We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was intentionally short-changed, amenities didn't work”
Review of City Hotel Unio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel Unio
Ranked #207 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I was intentionally short-changed, amenities didn't work”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel has a nice restaurant in the lobby that provides ample and delicious meals (but look out--you may be the only one dining there at any time). However, when I paid for my meal, I was short-changed in the change that the old man tending the place gave back to me when I paid. It was the equivalent of 10 euros (in forints). Now, I don't speak Hungarian and the old man (waiter?) didn't speak English (as is very common in Hungary). But when I realized the error in change and produced it to show him, he had a look of recognition on his face and walked off to retrieve the missing change. He then gave me EXACTLY how much was missing from the first time he gave me my change back. I wondered how he knew, without me communicating to him, how much change was missing. I realized that it was because he did it intentionally. It was early January, there weren't a lot of people in the hotel, I figured business was slow, so maybe that's why he tried. However, if you stay here, beware.

Also, the advertised internet didn't work anywhere except the lobby on the hotel's computer. And the bed in my room was AWFULLY uncomfortable. Thin mattress with bed springs sticking in my back. I have stayed at nice, cheap places in Budapest. This place is neither nice or cheap, nor honest!

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rpancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    113
    101
    52
    36
See reviews for
60
123
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I am a frequent visitor to Budapest, and usually stay at one of the hotels near Blaha Lujza ter. This time, I saw Unio on one of the online booking sites - the price was excellent so I tried it. I think I may go back to Blaha Lujza ter next time.

For me, the most important shortcoming was the lack of a reliable internet connection in my room. The internet service is free and supposedly available in the rooms. When I asked at the front desk why it was not working in my room, I was advised to access the internet from the hotel lobby. From there, it worked fine, but that is really not acceptable in my opinion.

Having said that, if reliable internet is not an important requirement, then the Unio is a pleasant hotel.

The hotel is in a good location - one block from the main boulevard. The address is Dob Street, but the entrance is around the corner on Harsfa St. This location is about midway between stops on the 4/6 tram line. There is a grocery store and post office across the street, and the main boulevard has a wide selection of restaurants and many kinds of stores. The location is generally quiet.

The room was big, with high ceilings. Furnishings were so-so. I booked a twin room with single occupancy, so I had two small single beds. There was no other writing desk or real chair in the room. The mattresses were not very comfortable, although the pillows were very nice. Lighting was adequate.

I had the air conditioning running, but it didn't seem to do very much (except make a fan noise). Perhaps it was cooling a bit, but it never made a dramatic change in the temperature of the room. The shower was a small "cubicle" style shower common in Europe. The fixture to adjust the water volume and temperature was about waist-high, so several times when I turned around, I bumped the control and changed the water temperature quite dramatically. The shower pressure was fine, and the hot water was plentiful.

Breakfast was included in the very reasonable room rate, and was generous.

To summarize, the lack of reliable internet makes it impossible for me to recommend Hotel Unio. But if internet is not important, this is a good base in Budapest to be located in a very central location at a very good price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

A friend and I spent 3 nights at the end of March, it's in a great location, with excellent links to Metro, tram and buses. We walked to most places and it was easy to do, although a little tiring. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious, there is plenty of storage space and the bathrooms are also big. The staff in the Hotel are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is typically continental, but there is something for everyone, fruit, cereals, breads, cheese, ham, hot sausages, eggs. Tea and coffee. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloníki, Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was quite big and very clean. The location was perfect and it was very easy to go all around the city.
The next time we will choose the same hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 7 nights in the middle of March. It is in a good location, just off the Grand Boulevard and a few minutes from the Octagon. The hotel is quiet with spacious rooms and good sized and clean bathrooms. Breakfast is not too bad and I reckon they also serve some of the left overs from the previous nights dinner. However, the hotel is excellent value for someone on a budget. Staff were pleasent.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#209 of 334 in Budapest
656 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 334 in Budapest
479 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#124 of 334 in Budapest
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel
#247 of 334 in Budapest
214 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#130 of 334 in Budapest
343 reviews
Hotel Thomas
#222 of 334 in Budapest
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Unio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Unio

Property: City Hotel Unio
Address: Dob utca 73., Budapest 1077, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,568 - ₹ 34,279
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Unio 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel Unio*** superior enjoys a magical location in the centre of Budapest about one minute from the Grteat Boulevard. The hotel has 52 large, comfortable rooms with equipment and furniture exeeding the level of three-star hotels.Thought the rooms' furniture with its classical style recall the past, all the comfort of the modern world can be found here. All the rooms are equipped with privat bath. We offer our special rooms with parquet for allergic guests. In the restaurant of our hotel we offer you a rich buffet table both for lunch and dinner. Try our "all you can eat" possibilities at a reasonable, limited price.Our Dinana rooms and the function rooms are excellent for holdong family-or business meetings, conferences and trainings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your City Hotel Unio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unio Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing