We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced and Terrible Service”
Review of TG Italiano

TG Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
TG Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #453 of 3,735 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: US$ 28 - US$ 114
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I should start by saying I've lived here for two years so my standards for service are actually very accommodating. I made a reservation here for a group of 12 people. Upon arrival we were moved three different times because the staff was unsure about which table was ours. This was only a minor inconvenience. Then we decided to order starters at which time we were informed that because we were such a large group we had "pre-ordered" starters already coming. Also...initially.. not a big deal except for the fact that in none of my e-mail correspondences with the restaurant was I informed of this. We decided not to fight it and received 4 or 5 massive plates of appetizers that were, not necessarily spectacular and we left one entire plate untouched as the portions were much larger then we would have ordered for our size group. The entrees were fine...again nothing spectacular. At the end we received our bill and saw that we had been charged over $100 for these pre-ordered appetizers that we didn't even want. I left the restaurant feeling cheated. This is incredibly sad because it is a beautiful place and is located in a very tourist-friendly area. One person in our party wrote the restaurant to discuss what had happened and received no reply. All in all the experience left us all feeling taken advantage of and really put a damper on our evening. It seems like there are a lot of positive reviews on here so I hope the rest of you have a better experience. Maybe just be careful with what they force you to buy.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RaRaTCU08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aron_Remenyik, PR at TG Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear RARA, We are sorry to see that you were not satisfied, however we are thankful for your thoughts, we will do our best to improve our services, please accept our apologies! Kind regards the TG Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 159 of 1,900 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Nice looking place, going in I expected high prices. Everything very high level, very ambient.
Waiters are a bit boring: not arround and slower as it should have been.
The food tok very long (noodles, noodles with dead food and a pizza), once it arrived, we knew why: freshly made, high quality. The seafood is a real recommendation! Lots of shells, some crustacean, very finom!!
A special goody ist the bathrooms.... Go there ;)

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank olafk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aron_Remenyik, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at TG Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Olaf K, Thank you very much for your review, we will do our best to improve our service! We hope to see you again soon at TomGeorge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Nice spot for a date night. Food is very good. Pizzas are nice. Very good looking restaurant inside with some flair. Close, one block off St Stephens square. Our second visit here in last two months. Lots of couples eating here in a Friday pm.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank mikefromus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aron_Remenyik, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at TG Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Mikefromus, Thank you very much for your review! We hope to see you again soon at TomGeorge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Saturday night and we manged to get a reservation through our hotel. The place was full and no wonder. Friendly service all the way, good food and everything worth your money.

Go check this out!

Timo and Tiina from Finland

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank TjaTL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aron_Remenyik, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at TG Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Dear T ja T L, Thank you very much for your review! We hope to see you again soon at TomGeorge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We got a nice welcome on arrival and our pick of vacant tables, place seemed quite busy but lots of staff on hand. We sat in covered/heated terrace.

We had two four cheese pizzas, which were lovely. They looked and tasted wood fired.

Unfortunately the service wasn't great and quite slow. Our waiter didn't smile once and was very 'cold'.

When we eventually got the bill the service charge had already been added, which was just as well for them as we wouldn't have left much of a tip.

Distinctly average overall.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank MaraudingJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aron_Remenyik, PR at TG Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Marauding, We are sorry to see that you were not satisfied, however we are thankful for your thoughts we forwarded them to our managers! Kind regards, the TG Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TG Italiano also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to TG Italiano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing