We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
4
14
17
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
14
17
14
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I recently stayed in a single for 5 nights, using the hotel basically as a place to sleep, while spending my days with relatives and visiting Budapest.

The three most important things to note right away: the room air conditioner worked very well, keeping the room quite cool at night; the room was squeaky clean; and it was quiet.

The single room is small, though mine had two beds. But for 50$ a night, it is unreasonable to ask for anything more. The bathroom was large and well lit. If you need a slightly larger room, splurge for 70$ a night.

The staff are friendly. The cleaning lady was friendly. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day. As I tell everyone who travels to Hungary, learn and use a few basic phrases: learn to say good morning, good day and thank you. It is always appreciated. A little tipping always goes a long way in Hungary too.

The neighborhood is quiet, and the part of town the hotel is located in is quite safe. It is an easy 20-30 minute bus ride to downtown. Some buses are air-conditioned in Budapest, some not.

The beds come with a heavy blanket and an uncomfortable pillow. Ask the house keeper for a light top-sheet for summer sleeping. The breakfast is sort of disappointing, but so what; you'll never starve in Budapest, and quick breakfast opportunities abound in Bosnyak Ter (Bosnyak Square), a 5 minute walk away.

The decor of the hotel is old and cheesy, probably not renovated in 40 years. But it is clean. The bathtubs have traditional European hand-held shower heads, with no curtain. It's no big deal. They are generous with toilet paper, which I don't always see in equivalent Western European hotels, example Scotland and Austria.

My rating of "4" is in the context of what I would expect for 50$ a night: a quiet, cool, comfortable good night's sleep.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank PAL1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week in Budapest. Staying at the Hotel Lucky, on the trolley bus connection to metro line at ferenz stadium. So out of the town, but good transport links. Wonderful flea market on a saturday morning.
Hotel itself is I believe only 20 years old, but you would think it was 200 years old, it is not by any means luxurious. But cosey and you instantly felt as if you were staying in maybe your Grans house. The staff were absoloutly brilliant. So where the decor lacked, the staff made every effort to make your stay in Hungary a pleasant one. Would definitely return to this hotel, purely down to the friendliness and warmth of the staff there.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fl0rence67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I visited the hotel a few days ago and I have to stay I didn't have any major problems with it. The room was small but clean, the bathroom was spacious and clean. The furnishing isn't very modern, but it really didn't bother me.The TVs are old, but since I didn't go to Budapest to watch TV, it really didn't bother me either. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and even funny, especially the receptionist (it's worth the visit just to meet this guy). The cleaning lady came into our room once while we were sleeping but apologized immediately and apologized more than 10 times after. They even let me use the WiFi free of charge. It is quite far from the city center, but you can reach it easily from the hotel. All in all I think it is good option for a reasonable price.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Trip was for 3 days 15-18 September 2012. Hotel is in a badly lit residential area with no other hotels or bars in the vicinity. Trip into the city takes 15 minutes by trolleybus,then transfer to underground for 3 or 4 stop around 5-10 minutes extra, trip is longer if the transport isn't immediately waiting for you, out travel time averaged 35 minutes. Facilities offered according to the Internet--hairdryer,tea/coffee making-none,asked for these & none available. Restaurant-no menu at all, no choice,a plate of varying food was brought.
Decor leaves a lot to be desired. As for cleanliness, Health & Safety would shut it down. Bathroom toilet seat was a different colour to the pan, which had not been cleaned properly,to the extent that there was a black ring round the water line. The can of air freshener I took came in handy at night to mask the drainage smell which came from the bathroom drains. As for the toilets in the restaurant, these were not fit for using, they had not been cleaned for many a month, the dust in the dining room was so bad there was writing in it, which wasn't moved whilst we were there.In short, this was a poor standard hotel which I would not recommend to anyone. The standard reminded me of hotels 30 years ago.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidwells07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Its a OK hotel, stayed for 3 nights, breakfast served between 7am to 10am which is a selection of European meats and cheese's.

The bedroom was ok, only allowed to turn the air conditioning during the Summer months despite having warm nights so kept my window (that lead on to a small terrace) open, but it is a quite area.

Good access to the centre of Budapest via the 82 and 77 bus link to the M2 metro line.

Was allowed to use their PC to check my mail and Facebook!

Room tip: If you are coming to and from the centre via the Metro, the last metro back to the hotel is at 11.33pm, after that time, you need to get a taxi!
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamestcc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews