We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best customer service of my life”
Review of Costes Downtown

Costes Downtown
Ranked #52 of 3,632 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Reviewed 11 June 2018

This review is for their weekend breakfast.
I was a guest at the Prestige hotel and my first morning eating there they noticed I had several food allergies. They asked if I would be returning the following day, and I said I would. That second morning they had specially prepared versions of the menu for me to eat-from fresh baked goods to crepes to smoothies. This went above and beyond my expectations and was an incredible treat!

    • Service
2  Thank dmm088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CostesDTManagement, Vezető at Costes Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Dmm088,

Thank you very much for taking your time on writing us a lovely feedback.
We are thrilled reading you were extremely satisfied with our restaurant. We always do our best to make our beloved guests happy, and satisfied, it is a wonderful feeling that we could do th ebest customer service of your life. It was our pleasure to host you, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Costes Downtown Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2018

In Budapest there is 1 restaurant with 2 Michelin stars and 3 with 1 star,  two of which are Costes. The first Michelin star in Budapest was awarded to the Costes, in 2008 under the leadership of Chef Miguel Rocha Vieira from Portugal. In 2015 a second gourmet restaurant appears as a more laid-back version of the first one, where you can even take your children. A year later it earned too a Michelin star, under the direction of Chef Tiago Sabarigo. It is situated on the territory of the impressive Prestige Hotel, which I would like to visit in one of my next trips to Hungary.

In short, the whole family fell in love with Costes Downtown  and more importantly, my kids (9 and 11y.o.) also liked the place very much , the food, and the staff attitude towards them was very good. So, visiting with children at a high-class gourmet restaurant is no longer mission impossible, thanks to such wonderful places as Costes Downtown, Budapest.
See ....

.... The first thing that impresses immediately is the smiling hostess at the entrance, which greets the guests and accommodates them. All staff are young people who do not behave pompous and stiff, but are friendly, yet attentive and very smiling;

.... As soon as you log in you see the exclusive vertical garden, however the look does not end on the wall but continues to the ceiling. All this gives such freshness and relaxation in the atmosphere that there is no way for a person to feel sintered, tense, anxious, as often happens in everyday life. Why is this so important, read below in this reveiw;

.... Then it becomes clear that the whole interior is subordinate to the idea of feeling at home- shelves with books, modern paintings, wooden panelling;

.... Open kitchen and right in front of it a large table, for all fans of the restaurant who want to be specially surprised by Chef Sabarigo;

.... I can't help but mention the great presentation on the plates and it should be like that in a restaurant of this caliber.

Felt ....

.... The restaurant has a sommelier, which specifically takes care to recommend the best wine as a combination for the selected dishes- admiration for this attention to this very important detail;

.... Friendly attitude and warmth in service – both by the waiters and the sommelier's side;

.... With the first compliment we were offered crunchy  wheat crackers- white and black, accompanied by a gentle aubergine mousse with red pepper. The sommelier offered us to combine this playful starter with unique bubble sensation- a sparkling Hungarian wine for parents, Kreinbacher Brut Rose 2015, made by traditional method, as in Champagne , homemade lemonade with bubbles for the children ;

.... Extremely lean, exactly on the standard prepared salmon, surrounded by crispy asparagus, crunchy pop- buckwheat and tender avocado mousse.

 Listen ....

.... Light Retro Jazz- piano, bass, drum, which did not dominate, but stood as a backdrop;

.... It was full of people for lunch, but there was no noise, because despite the high ceilings, the paneling and the greenery are breaking the sharp decibels- you can feel the happiness, freshness and pleasure of the visitors unobtrusively.

Smell ...

.... With the fresh homemade bread  came unique smelling goose butter with grilled onions, as well as chervil butter, i.e. butter with tarragon.

.... Hungarian wines have rich in complex aroma- the dry ones have predominantly mineral notes, probably coming from loess, volcanic and limestone soils and old vines, the sweet ones bring light aromas of rose and tropical fruits.

 Tasted ....

.... Sweet potato cream soup with chili and coconut, and pieces of tropical fruit- impressive in appearance and very delicious!;

.... Extremely interesting appetizer, slow cooked egg yolk on carbonara sauce, mushroom, crispy rye bread crumbs.  Extremely extraordinary carbonara, made of cream, parmigiano and egg whitw, covered with bacon of Mangalica (a local pig breed) on a very thin, transparent sheet, slightly treated thermally, so that it does not acquire a tinge!!! It's genius!;

.... In the desserts you will find wonderful textures- liquid chocolate and such of chocolate rasping, rhubarb, marinated in sugar, elder jelly, sorbet, and finally you have as a compliment handmade candies, served uniquely;

.... To desserts mandatory add sweet Hungarian wine Aszu or Szamorodni.
Read more details about Costes Downtown and watch a short movie on my blog placescases.com You can see also other reviews and ratings of interesting places in Bulgaria and the world.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PlacesCases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CostesDTManagement, Vezető at Costes Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear PlacesCases,

Thank you for your review on our restaurant and its services. We highly value the observations of our previous guests who take their time to share their experience with us on TripAdvisor.
It is promising to read your lovely words about the restaurant and the service you received. Thank you for complementing the taste and the variety of the foods. Our team are always doing their best to fulfill the expectations of the visitors . We couldn't be more happier about you stating us a good choice, the satisfaction of our guests is priority to us.
On behalf of our entire Costes Downtown, it was a pleasure to host you during your stay in Budapest and we hope to see you next time as well.

Warm regards,
Costes Downtown Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

As an 1 star Michelin restaurant you always go with high expectations and we must say that we were impressed with everything.

Lovely restaurant decor and comfortable.

We had the business lunch menu (3 course) and the flavours, textures, colours (and platting) were amazing.

The staff made us feel welcomed and took time to explain everything we needed.

It is always nice to be in a restaurant with an open kitchen - it really adds to the experience.

Thank you and congratulations (Obrigado e muitos parabens!) to the Head Chef and his team for this really special meal.

To tell the truth we loved it so much that we decided to book a table again while on our long weekend break to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

And it really was one of the highlights of our visit to Budapest!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CostesDTManagement, Vezető at Costes Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Nelson D,

For a start, allow us to express our most sincere gratitude to you for not regretting your time to write down and share your kind words with us on TripAdvisor. It is always great to receive such positive feedbacks like yours! We are absolutely pleased to read that you were satisfied with the food we served. Moreover, it is a great honour that you choose us for your very special day to celebrate your wedding anniversary .
Overall, we honestly hope that you had an amazing time and we are waiting you with warm welcome!

Warm regards,
Costes Downtown Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Sometimes I call and my call does not go through. When I do get through the dismissive and absolutely self absorbed phone operator tells me they have no tables available now and nearly forever. No reasonable person can book a table weeks ahead but even if Costes is so busy why have the attitude? I have been several times but I will never go back. Keep the inspired attitude problem but longevity in the restaurant business is built on return customers. The food and wine are expensive and very good, regrettably they lost me as a client.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank United100K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

We came to costes downtown for lunch and everything was absolutely amazing. We loved the chicken main course and the panna cotta in particular. Wonderful Michelle star lunch at an amazing price.

Thank yaeli91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CostesDTManagement, Vezető at Costes Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear yaeli91,

Thank you for sharing this amazing review on behalf of Costes Downtown team. Your feedback is a great support to the restaurant and it encourages the team to continue what has been achieved.
We are more than happy to hear that you had an excellent dining experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our specialties. We always strive for excellence and go above and beyond to ensure that our guests have an unforgettable experience with us. We couldn't be happier that you recommend Costes Downtown to others.

Once again, thank you very much for your high rating and for your beneficial feedback, we sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again here.

Warm regards,
Costes Downtown Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costes Downtown also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Costes Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing