We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
8
29
17
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
29
17
8
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Let’s start with the positives about Hotel Grand. First, its location in the corner of the Marianske Namestie (i.e. Žilina’s historical square), with access to the street called Dolný Val running alongside the square. The train station is approximately a 10 minute walk in almost a straight line.

Another good thing about the hotel is that it is clean and yes…it is comfortable, including a comfortable mattress and free Wifi. The Brasserie style restaurant is also a big bonus. Its ambience is pleasant, with decent prices. Its selection of surprisingly tasty international foods (including burgers, pasty etc.) provides a nice break from the Slovakian cousine. And the bar staff knew how to make tasty international drinks, like a proper Brazilian Caipirinha and an Irish Coffee. Moreover, a large nice Slovakian lager beer costs a mere €1.50, which is terrific value. There is a choice of restaurants around the square, but its convenience, menu selection and prices made it more than worthwhile to eat at the Hotel.

Stayed in one of the so-called ‘Apartment’ rooms on the third floor at a cost of €100 per night at the end of August 2016, including breakfast. The room had a large double bed with a sofa bed in the ‘lounge’ area. The bathroom was large with a hydromassage bath, but lacking a shower screen and wall mounting for showering so the floor got wet quickly. The bathroom tiling and room fittings and furniture were outdated. The Hotel claims it had undergone major renovation works in 2004, but it felt like it was stuck in the 1980s somehow. But everything was clean and…comfortable! The Wifi was unstable but, once connected the Wifi for rooms on all floors using the universal password, the problem disappeared.

The Hotel promotes itself as a 3-star hotel (although its façade includes a 4th star!). It’s unclear which (if any) organisation actually awarded this classification, but it is possible that it satisfies HOTREC’s criteria for a comfort rating. But some visitors might expect more from a 3-star. Apart from the somewhat dated feel about the Hotel (see above), the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment – small selection of bread, warm food (scramble eggs and sausages), yoghurts and fruit. The Hotel staff’s English comprehension was also very basic.

Overall, had a pleasant stay at Hotel Grand and it is recommended for a stay in Žilina if your expectations are managed! Its location is, however, great.

Room Tip: Staying on 3rd floor offers great views.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AndersW398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Hello, Dear Anders

Firstable, we would like to thank you that you stayed with us ! It was very nice to meet you. We wanna thank you for this long and objective review. We are glad that you write us what you like and what you did not like. It is opportunity for us to get better in some ways. But in general, we are glad that you liked our hotel and our hotel services.
We hope to see you soon sometimes :)
Best Regards
Dusan, manager Hotel Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel several times and have no complaints. Perfectly adequate rooms (we were upgraded free of charge on one occasion to a lovely room with a full view of the square and a Jacuzzi in the bathroom. It's not the Ritz, but doesn't pretend to be. Have stayed elsewhere in Žilina, but if a decent, reasonably priced hotel is what you need, then Grand should be your first choice!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Hello, Dear Chris

We would like to thank you that you often stay in Hotel Grand in Žilina. We really apprecciate your feedback and review. We are glad, that you like it here.
We are looking forward for your next visit. See you soon :)
Best Regards
Dusan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Hotel Grand is located in the heart of Zilina and on the main city square where many restaurants, cafes and shopping are located. The hotel has a spa area, good breakfast and a nice bar area. On-site parking and free hotel internet make it convenient.

Zilina is an older city that has a lot of history and many castles within a short drive. Many outdoor activities can be enjoyed in the surrounding mountains. Zilina also has a great nightlife and many Euro disco/clubs to enjoy. Plenty of good food, beer and many shopping locations. Take the airport in Zilina or the train to Vienna or Prague or a three hour drive to the Vienna airport.

Room Tip: Get the apartment or suite on the third floor for the largest room size and views.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Hello, dear Robert

We would like to thank you for your another visit in our hotel ! We are glad that you always stays with us ! Your feedback is really important for us, we apprecciate it. We are glad that you like our hotel services and also the whole area.
Once again thak you and see you soon ! It is always very nice to meet you :)
Best Regards
Dusan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We have stayed there several times. The reception staff is helpful and nice. The room we stayed in last September was not good. The refrigerator was on the floor. The television did not work properly. The ambiance of the hotel seemed quite "tired"... The included breakfast was downstairs in the hotel next door. We were disappointed and probably will find another hotel the next time we go. Sad about this because the location is perfect for getting around.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank czechchickfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Hello, dear guest,

We would like to thank you that you stayed with us again ! It was very nice to meet you again. Thank you for your review, it is really important for us so we can know what we can do better. We just changed some TVs right now, so this issue gets better. We served breakfast in totally new place from January. If you come again next time, we hope you will be more satisfied in some issues as we are always trying to improve our hotel services.
Once again thak you for you visit, and we hope to see you again sometimes :)
Best Regards
Dusan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Very good location, the main square is just around the corner.
The room are fine, the reception is a bit too small and there are too many stairs. Not exactly the best place for those who cannot move around easily.
Clean, quiet, good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Hello, Dear Antonio,

We would like to thank you that you stayed in our hotel. We hope you like our town and also our hotel. We would like to also thank you for your feedback, really apprecciate it.
We hope to see you again sometimes :)
Best Regards
Dusan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews