We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay - nice hotel and staff”
Review of Star City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Star City Hotel
Ranked #130 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 5 March 2011

It's cheap to book and true enough you don't get any frills, but then you have not paid for them!!
We stayed here for a stag weekend, the staff are great, fantastic English, rooms are basic but comfortable and clean with everything you need. The htel bar although basic is open 24 hours and is cheap as is the mini bar in the room.
Breakfast is not great but you will find something you like, not sure what some of the meat was, but hey!!
It is in a residential area, which is safe to walk around in at night. We were unable to negotiate the trains, so just got taxi's!! Cheap enough between a few of you, It's way to far to bother walking to where the action is and the danube etc.
It wa a good base for us and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Star City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2010

Excellent value hotel. Although 40 mins walk to river (im a fast walker)! Tube station close by

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birmingham_Villa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

If you check all my reviews I dont ever moan, but this time im going to....

We got the taxi here, although two mins away from Killeti Station it is miles from walking into town.

When we got up to the room, although the staff cant really be faulted I got really upset.

Our room was on the road front, the carpet was minging, honest it had marks all over it and although the room was clean it still looked dirty because of this, it had dirty marks all over it. We went to Krakow and Warsaw before Budapest and for the price it was awful.

The bathroom had been cleaned with some kind of disinfectant which made my eyes water. Not only that the smell lasted for a good 2 days. The actual room was bare and basic and not cosy. They say that your hotel is just your base but it isnt, it makes a hell of a difference.

The mii bar broke after a day and there was loads of out of date stuff in it. It didnt get fixed despite numerous conversations with reception staff.

The actual hotel was cold, tatty, dated and bare...the breakfast was actually nice though and we stuck it out for the duration and didnt go elsewhere.

Our beds and pillows were not comfy at all and although we stuck it out and still had a good time sightseeing I dont advise you to stay here. I am not a snob nor a moaner but it just wasnt good at all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leahlufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarHotelManager, Manager at Star City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2010

Thank you for sending us your comments on your stay in our Star City Hotel.
We strive to provide superior service experience for all of our guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
I have learned with great sadness that you left the hotel with bad feelings.
Please accept my apologies for all the inconvenience experienced during your recent visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

What we wanted was somewhere clean, safe and friendly to sleep whilst we were in Budapest. This hotel did all of those things well. The area is residential so is quiet and this is helped by the courtyard arrangement of the hotel. the room was a good size and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful with a good standard of English (way better than my Hungarian). Initially we did struggle slightly to find somewhere to eat but if you head away from town to Hero's Square there are several good places (Not very Hungarian but we liked the Nine Dragons). The included breakfast at the hotel may have been basic but was more than adequate the food was fresh, tasty and kept well supplied. I read other reviews before going and appreciate that not everyone was happy with the location, but we liked Hero Square and used the hop on hop off tourist bus which runs quite close to the hotel so yes it might be nice to be closer to the Danube, but I preferred the quieter residential area and appreciated the better value. The highlight of the trip for me was the Citadel/Gellerts Hill which was great for photography.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smitmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

The Star City is one of the best options in Budapest if you are on a budget but at the same time don't want to stay in a dump! It's within walking distance of Keleti station, so it's not right in the centre of town so this is why the price is reasonable. However if you don't mind a metro or bus ride into the centre then it's no problem. The rooms are nicely furnished in a contemporary style and best thing of all is that the wi-fi actually works! We had a full signal in our room. Breakfast buffet ok but nothing special although there was plenty available.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#126 of 333 in Budapest
546 reviews
Atlas City Hotel
#243 of 333 in Budapest
545 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#161 of 333 in Budapest
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Inn
#88 of 333 in Budapest
494 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#212 of 333 in Budapest
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star City Hotel

Address: Istvan utca 14, Budapest 1078, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: ₹ 3,032 - ₹ 7,611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Star City Hotel (member of Mellow Mood Hotels) is located in Budapest city centre on the Pest side of Budapest 10 - minute walk from Keleti Palyaudvar, international railway station(500 m) and Metro station (Red Metro line 2) - which gives easy access to all parts of Budapest. Star City Hotel has 48 well-equipped,comfortable and relaxing rooms all of which feature FREE Wireless Internet access. In the hotel's open-plan lobby you can relax after a busy day, enjoying Hungary's famous spirits and international drinks as well. Room types include singles, doubles (with double or twin beds), triples and four-bedded family rooms. The adjoining rooms have a connecting door, a useful feature for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Star City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing