We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
67
113
50
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
113
50
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art nouveau reception staff perfect location the main street old style liberty style middle of town pushed together no air conditioning many choices comfortable rooms restaurants and bars parking garage worth a visit pedestrian area bigger room wonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The location is perfect, right in the city centre, the staff is friendly and polite. The only thing that bothered us was that the economy room is extremely hot. There's no air conditioning.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dalma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Just stayed here for four nights. The hotel is very well situated, right in the middle of Pecs & is a beautiful Art Nouveu building. The lobby, reception & restaurant are gorgeous & it's like stepping back in time. The rooms, however could do with a little TLC. While I certainly don't think they should be modernised because it would ruin the feel of the place, a lick of paint wouldn't hurt.
The Beds were pushed together to make a double, & kept moving apart, there was not much room to move around, lovely old fashioned lights, in keeping with the art nouveau decor, but the ones on the wall didn't work & were actually a bit dangerous because they had glass lampshades & were situated so that we kept banging our heads on them.
There were only two sachets of coffee each which weren't replaced because they didn't clean the room every day.
The shower had one if those old shower curtains that cling to you while you shower & although they provided shower gel in a dispenser, there weren't any of the nice touches that we've come to expect from hotels, even 3 star ones.
There's no iron in the room, you have to have the maid take you to a separate ironing room.
Breakfast was ok but the pastries were stale & the orange juice was just a watery squash. I cant comment on anything other than pastries, bread & eggs as I'm vegetarian & there wasn't a great selection for me, but the meats etc did look ok.
The staff were hit & miss; some were really friendly, some could have done with a course in smiling & attitude adjustment.
All in all, the hotel was ok. A great base for exploring pecs, which is absolutely beautiful & on the whole adequate but two many little niggles for me to give it 5 stars.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Great location, just off the main square with lots of restaurants.

We had a small room, with two small single beds pushed together, but the mattresses were comfortable. The room had a tube TV with one English speaking channel. The refrigerator worked well, but there was no safe.The windows were openable and the air conditioning worked adequately.

Room could use an up date, no decorations in the room, furniture was old.
The bathroom was good, it had a shower curtain so the floor does not flood.

The breakfast was good.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anett S, Director of Sales at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are sorry that you were not fully satisfied with our interior style. Next year our hotel will celebrate the 30th anniversary of its reopening and although we are continuously renovating it, there are still some parts which will come next on the list. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our renovated hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

The big plus is the art nouveau interiors and exterior - well worth seeing. Location on a pedestrianised street was a plus for us - right in the centre of town, great for wandering. Slept well, but the room was dark and old fashioned.
We were on a trip with a group, some of whom were very disappointed with rooms - I think it might have been more of an issue for us had we not been out most of the time.
Breakfast OK

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anett S, Director of Sales at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are sorry that you were not fully satisfied. Our house is more than 100 years old and next year we will celebrate the 30th anniversary of its reopening and although we are continuously renovating it, there are still some parts which will come next on the list.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you in our renovated hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

An old hotel that needs some clever refurbishing, but still very nice. We really enjoyed trekkers l there and Pecs is a nice city. In US the hotel would be called a historic hotel, but it is much better than most of the US historic hotels.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank IndiS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anett S, Director of Sales at Hotel Palatinus City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews