We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place But Quite Basic”
Review of PK Ilmarine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PK Ilmarine Hotel
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice Place But Quite Basic”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The Domina Hotel, Tallinn is an old, converted, factory which has been modernised. It has both Room and Apartment style accommodation. Although I did not view the apartments my own room (Exec!) was quite small. Some rooms have only a shower in the bathroom. Rooms are quite basic with few frills although there is free tea and coffee. Staff are accomodating but dont go out of their way to assist.
There is a bar and a restaurant although both of these close at 10 pm! The buffet breakfast is adequate and substantial with lots of choices but I think the al a carte menu in the restaurant is quite limited in choice and would get tedious if you stayed at the hotel for any length of time. However, what is on the menu is tasty and well prepared.
The laundry service is expensive. They lost mine for 3 days but still charged me the full charge!
The hotel location is away from the main area of Tallinn but not too far from the Old Town. Close to Fat Margaret which, if you know anything about Tallinn, is a local monument. Lots of interesting and good restaurants and bars within easy walking distance from the hotel. The Old Town Square is about a 15 minute walk and has some lovely places to sit in the sunshine while you drink the refreshment of your choice and indulge in people watching.
Back to the hotel – A nice place, clean and comfortable but not many amenities and I think there are other hotels in the area with more to offer at similar prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manwithplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Manwithplan,

Warm greetings from Domina Inn Ilmarine hotel!

I would like to thank you for your comments on your visit to Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel! Im really sorry for the inconveniences with your laundry, although i hope your stay was enjoyable!

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Domina Inn Ilmarine hotel!


Sincerely Yours,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    495
    152
    36
    23
See reviews for
140
453
72
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bramhall
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel is just across the road from Tallin old town, 2 euro - 20 minute bus ride from the airport. Bus stop 200metres from hotel Very well appointed rooms, excellent buffet breakfast, friendly staff. We arrived very early and they let us straight into our room. Lots to see and do in Tallin. A really good city break

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear mfeakin,

Warm greetings from Domina Inn Ilmarine hotel!

I would like to thank you for your comments on your visit to Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel! We are pleased to hear that your stay here was enjoyable and that the services provided met your expectations.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Domina Inn Ilmarine hotel!


Sincerely Yours,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This was our first trip to Tallin Estonia and my husband and I stayed at the Domina Ilmarine hotel for 2 nights this April.
The hotel: A very modern hotel just minutes walking distance to the old town and city centre and off the main road. The room was very clean, comfy double bed but unfortunately, no tea or coffee making facilities unless you pay extra. Also, the room was extremely well insulated and we woke up several times during the night feeling very hot and not having any drinking facilities in the room during the night meant we were very thirsty by breakfast however, the breakfast was very nice, lots of choice, various meats, cheeses, cereals, pastries, teas, soft drinks, etc.
The hotel is just a stones throw away from Tallin old town where the magic truly begins.
The old town is like a taking a giant leap back in time to the days of robin hood and fairy tales, a real medieval wonder that incorporates the old world with the new; a perfect place for couples...very romantic however, as Estonia is now part of the EU and took on the euro it is not as cheap as you'd think and is probably in line with some London prices if you don't shop around.
There's plenty to see in terms of churches, cathedrals and lots of beautiful quaint and often themed cafes/restaurants which, over look a stunning and extremely picturesque town centre.
The entire old town is laden with cobbled stones and is very safe for pedestrians as very little traffic runs through it. There are market stalls sprawled along some of the beautiful old streets selling various items but most of the shops you'll find are behind the stunning old looking/medieval buildings.
Highly recommended is the bike tour (bike shop down UUS road) which takes you on a 16km guided bike ride/tour away from the old town and out to the hard to reach historical sites of Tallin.
16 euros per person gets you 2.5 hour bike ride, helmet, soft drink. It is a relatively easy bike ride for most people as the ground is quite flat (only one or two hills) and goes at a relaxed pace. The guide Christina was very knowledgeable, very friendly and it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.
Highly recommend the following restaurants/cafes.....
Olde Hansa restaurant in the town square if you want a taste of medieval food and experience the medieval era as all staff are dressed in period costumes and live music is played using instruments of that time. £££ not cheap but not too expensive.
Peppersack restaurant; another themed restaurant but not as elaborate as Olde Hansa. Excellent food and service. ££ slightly cheaper and you get more for your money.
Elsebet cafe attached to the peppersack OMG!!!! try the cakes! They are so tasty and very cheap. ££
Chocolate Pierre cafe is well worth a stop as the chocolates are probably the best in Tallin and the cakes aren't bad either however, it is very expensive compared to Elsebet but you need to experience this little cafe as you'll not see anything like this in all of Tallin.
Rae Khavick cafe on the town square is a lovely cafe for a tea/coffee and an opportunity to sit and watch the world go by whilst looking out on to the square. Sheep skin covers cover the chairs in the colder months making it a much more pleasant experience if you don't like the cold but want to stay outside.
Sites/must sees to visit.......
Alexander Nevsky Cathedral is a must see!!!!
The Dome Church
St. catherines passage (old town)
Kadriog palace and park (on bike tour)
pirita beach (bike tour)
Fat Margaret Tower (old town entrance)
Well worth purchasing a travel guide book of Estonia before you go.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to a room with tea/coffee making facilities then I would recommend doin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank no1chocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding a time to write such a thorough positive feedback and sharing useful tips for travellers who are planning to visti Tallinn and stay in Domina Inn Ilmarine.

Unfortunately it is true, we do not have tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms, but on request it can be ordered also to classic rooms.

Again, thank you for staying in Domina Inn Ilmarine. We are looking forward welcoming you in the furture!

With kind regards,

Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel is really well placed, at walking distance from the old city. It is also good connected with a tram station at just two minutes. The services are great. Breakfast is one of the best I have tried. Plenty of food and delicious. Rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom also great. And the best of all, is that it cost just a fraction of the price of other luxurious hotels in the city. From my point of view, all you would like from a hotel (even spa) for a very reasonable price. I really enjoyed the stay there and would return if I visit the city again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Alejandro S,

It is thrilling to read your positive comments about our hotel, staff and services. This kind of feedback is the best reward and recognition for the whole team of Domina Inn Ilmarine!

We highly appreciate you found a time to share your experience in Tripadvisor.

Looking forward seeing you in Domina Ilmarine next time you vistit Tallinn!

With kind regards,

Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed for a night in Ilmarine. Nothing special but very clean and nice. Staff was a bit bored looking and it took a while before we got our rooms sorted out (three rooms and 6 people, how hard can it be?). Breakfast was very basic. All in all; a very safe choice, but a bit dull.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMGFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domina_Manager, Front Office Manager at PK Ilmarine Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Domina Inn Ilmarine for your stay and taking a minute of your valuable time to rate us.

Sorry to hear checking in took a little bit more time than you expected. There are some quite new receptionists at the moment. They are trying to do everyhing perfectly, it might take them more time to make sure everything is correct.

I sincerely hope we have the pleasure to welcome you in Domina Inn ilmarine in the future!

With kind regards,
Merilin Kangro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
1.9 km away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.1 km away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#19 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
3.4 km away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#21 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PK Ilmarine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PK Ilmarine Hotel

Property: PK Ilmarine Hotel
Address: Pohja pst 21b, Tallinn 10414, Estonia (Formerly Domina Inn Ilmarine)
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,083 - ₹ 11,211
Hotel Class:3 star — PK Ilmarine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a brilliant hotel experience in the heart of Tallinn. PK Ilmarine Hotel is a charming 105 rooms hotel, conveniently located near the historical UNESCO Heritage Old Town, in the culturally versatile seaside region of Tallinn. All rooms are equipped with safety-deposit box, satellite TV and telephone, bathroom with a bath or shower, hair dryer and air conditioning. You will appreciate the top-quality service of its restaurant Wiegand. Hotel additional facilities such as the on-site gym, the private parking upon availability and the full Wi-Fi coverage, will make Ilmarine everything you expect from a home away from home. No matter if you are travelling alone or with a group, on business or leisure, PK Ilmarine highly committed, friendly and attentive staff will grant you the most comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your PK Ilmarine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Inn Ilmarine Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Tallinn
Domina Hotel Ilmarine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing