We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“While it was very comfortable and nice, sharing a bathroom with 10 other people was definitely a negative!”
Review of OldHouse Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
OldHouse Hostel
Ranked #2 of 42 Tallinn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“While it was very comfortable and nice, sharing a bathroom with 10 other people was definitely a negative!”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed in the Old House Guesthouse for five nights. It was very homely, cosy, clean, comfortable and warm at all times, and it's prime location on the edge of the Old Town meant we could walk everywhere, which was definitely a plus! Sharing two showers (which were in the same room) and two toilets could have led to major problems, and while we only ended up in a queue once or twice, we would have preferred our own bathroom for more privacy. The little kitchen was very handy to have for self-catering for small meals and snacks as there was a supermarket just around the corner. The dormitory room had a good quality television with multiple channels, many of which were in English, and there was a tv in the hall/sitting room. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and various brocheures and leaflets about things to do during our stay were provided which proved to be a major asset. All in all it was a lovely place to stay, but it was more like a hostel than a guesthouse and if you like your own bathroom and other facilities, the Old House Guesthouse is not for you.

Room Tip: The dormitory has a television! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    75
    27
    8
    10
See reviews for
15
30
67
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We booked a 5 bed room for 5 people for a weekend break in March 2011. The room was very comfortable and clean and was always warm. We found the whole hostel to be clean and tidy at all times during our stay. The staff were also very friendly and on hand at all hours. There is a small TV room and kitchen which has some basic facilities. The location is very good as well, just inside the old town, only a few minutes walk from the old town centre. Very close to tram and bus stops as well as the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: The Internet is best picked up in the TV room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish_LON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Old hostel was a surprise in many ways. The furnishings are as suggested by the name, old fashioned but in condition.

We booked one private double room and on dorm bed. The private room was small but comfortable with a window out onto the street. We didn't have an issues with noise, and in many ways it was more like staying in a budget hotel except for the shared bathroom. The dorm room was quite large and as it was off season not full.

The hostel/apartments are spread across two building on the same street. There is a shared kitchen and lounge in each, but this was not the kind of party hostel where people were hanging out in them.

The receptionist was a bit detached, but did help us with directions. There was no internet available.

We had a very pleasant stay, but if you're a backpacker looking to meet people then you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krizmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Havin sen the pictures of the old house, i was quite excited about satying there, however the room we were given was on street level with NO window that couold open, and direct view onto street so people could see us sleeping in what was effectivley the ´shop window´. There was about 10cm space between the beds and no other space. Sleeping ina windowless box in August, not funa dn to top it all i asked if we could move and was told ´levae the door open untl you go to sleep´- brilliant!! Also the bathrooms were in a terrible state, only 1 shower room for 8 rooms and signs saying dnt touch the walls and the tiles were falling down. the only endearing feature was the location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sishead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We stayed at the Old House on account of a last-minute change of plans, and thought that the hostel was terrific. The hostel is wonderfully decorated and restored, and has some very nice common spaces, including a breakfast room. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location is also ideal - it is minutes from the centre of Old Town, on a quieter street with a bit less of a tourist buzz than some of the streets off the main square. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.6 km away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#18 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.7 km away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.5 km away
Tabinoya
Tabinoya
#1 of 42 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OldHouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OldHouse Hostel

Property: OldHouse Hostel
Address: Uus 26, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tallinn
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,164 - ₹ 5,312
Hotel Class:2 star — OldHouse Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OldHouse hostel lies in Tallinn's Old Town and provides lodgings for very welcome visitors of all ages. The hostel suits travellers of all ages and people on business trips looking for economical lodgings. The hostel has a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable common-room with a TV, a computer room, parking and free wireless internet connection. The hostel has 12 rooms, which all together accommodate 35 people. The hostel has two floors and on both of them there are two shower rooms with separate entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your OldHouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldhouse Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing