We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.More suited for low-cost long stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulevard City Guesthouse Budapest
Ranked #149 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2014

The accommodation is low-budget as far as facilities and interior is concerned, certainly not worth the price of 70 euros per night that we paid. Maybe if we had booked direct the price would be lower and that the travel agent we used made a very cosy profit. If we had known there was a mercure hotel nearby we would certainly have booked there. We dont usually book through a travel agent, and this is a typical example of why nowadays it is best to book your hotels yourself.The area and the accommodation was a big disappointment, one can certainly say the rooms at boulevard city are overpriced, considering it is not a regular hotel. When passing through France, we sometimes stay overnight at the very low-cost B&B hotels in france and compared to BCG those B&B hotels are luxury hotels!!! We knew BCG also had apartments, but we thought it was a combination of a small hotel with apartments adjoining. however, the 'hotel' part are located in the same building as the apartments, only on the top floor and our room was small. Also, there is not a daily receptionist at hand because the reception area closes at 1 p.m. The receptionist who checked us in though was very helpful and friendly, but she left soon after we checked in. The smells of the kebab shop underneath wafted into our room - we like to open our windows even when cold, if only for 30 minutes if very cold, but this was not an option unless you did not mind the smell of old cooking oil or something similar.
Beds were not very comfortable. Shower Room small, though clean. Room less so, dust under beds. Breakfast is very basic and poor considering the price per night. Not near the city centre but not too far away either.The area is not too bad, but there is not much choice of restaurants nearby. However, public transport is close by or if you prefer, call a taxi. The taxi is not expensive and they usually arrive within 15 minutes. Close to the river and ideal for a brisk walk in the morning or a leisurely stroll at night along the river bank.
Despite all the above, we would recommend this accommodation for [young] people travelling on a tight budget and wanting to stay a bit longer than one week. If you like your comfort and a good breakfast, you should try somewhere else.
We would not recommend this guesthouse for people who like their comfort and convenience and willing to pay a reasonable price for that. At Boulevard City there is not much of either. The best thing about this place was the receptionist, who unfortunately is only on site in the morning as far as we could see.I think the mistake is with our travel agent who probably knowingly booked us here instead of a hotel, but charged us hotel rates nevertheless. So we cannot really blame BCG, but it is best that if you are looking for a reasonable hotel that you know this is not the place to be.

Room Tip: The rooms on top have good wifi, because that is where the reception is. apartments lower down might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank grebnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulevard P, Vezető at Boulevard City Guesthouse Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your detailed review. I am very sorry for your disappointment which may have been caused by misunderstandings. As a guesthouse we do not have an influence on the prices which are offered by the travel agencies, but certainly we agree that charging a hotel price for a guesthouse may cause some misunderstandings if the clients are orienting themselves according to the price.

Your review helped me a lot to make improving actions to provide a higher quality of services.

The cleanliness of our room is one of our biggest value, so it can not be allowed to have dust under the bad. We have contacted the kebab shop's owner regarding the smell as well.

Thank you again for your review. We wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2014

First night we were in a room on the main road side, we asked to move as it was noisy and Eva was happy to move us to a to a quiet room with a balcony overlooking a garden at no extra charge. The apartment was very clean with good kitchen facilities.
Area is safe, near public transport and close to the danube river.
Only improvement is that the WIFI didn't work on our floor, but Eva gave us unlimited access to reception area were there was good wifi.
Eva and her staff were helpful, friendly and efficient, responding quickly to every need. Highly recommend this welcoming home from home in Budapest.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadav b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a cheap stay in Budapest with a good location traffic wise (tram 4-6 goes all night and stops close to the hotel) , this is a perfect option for you. I paid 30 euros for 2 person for a night, and got a nice and neat room to stay in with a totally equipped private kitchen and bathroom. The staff was friendly and flexible. I can only recommend it.

1  Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here 6 nights. For 2 people we got a 5 person apartament. The service was nice and helpful,we got a map they also had cheep postcards;) 0.25 eurocents per card, when in budpaest markets they cost even 2 euro. There was one big minus the old trams that rode there were very creaky from about 4 o'clock. There is a store SPAR, some discount store when you can buy stuff cheeper, and a bakery. Also some pizza and kebab bar. The metro,tram and bus lines weren't far. And also not far to the Dunaj lake. The stay was good, but not recommended for people who like to sleep long;)

Room Tip: We lived on the forth floor but I think the higher the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank natalia_laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 6 days in June 2014. We arrived at the hotel around midnight, when the reception was closed. The entry procedure was a bit complex, particularly as we were suffering from jet lag. Locking the room door was another interesting experience—in both cases we called up the reception and was advised immediately.
The rooms are neat and clean. We had a very nice sleep in the comfortable beds. The bathroom is also very good. The only problem was that the window shade did not close completely.
The kitchen cutlery was limited and may be increased to provide incentives for their use.
The breakfast menu is also rather limited and repeated. But the room is very nicely decorated.
However, the location is excellent. The metro line is 300 meters; the tram stop for Tram 2 (which takes you along the Danube) is 4 minutes walking; tram stops for 4/6 (taking you to Octagon, Andrassy Ut) is 2 minutes. There are ATMS, supermarkets and exchange centers nearby.
The staff is very helpful and co-operative.
Overall, a very good experience and we would recommend this place to any Budapest visitor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZHusain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Rila Hotel
#240 of 336 in Budapest
94 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#97 of 336 in Budapest
208 reviews
Hotel Thomas
#226 of 336 in Budapest
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chesscom
#105 of 336 in Budapest
392 reviews
Zugló
Passzio Pension
Passzio Pension
#203 of 336 in Budapest
12 reviews
Villa Korall
#139 of 336 in Budapest
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard City Guesthouse Budapest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard City Guesthouse Budapest

Address: Angyal utca 13., Budapest 1094, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: ₹ 1,658 - ₹ 3,827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulevard City Guesthouse Budapest 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boulevard City Guesthouse is located in a multifloors building in Budapest offering overnight with breakfast and apartments. Comfortable double-rooms and apartments in country house style equipped with showers, TV, fridge are situated on the upper floors of the building. The apartments provide enough space for 2-6 people and amenities for self-catering. In the Boulevard City Guesthouse breakfast can be booked. In summer our terrace is a nice place for having a calm and relaxed breakfast. The Boulevard City is quietly but centrally located in Budapest, 5 walking minutes from the Danube's bank on Pest side and from the Big Ring Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Boulevard City Guesthouse Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard City Guesthouse And Apartments
Boulevard City Guesthouse & Apartments Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing