We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel a short walk from the Old Town”
Review of L'Ermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Ermitage Hotel
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel a short walk from the Old Town”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is well situated about a ten minute (albeit uphill) walk to the Old Town and only a 10 Euro cab ride from the airport. In fact, its location and the price are definitely the main plus points. The rooms are basic and decorated in a slightly old fashioned way but they were clean and everything worked. There is a Sauna and jacuzzi which you can hire out privately by the hour but it is expensive and when we went, we had to heat the jacuzzi up ourselves which took the first ten minutes of our time up! I would recommend this hotel for a budget short stay but not for a special occasion - you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    373
    111
    23
    8
See reviews for
106
370
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We catched a deal that the hotel placed on Finnish Groupon site (47€/night), and same deal I saw on booking.com. Hotel offered one night stay for the said price, with breakfast, plate of fruits in the room and a bottle of Champagne (0.75l). Simply can say, these people know how to attract customers in the low season. For the said price it was excellent, clean room, nice bathroom, enough space to move around. I also liked that they took my reservation in advance, before I received info about my discount package, and I was able to add the info later - so I was able to book desired dates. Beds are high and soft, room also got minibar, small sized TV (local, some Finnish, some Russian and few global channels), two types of pillows (large and small - one can pick the most convenient, I like the detail). Breakfast was typical continental, choice was not extremely large but you got your typical cereal stuff, muesli, sausages, scrambled eggs, sliced cheese, sliced sausages, some marinated fish... one can eat full, simply to say. Iron was provided at request from reception. As we traveled in winter I can not tell anything about their AC, but they have centralised ventilation. Bathroom got a bathtube, and standard several towels, napkins etc., safe also exists in the room. As it was said here already, hair dryer is funny and weak one, bring your own for some serious hair drying.

Downsides that do not affect overall impression: hotel got free wifi but it is said in their info that's only on first two floors. We had room on 4th floor so wifi was caught here and there, and reception was intermittent, I ended up placing my laptop next to the entrance door on the floor. Okay to send short emails, or check it, but not really for online experience (perhaps you need to go downstairs to get good connection). While hotel is close to Old City, it's not that close to Virukeskus and short transpot connections might be needed for most destinations. Before making calls, check their price list — local call within city was 0.27€ per minute. The closest entrance to Old Town is Falgi tee, walk to Toompea or Kiek-in-de-Kok takes approx 10 mins.

Bottom line - flawless hotel with everything what you might expect from business 3-stars, capable of good bargains, certainly worth 50€ per night and perhaps a tad more.

Room Tip: Wifi: only ground and 1st floor as of Feb 2012.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AskarIbragimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just back from a great break in Tallin, we stayed at the hotel L'ermitage, what a great hotel, just minutes from Tallin Old Town. The hotel itself was extremely comfortable, a good breakfast was available every morning, the staff were so friendly and helpful, rooms were spotless. Two things I would point out, in our room, the shower was in the bath, which was quite a deep bath, so if you had any mobility problems it would be difficult to access, also bring your own hairdryer, the one supplied is very weak and if you had long hair or thick hair it would take you all morning to dry it. Not huge problems, but just check it out before you book, on the other hand after a long day sightseeing, the bath is a lovely place to relax. We would really recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have traffic noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftrisholady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

for young couples who like to walk its ok, we liked the bed, but TV very small.
We did not like the hair on the pillow. so cleaning could be done better.

Room Tip: take a room from 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmenHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Based on the price we paid we werent expecting much from this hotel but we were shocked when we checked in at how beautiful the hotel was, check in was quick and easy and our room was beautiful, very clean and chocolates on arrival. The restaurant served beautiful french cuisine and was very well priced. The next day we walked to the old town and it took 20 minutes, however if we had opened our eyes and looked at the map it would have only taken 5 minutes. Tallinn is a beautiful city and the old town is a must see, in the old square there is a bar called the beer house,go and see it if you are in tallinn.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
0.7 km away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
800 reviews
2.0 km away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 85 in Tallinn
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 85 in Tallinn
827 reviews
1.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.6 km away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#18 of 85 in Tallinn
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Hotel

Property: L'Ermitage Hotel
Address: Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#22 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,858 - ₹ 10,492
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 4-star Hotel L'Ermitage is located in the centre of Tallinn, just a 5-minute walk from the Town Hall. In total it has 122 rooms, providing a luxurios stay in various rooms, including standard, business, superior rooms and suites. In addition to guest rooms, the hotel also features two restaurants - L'Ermitage and Katze - an all-new contemporary conference hall, and a private sauna with a Jacuzzi. Many attractions, locals favorite bars and restaurants are located nearby the hotel, in walkable distance. The Nordic serenity of Hotel L`Ermitage catches the eye as you approach the building. The interior of the hotel welcomes its guests with a warm and bright atmosphere, encouraging visitors to enjoy our guest rooms, restaurants, conference hall, and sauna, benefitting from Northern, elegant interiors filled with well thought-out detail that always accentuates convenience, comfort, and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Ermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Ermitage Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing