We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, racist ”
Review of TG Italiano

TG Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
TG Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #455 of 3,690 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: US$ 29 - US$ 115
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Have you ever sat at a table in a restaurant for more than an hour with an empty table? Not even a glass of water was offered!!!
Well, that’s what happened to us at the restaurant.
The waiter from the first moment was rude, disrespectful, on a racist side even!
The food arrived finally after an hour, the pasta was cold already till it came. The food was very good but the service and the rude waiter left us with a very bad feeling.
Too bad cuz the food was actually delicious.

We got another glass of wine because of the delay with the food (thanks, very kind). But it wasn’t enough to improve our feelings of frustration and disappointment.

Thank Maya Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aron_Remenyik, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at TG Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Maya, We are terribly sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience at TomGeorge. We immediatley forwarded your review to our owners, who will take the necessary actions after looking into your case! Please, accept our apologies! Kind regards, the TG Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 1,874 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Managed to walk in luckily as hadn't booked. Great restaurant with great food.
Out on the main streets its very busy but staff cope very well. Well worth it

Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aron_Remenyik, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at TG Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Susan, Thank you very much! :) We are glad that you like our restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

In a very busy area of the city this large Italian restaurant is a must. Service was great, staff very attentive! Great atmosphere and of course the food was excellent. Not cheap but what restaurant is a capital city in Europe is... My wife and I had a fantastic meal here and highly recommend it for all. Couples or families it was just amazing :o)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aron_Remenyik, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at TG Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Dear Larry S, Thank you very much! :) We are glad that you like our restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

On top of delicious duck and super salty pizza we had a "lovely" waiter - Geczy Gabor -serving us food. Level of arrogance was about 12/10, mixed with very unprofessional behaviour. After being too lazy to receive payment in both cash and card, he proceeded with a question "where are you from?"..I assume after all recent world-wide anti racist promotions that was just the right question to ask.
Overall, that was the last thing you want to experience whilst being on holidays with your friends, so think twice before you go.

P.S. the pizza was actually salty.

1  Thank Vera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aron_Remenyik, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at TG Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Vera T, We are very sorry to hear that you had such and experience at our restaurant! We forwarded your review to our managers in order to improve our services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

I love the blend of Hungarian and Italian food. Looking in the window we knew we had to eat here. Looking at pictures, looks like a lot of celebrities and politicians made the same decision.
We started with bruschetta. The paprika was in the vinegrette I think. It had a nice spicy kick I am not used to. I had risotto with shrimp for my meal. Wine seems more appropriate with Italian. But I was happy to order kingswood cider.
Attentive staff.

1  Thank Ellis_NC_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aron_Remenyik, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at TG Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Ellis, Thank you very much for your review! We hope to see you again soon at TomGeorge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TG Italiano also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to TG Italiano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing