We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
4
2
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
2
2
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Good location - central, right next to bascillica and nice restaurant next door. Clean, small rooms with air con and basic bathroom. Rooms open onto outdoor terrace. Quiet and secure. Limited english spoken but staff helpful. Basic breakfast. 55 euros for a double.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheps79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The panzio had come highly recommended and we looked forward to our visit. We have traveled enough to know that there may be clitches in our best laid plans and we have always been able to work problems out. Upon arrival on a cold and rainy evening we found that our room was very cool, due to the fact that the town's central heating had been turned off for the season. When I asked the owner if we could use the supplemental heat from the AC unit he huffed begudgingly and said he would need to charge us extra for the electricity. We agreed. Later that evening the electricity went out in our room. Since it was raining heavily outside and we were falling asleep under our covers we let it ride, thinking power would come back on shortly. When we awoke the next morning the electricity was still out. We could see by the daylight and decided to take our showers. Upon turning on the water it was soon evident that shower stall was leaking onto the bathroom floor. We stopped and went down for breakfast. When we mentioned the problems to the owner, he became very angry and said he never had any problems with any of his rooms and that we must have done something wrong. I am willing to work with folks to resolve any complications that might arise, but I will not tolerate insulting treatment when we only wanted to notify him of the problems. We have had such minor problems on occasions and the other owners have always bent over backwards to make sure the situation was handled tp our satisfaction. We were not blaming anyone or anything for the problems, yet we were being insulted and blamed. I would not tolerate such treatment. We informed the owner that we would not be staying for the second night and left after paying. He refused to speak with us after that and had a young lady check us out. We enjoyed our visit to Esztergom with its lovely basilica, museums and good restaurants. We are teachers in Hungary and everyone has always been very kind and helpful. It is regrettable that the owner, of an otherwise nice establishment, chose to treat us in such a rude manner. We highly recommend visiting the town, but I can not recommend this panzio because of our treatment.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank besteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Fabulous location right at the foot of the hill where the cathedral is located. Very quiet, tucked away on a side street, but easy walking to the downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linseyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

The Ria Panzio is very well located. The owners are nice and friendly. The place is simple but immaculate and everything is well maintained. The room colors are relaxing pastel and the A/C is quiet. The prices are reasonable. There are good restaurants around, especially the Csulok Csarda next door.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SamburuChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2007

Traveling in the off season has advantages--like coming to town without a hotel reservation, picking a place to stay and showing up on their door step. We showed up on the door step of Ria Panzio and were so glad we did. It was such a charming place that I assume in the summer it would be very advisable to book ahead.

The owner was really friendly and gave us a book to read about Esztergom (Hungary's original capital so there's lots of history). He's clearly proud of his town.

The pension is located within very short walking distance of the town center, close to the Cathedral and not far from the river. Right next door is the restaurant Csulok Csárda (Pork Knuckle Inn) where you can get some serious Hungarian food.

The rooms were simple and clean--not especially spacious but very well set up. (And since we were coming from a week of hostel stays, the beds and bed linens felt absolutely luxurious.) And breakfast, included with the price of the room, was plentiful and tasty.

I can't remember exactly what the rooms cost since we paid in Hungarian Forints, but I think it was around 50 Euro a night for a twin room. Well worth it!

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank TheophaniaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews