We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!!”
Review of Rocca al Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocca al Mare
Ranked #48 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We spent two nights in this hotel and were quite happy with it. The reception staff was friendly and eager to help. The breakfast was adequate. We ate at the restaurant on our first evening and were quite satified with the food and service. We didn't get a chance to use the spa as we were participating to a sporting event held in a near-by Arigato Spordiklubi and were therefore kept busy majority of the time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mintsi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed for one night in 2 rooms (there was no family room available so we got 2 adjoining rooms for 4 people on the 4th floor).

One of the rooms' AC did not work, we went to the front desk with the intention to report it, and there was already a gentleman there complaining about it - his room was also on the 4th floor. The front desk basically said - there was nothing they can do and that he was not the only one complaining about it. So, we simply just went back upstairs, and stayed in one room with the working AC until the sun went down, then opened the windows to let some cool air in.
Luckily the night was on the cool side and our daughters who stayed in that room were able to sleep just fine.

The hotel itself looked new and clean. There was a wedding when we were there - so on the noisy side downstairs but it didnt affect us in the room itself. Swimming pool is only free during certain time (I believe 7-9 or 10 am was one of the free times), so we had to pay 7 euros to use it outside that time.

Breakfast buffet was small but it was enough variety for us, and it was good enough.

The hotel is near a shopping mall and on the outskirt of the city. It is a better hotel for someone with a vehicle and/or don't need to stay close to the center of Tallinn. We took the tram/bus to the city and taxi to the port, and it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctedjopranoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel is very good value for money. Our party of 2 had a swift, hassle-free check-in with the friendly reception staff. The hotel is quite small but perfectly formed. Stylish throughout. Our sea-view room was a good size, plenty of wardrobe space for us, nice bathroom. There is an outside terrace area at the front where you can eat your breakfast if the sun is out but the dining room is lovely, light and airy. The breakfast was buffet-style and had pancakes, breads, eggs, cereal, sausage & scandanavian items plus self serve juices & hot drinks. Rocca al Mare has a large shopping centre including McDonalds, Supermarkets and every shop you can think of within 7 minutes walk plus the zoo and Estonian Open Air Museum (a must!!!) are very close too. There are fab transport links into the old town area of Tallinn which takes about 10 I think by bus. We also used the pool and jacuzzi (with various settings/colour changing lights) which was fun. We really enjoyed our stay!!! Well done to all the staff and management! A big thank you from the Shriane family. Oh the weather in August was lovely - mid 20s!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShrianeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Value for your money! Nice, clean rooms and good breakfast. Spa is a bit too much to say, just a small pool. But it did`not matter, a nice hotel anyway. You can park your car infront of the main entrance. Nice wiev to sea! A very pleasant hotel! Nice location just in the neighbou of a big shoppingcentre. I recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms for 3 very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Nice breakfast)) The pool is 1,1 - 1,2 m deep, you can swim on the back pushing youself from the floor - kind of pleasant experience)) As you can expect nobody in the pool or sauna in the morning - so you can feel youself as yoy rent the whole thing )) but don't forget to take towel from your room nobody from staff there either)) Room was small, but nice - maybe this what Estonia is all about)) small, but nice country))
Rent a car from a front desk - that was kind of new experience)) nobody ask any ID, no signing papers)) I gave them 45 euro per day - they give me a key from Picasso citroen and ask to refill the tank before the return - huge difference from US or old Europe - where they scare you to get additional insurance or askig for few different type of credit cards if you want a luxury car))

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vladimirnilov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
10.6 km away
Pirita Spa Hotel
Pirita Spa Hotel
#50 of 86 in Tallinn
478 reviews
8.8 km away
Oru Hotel
Oru Hotel
#17 of 86 in Tallinn
333 reviews
14.6 km away
Ecoland Hotel-Boutique
Ecoland Hotel-Boutique
#74 of 86 in Tallinn
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Hestia Hotel Europa
Hestia Hotel Europa
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
705 reviews
13.1 km away
Lavendel Spa Hotel
Lavendel Spa Hotel
#51 of 86 in Tallinn
47 reviews
6 km away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#9 of 86 in Tallinn
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocca al Mare? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocca al Mare

Address: Vabaohumuuseumi Tee 11 Lillevaelja 2, Tallinn 13522, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#32 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: ₹ 3,849 - ₹ 7,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocca al Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rocca al Mare is a modern hotel by the sea. Offering 4-star facilities for 3-star prices, the Hotel Rocca al Mare offers a peaceful natural environment with sea views, birdsong and sunset walks on the promenade in front of the hotel. Hotel offers 36 rooms, an A`la carte restaurant Rocca al Mare with seating up to 40 guests, a health center with swimming pool and saunas, DAY SPA with rooms for facial and body treatments and a meeting room at your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rocca al Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocca Al Mare Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing