We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free parking, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rila Hotel
Ranked #258 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Szeged, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Free parking, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

I spent one night with a colleague in the hotel travelling to a conference. The room was fresh painted and the staff was really helpful. They have a safe parking lot in the hotel's backyard ( free for the guests ).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berta78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    31
    15
    13
See reviews for
17
14
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

We arrived by plane, and arranged a pick up with the hotel (~20,-EUR) so a nice guy was waiting for us at the airport. The whole staff was very helpful, although the exterior of the hotel building is a bit old, the rooms are not so bad. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salvatore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

We were looking for a cheap hotel with a good location. The underground was ca. 6 min., so not as bad and we got into town within 20 min.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We bought our spa ticket with a massage at the reception, they arranged us everything...
I may return with my boyfreind next year.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan147186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

I stayed in the hotel with a friend and we were both quite let down. What the website neglected to mention was that the hotel is about a 45 minute walk from the city centre - and it was only on the second day that we discovered there was an underground station to the centre about ten minutes walk in the opposite direction.

The hotel itself is small and understated, and though we booked well in advance, we were left with a "box room". On top of this, despite booking a Twin Room, we were placed in a room with a double bed and single blankets. The bed took up a good deal of the space in the room and the ensuite seemed bigger than the room itself. The sink did not come with a plug and when we enquired where the hairdryer was, the unhelpful (and often miserable) hotel staff informed us that it was "in a guest's room". We had one hairdryer to share with the rest of the hotel.

Room service came and emptied the bathroom bin every day, but the bedsheets were only changed every third day. The buffet breakfast consisted of one big bowl of cornflakes, a vat of coffee, some yoghurt pots and some bread with sliced meat.

Overall we found that while it was hilarious, and we became fond of the little box room, the money that we saved on accomodation was later spent on transport to the city and getting breakfast away from the hotel. I would reccomend that anyone wanting to stay here should just opt to stay in the city centre instead as the costs will even out eventually!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartynG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

S J Campos
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

I almost visited all parts of the world, but I never see a breakfast as poor and bad as the breeakfast of Rila Hotel. With the rate of the room, Rila Hotel could offer something better. And the bed linen are handled without protection. The laundry company was bringing the bed linen and towels without packaging and they put them on the sofa at the reception.

Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kim051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#224 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Oswaldo
Hotel Oswaldo
#198 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Chesscom
Hotel Chesscom
#98 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Villa Korall
Villa Korall
#138 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.5 km away
Jade House
Jade House
#253 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
4.7 km away
Aventura Boutique Hostel
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#110 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rila Hotel

Property: Rila Hotel
Address: Feher Hollo utca 2, Budapest 1097, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,637 - ₹ 3,143
Hotel Class:2 star — Rila Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rila Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing