We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
3
7
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
7
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Leo is a strange hybrid between a hotel and a motel with a strong atmosphere of nineties in post-soviet area (sans red plush). However, it has many pros: competitive price; excellent location (close to the city centre and (if needed) to the bus and railway stations); very quiet; clean and well maintained; service is very obliging – they even knocked at the door to enquire which time I wanted my breakfast and what dish would I like; freshly prepared hot breakfast (not repeated during three days of my stay), free and fast WiFi, free parking. Disadvantages were very few: mattresses are hard and most of the rooms are accessible by extremely uncomfortable flight of stairs. And one more note: I do not know how good is communication for these who do not speak Russian.

Room tip: If you have even slight motion disability, do not take rooms with the stair access
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank acorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay B, Guest Relations Manager at Leo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that you were happy with the service received. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Manager. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We have been staying in this hotel last year and then everything was ok - kind and helpful hotel administrator who speaks latvian, english and russian, small, but comfortable rooms, breakfast - all this for appropriate price.
Now situatin is gone bad.
Last week we call this hotel again, but there was administrator on the other side of the line, who can communicate only in russian, she even didnt understand latvian. That was terrible.
We choose another hotel instead (Biplan)

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Mairis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

He important things are safety and cleanliness, right? Leo seems to meet both these criteria. The staff were efficient. The breakfast was good, although limited Fare. The room was close to Motel 6. No hot ware tat night. But, we felt safe, the location was close to our meetings. And the room was clean.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked a double room for 1 night, including breakfast through the internet.

We had previously advised our late arrival by internet, so when arrived at around 20:45 at the bus station, the lady (who I assume was the owner) was waiting for us. The hotel is located behind the restaurant. She spoke a little English and German. Booked in easily and arranged a time for breakfast in the morning. A very nice welcome.

She then showed us our room, no 4. It was up a flight of steep 17 stairs. It was a pleasant spacious, older room and attached ensuite. There was a sitting area as well. The windows were openable.
A bar fridge was provided. A tv and plenty of electrical outlets.

There was free wifi but only the laptop could connect in the room. My iPad could not, but was ok in the hallway.

We had a comfortable nights sleep. The hotel is in a quiet location in a side street.

Breakfast was ready when we came into the breakfast room. Yogurt, juice, a plate of sausages, egg, cucumber and tomato and peas, toast and black bread and coffee. Very nice. Also fresh flowers on our table, which is a lovely touch.

The hotel is well located between the bus station (which we used) and the train station. It is also close to a main shopping street (Riga), so its in an excellent location.

We enjoyed our short time at Hotel Leo and would recommend it as an alternative to the other much larger hotels that can be viewed over the internet. Less mobile people may have a problem with the stairs.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We travelled to Daugavpils for the Latvian Speedway GP and were looking for a cheap hotel. We were a party of three and were quite happy to share. The hotel has a family room (Room 5) which sleeps 4 so this room was ideal.
The Hotel is set of Rigas Iela and 5 minutes walk from the train station so it is ideally situated if you are travelling by train or bus as the bus station is 5 minutes walk away in the opposite direction. It is set in a quiet courtyard behind the Leo restaurant. We were greeted by two receptionists. One spoke Latvian, Russian and German and the other could speak English as well. They were happy to arrange breakfast early the next day for us which was helpful.
The rooms are up on the first floor and the stairs are very steep so if you do have mobility issues this may be a problem.
Our room was very large with a king size bed in one room and twin beds in another, We also had a fridge. The shower room was very clean and of a decent size and there was plenty of hot water.
There was no choice at breakfast and it was a typical eastern European breakfast with cold meat and salad. There was also toast and bread and very good coffee.
This is a lovely quiet little hotel in a good situation. The staff are very helpful and the accommodation is clean and functional.

Room tip: Room 5 is a big room that will accommodate 4 people.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews