We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we were still there.”
Review of Hotel Abel Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abel Pension
Ranked #30 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The staff, the stay, the standards, and the setting at Abel Panzio made our trip to Budapest wonderful. The owner and his staff were extremely accommodating with polite service, friendliness and attention to helping us get around Budapest. For example, when leaving we had a early flight and they packed a hearty breakfast to take with us. Our private room was large and very clean. The main room for relaxing, reading, and having breakfast comfortable, cozy and old world classy. It was a great way to connect with fellow travelers for food and conversation. The tram with quick connection to the Metro was very convenient. The neighborhood was a quiet relief to the hustle of the city. A nearby, small restaurant was quite affordable, delicious and enjoyable. Overall, Abel Panzio was a perfect match of value and comfort. Scott and Sylvia/ USA

Room Tip: The first floor room with the three large windows to the street with a high ceiling was very spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

we spent 4 or 5 days in a double room with private bathroom, I can only say good things about this place, people in charge was very friendly and of great help. They not only made us feel at home for those days but they provided a lot of info regarding the places we wanted to visit.
Their location is not in downtown but in a quiet lovely place two blocks away from the bus. There was also a trolley very near, actually at the end of the block, that took us to the castle. Great place for the value, clean and safety.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cecilia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed in this wonderful pension in January 2012 for 7 nights. It was exactly what I was looking for: conveniently located (a 15-minute walk to Gellert Hill or a short tram ride), friendly, quiet and clean. But it was also more than that - a beautifully converted villa with the most kind and lovely owner and helpful staff, interesting guests, a lovely welcoming atmosphere, Hungarian art on the walls. I stayed in a double room (with en suite) which had lovely beams, plants and sky-lights and a huge desk (as a writer, this was beyond perfect). I felt more like I was staying with friends or family than in an anonymous hotel. Next time I'm in Budapest I will make sure I am staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSazG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This lovely, quiet, private pension, located on the Buda side, will continue to be our location of choice as we return to Budapest in the future. If you're flying in it's about a 22 Euro ride from the airport, but make sure you take a taxi from the taxi stand and not one of the local "cabbies" waiting outside the baggage claim. The "innkeeper" is a very charming man and makes his guests feel genuinely at home. Breakfasts were genuinely continental with plenty of fresh break, cold cuts, juices. Our room with its own bathroom overlooked a very nice backyard for quiet time when you want to have some quiet time from the busy city. It's a nice walk to Móricz Zsigmond square where you can ride bus 7E(express) quickly to the Pest side of the Danube. The square is also where you can catch the Metro to other parts of the city.
So if you're looking for a home away from home enjoy Abel Panzio and ask for a "room with a view."

Dave and Bonnie
USA

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My wife and I got a double room and mother-in-law got a single room for two nights. The neighborhood was nice if a little out of the way and was easy to find. The house itself was very nice and the fridge was stocked with beer, wine, and drinks. While the rooms were spacious and clean they had a little bit of a run down feeling to them. The bed was lumpy, the shower head wouldn't attach to the wall, and the shower curtain kept falling off of the rings. The staff was not helpful with recommending restaurants or shows, and they kicked us off the breakfast table 10 minutes before the breakfast was supposed to end so they could begin cleaning. It interrupted a nice conversation we were having with some of the other guests. The next time I am in Budapest I am going to look for something that is a little bit more guest oriented.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivtheforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Kalvin House
#113 of 334 in Budapest
439 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#45 of 334 in Budapest
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Centrooms House
Centrooms House
#34 of 191 in Budapest
294 reviews
District V / Inner City
Parliament Penthouse Budapest B&B
Apartment Buda Budapest
#278 of 670 in Budapest
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abel Pension? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abel Pension

Address: Abel Jeno utca 9, Budapest 1113, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: ₹ 2,915 - ₹ 5,370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abel Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abel Pension is a restored family villa from 1913 with its original antique furniture and style in the quiet, green area of Budapest, with old trees on the streets. The city center can be reached by tram in 10 mins. or even by walking. The terrace and the garden make this place very relaxing. Air-condition and free internet are available in every room. From western direction we can be reached in 5 mins drive from highway M1 and M7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Abel Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing