We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
28
80
63
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
80
63
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator shared bathroom noisy at night nice room good nights sleep excellent location tea coffee great place to stay noise centre ensuite
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2019

The location of this hotel is ideal. Very central and surrounded by restaurants, bars and coffee shops. The staff were friendly and tried their best but the hotel has many things wrong with it. Furniture is dated . It is located on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator. There is no option for breakfast and, as the hotel is located in a car free zone, the taxi will only drop you outside this zone. You then have to walk the cobbled streets with your bags, in the cold .
Other things lacking included a wardrobe that does not close, room not being serviced daily ( toiletries, towels and tea/coffee ), no information packet in room ( as in most other hotels ) .
Also it is not nice to have a Thai massage parlour on the 1st floor on the way up the stairs.
Receptionist was nice and allowed us to leave our bags with him on departure.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JACMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018

Official hotel website says that VAT and other taxes are included in the given price list.
We had four nights in room that costs 60 euros, but we were charged 265 euros !?
Rooms very clean,tidy and every day visited by charwoman.
Receptionists (many of them) were polite and helpful (boarding pass printing,hair dryer..)

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petrović T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018

We finally arrived to the reception after many stairs, poor light, the room was in the dark and there was someone sitting aside and smoking (perhaps a client). The room we booked didn’t look as on pictures, moreover dusty chandelier, broken shower, no wardrobe, old furniture, bed not comfortable and pillows too thin. Never again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndreaArcidiacona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jozef J, Manager at Old City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2018

Dear guest,

let us reply you to your not really objectively rating. You could read in advance about the stairs, we have it everywhere, that we are on the third floor without the lift. We do not book the reservations according to pictures, but we book the reservations regarding to the type of the room. We do not guarantee you will get the room which is on the picture. You got one of our superior rooms with undamaged antiquarian furniture, you have also possibility to put your clothes into commode which is in your room. You said your room is in the dark which also is not really true. In your room you have the window to the roof with the light from outside, and also from the other side where is the street, during the night, you can easily use the lights which are in the bathroom, in the room and also next to the stairs in your room. In our reception is allow to smoke, in the rooms not, so it is normal when the guest sits here and smoke, we have open our windows, so we are doing our best to remove this smoking odor as quick as possible, but we can not forbit our guests to smoke here because you are not for it. Regarding to other things: our mattraces are standard hotel mattraces, for somebody comfort, for somebody not, we can not suit to every guest request, unfortunatelly and this also applies to your pillows in the room. We also told you when you asked for extra more pillows that we are full at this moment but we will try to find them tomorrow. You do not have broken shower, but you had permitted screw what we repaired immediately next day after your checkin. You are still in our hotel at this moment, but you wrote here a feedback in advance. If you do not like this hotel and everything is bad as you wrote, you had also possibility to leave this hotel sooner, but you decided to stay.

Best regards,

reception OLD CITY HOTEL team,
Jozef Jalsovsky, manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Great place to stay, perfect for the city etc. Stairs a bit hard to cope with when alcohol has been consumed but that's not a problem and mostly amusing when watching friends try to get up them. At the end of the day, its a really old building.
Service was great, rooms were lovely and mine was huge, all 11 of us could have slept in there.
Anyway, had a great time there. Cheers.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

80 steps up from street to reception; two rooms on reception level with shared bath (toilet and sink in one area, shower with sink in another area). More en-suite rooms up a very steep staircase. Hold room with credit card; pay for room with cash during stay. 42 euros per night for one person including all taxes. Rooms on street can be noisy at night because of nightclub and street tables. Windows open, no AC, good fan. Good WiFi. Comfortable, clean, great location if you can handle the stairs and noise.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews