,

I wish to thank you for noticing that when restaurant uses only fresh local products, it is not something extraordinary, if some of the staples run out before restaurant closes. Also, special thanks for pointing value of money. Our aim is not to be the most expensive place in Riga, but we are one of those where quality matters first, especially, as mostly we serve fresh, local fish,
We keep working the same way and will not change our attitude to that. Thanks again!

Kindest regards,
Renate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Essex.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly, excellent food and service”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I travelled alone in Riga and this restaurant was around the corner of my hotel. Small and cosy, the food was terrific, just hit the spot, fish delicious and the service great. The staff were warm and friendly and I would always go back.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank citytraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate P, Manager at Fish Restaurant Le Dome, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear, citytraveller63,

Thank you for passing although lived in other place. I much appreciate every compliment you wrote. It proves that we are on the right way and there is no need to change the route. Thank you again!

Kindest regards,
Renate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Riga”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Even though I'm not planning to go back to Riga this is one of the two things I would go back for. This is a great fish restaurant in the old part of Riga. The food was delicious and the staff was very nice and they knew what they were talking about. The restaurant was small and the atmosphere was really good.

If you are in Riga, looking for good food, this is the place to go!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank FKLS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate P, Manager at Fish Restaurant Le Dome, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear, FKLS1,

We are so delighted to read, that our restaurant would be among those things you would be back in Riga.

Thank you for compliments to staff and food. It is so important to know that people appreciate the job they do from all their hearts.

Please, be welcomed any time in case if someday you decide to come back to Latvia!


Sincerely yours,
Renate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great in every way”
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We were looking for a fish restaurant and happened upon this one. The menu had the right amount of choice and the food was excellent as was the service, A simple green salad (not on the menu) was well seasoned and I was provided with good quality olive oil and balsamic vinegar for my own dressing. We both had cod which was perfectly cooked and accompanied by beautiful mashed potatoes, crunchy green peas with flat-leaf parsley and grilled baby tomatoes. The service was professional and discrete, the wine menu was appropriate to the food choices and the ambiance was simple and relaxing (no loud music). We ate at several restaurants in Riga...this was by far the best.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank lovestravelling2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate P, Manager at Fish Restaurant Le Dome, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear, lovestravelling2003,

I am glad to read, that you found our restaurant as the best among visited ones. One of our main goals is to fully satisfy our guests desires. It includes not only service, food and extraordinary requests, but also atmosphere and personnel attitude. Thank you for appreciation of these things!

Kindest regards,
Renate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Restaurant Le Dome also viewed

Riga, Riga Region
Riga, Riga Region
 
Riga, Riga Region
 

Been to Fish Restaurant Le Dome? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing