We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay on the 5th floor!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baross City Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Baross City Hotel
Ranked #143 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't stay on the 5th floor!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights and we did not enjoy our stay. The double room we had smelt like stale sweat, not a massive problem after we aired it out... But the biggest issue we had was with noise. We were on the 5th floor right by reception and honestly the paper thin walls meant we heard everything happening in reception all night. It's a 24 hour reception and people are moving through there at all hours, we could even hear every time the lift arrived on the 5th floor. Another girl we were travelling with was also staying on the 5th floor and had the same problems. To top it off we could hear the guy in the room beside us watching porn all night.

Location is also not fantastic, it's a half hour walk to town and main sights, although right by a metro station.

Breakfast is good in that it's included but some of the hot plates looked like they had been sitting there for hours by the time we got to breakfast at 10am.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samchelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    194
    132
    50
    30
See reviews for
74
168
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Excellent value base giving easy access to all of Budapest. We combined a Jet2 seat sale from Leeds with a discount on Hotels.com and Resort Hoppa to produce the perfect low cost 4 day City Break.
On arrival we were offered a smelly room on the 5th floor which we declined. The helpful receptionist then gave us the keys to a 3rd floor apartment which was spacious and had a fully equipped kitchen, tv in the bedroom and living room and a large fridge freezer! Breakfast was a bit hit and miss - usual continental fare with cheese/meats/cereal and pastries + scrambled egg and budget hot dogs.
The hotel is directly opposite Keleti Palyaudvar station, which is a fantastic structure built in 1881. More importantly, you can buy a Travel Ticket at the Metro station here which gives you 72 hours access to all of the public transport - we mainly used the M2 Metro which covered most of the places we wanted to go in Budapest. Trains are about every 4 minutes and you can travel anywhere in just a few minutes - just flash the pass at the train inspectors as you go down the underground. Bargain at about £20. Used trams to connect to a few places in Buda but usually found the buses to be heaving so we avoided.
Hotel area is a bit seedy - the whole of the railway frontage is undergoing renovation. There are some nice bars and restaurants nearby though - about 3 doors down from the hotel there is a sports bar which sells perfect Dreher chilled beer (it's famous) for less than a pound a pint. A bit further on we found the Hussar restaurant which produced brilliant Hungarian food at bargain prices - the head waiter speaks perfect English and recommends whatever is on special offer, but they have a have a large a la carte menu. One of the more famous restaurants (Carmel - Hungarian Jewish) was nothing like as good ie overpriced. It was supposed to be non Kosher but we were told we couldn't have smoked goose because the Rabbi wouldn't bless it and the goulash soup was thin and watery.
One restaurant I would heartily recommend is the Alfoldi Etterem which was superb. The goulash soup was delicious - a meal in itself and you get these fresh scone like things to go with it as well as superb bread. We had trouble polishing off the main course after the starter and couldn't manage one of the superb sweets on offer. It was very cheap as well! If it's full when you get there you can find a number of reasonably priced restaurants nearby.
One thing I will mention is the Budapest Miasma - we first smelled it in the declined room at the hotel and then at several points while touring the city. Somebody needs to look at the drains!
The hotel is very popular with youth groups so could be a bit noisy at night.
A shopping must is the central market (near the river) which has a selection of delicious sausages and cheeses and lots of little cafes upstairs serving Hungarian specialties. We will have to go back as lots of things we didn't have time to see. We actually came back with lots of spending money which is unusual.
Met 2 women at the airport on the way back who had stayed at the same hotel and walked everywhere. It took about 45 minutes to walk into the centre so you would have to be very fit and get up early!

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor if possible - sniff the bathroom before accepting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PGTipsWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

But I agree with other TA members about the better rating. Besides the great proximity to the train station, the other big attraction was price. The photos and reviews from prior guests made us believe this hotel was too good a value to pass up (thank you to those who posted before me!)

So we booked for three nights in early April. I am glad we did.

First, the cons. The view - there is no view, except to a courtyard that is nondescript. The entry - the whole block is under construction, so as soon as you walk out of the hotel you are faced with temporary wooden walls about eight feet high. The neighborhood - not the best neighbors, but certainly safe enough for my ten year old daughter and I to walk back to the hotel after a busy tourist night downtown. The proximity to tourist sites - Budapest tourist sites are mostly near the river, and this hotel is about a half hour walk from the river. Check in is on the fifth floor of the building.

The pros. The walk to the river is enjoyable, with a lot of nice architecture and nice shops from time to time. The value - at under $50 a night, the value is a screaming buy. Rooms - good size, very clean bathrooms, and the shower had the best water pressure of the six hotels we stayed at on this vacation (including a few more than triple the price). Free breakfast - better than average, especially the meats and cheeses. Service - friendly and helpful, consistently with all staff. The building - nice architecture. The location - for Keleti train arrivals or departures, you cannot get a better location. Also just one block to stop number seven on the HOHO bus. Sleeping - comfortable beds (nothing special), quiet location at night with windows open, nice natural room temp in early April (we did not use heat or AC).

I wanted to give this hotel a four and a half because I prefer to save fives for "spectacular hotels", but considering the complete package, especially location and value, I had to nudge it to five for the price alone. I wonder if the incredibly low price was due to the construction outside - by the way, we never heard or saw any construction noise, just the barriers.

For $50/night, two-bed-room, I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Given the bargain price I expected this maybe not to be the best. We were visiting Budapest more for business than pleasure and didn’t intend to spend much time in the hotel so thought we would see what we could find at the budget end. I was really surprised by how nice this place is. Clean, big rooms with a nice comfortable bed and a pretty good breakfast. I should imagine it could be noisy as we could occasionally very clearly hear other people talking from our room. That said, there weren’t any noisy people around when we wanted to sleep. The staff were every bit as polite and helpful as in much more expensive hotels. If you’re not looking for luxury but a perfectly nice place to spend the night this is a great deal. Oh, and an excellent location for the main Keleti railway station.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

When I was looking for a hotel to book in Budapest, this ones name suddenly popped up in front of me with a special offer. A room for 4 people for only 39 euros a night. Without thinking twice, I jumped and booked the room for two nights.

Cons:
1) If you are one who likes a nice scene outside your window, this is not the place for you.
2) Initially when entering the hotel, from a door located within what can only be described as a market, you get this uneasy destitute feeling that makes you hold onto your knife a little tighter. (feeling gets dispensed as soon as you enter)

Pros:
1) The foremost quality has to be the service. The staff at the reception is undoubtedly the friendliest, most helpful staff I have ever come across. From helping us with print outs, to taking out maps and marking out exactly where we should go and how.
ex - I asked the reception for help with a ticket to Vienna. They went out of their way to help me and even went onto various web sites to find the best offer available to us.
The girl at the reception was the winner amongst the winners (if such a thing is even possible). Extremely friendly, extremely helpful.
2) Location: situated a stones throw away from the Keletsi Rail Station. On the main road which has all the metro stations on the Blue Line (I think). Within walking distance from the city centre.
3) 4 people slept in a room comfortable. Room was massive.
4) They cleaned the room diligently every morning.
5) The vicinity has every facility from supermarkets to eateries and restaurants. And don't even get me started about the amazing number of friendly bars situated all over the place.
6) The breakfast spread was marvellous. They had a huge variety of cheese, bread and croissants to chose from. Served alongside were various juices, milk, and coffee/tea. The best part was that the breakfast went on till brunch. For young people like me, who are busy burning the midnight oil on the streets and pubs of any city; the prolonged breakfast spread time is a blessing.

All in all... If I ever get back to Budapest, this is exactly where I am going to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PreetTyagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#132 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#115 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Golden Park Hotel
#239 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlas City Hotel
#247 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
City Hotel Ring
#112 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#96 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baross City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baross City Hotel

Property: Baross City Hotel
Address: Baross ter 15, Budapest 1077, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,190 - ₹ 8,547
Hotel Class:3 star — Baross City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baross City Hotel is located next to the Keleti International Railway Station and offers comfortable, cosy rooms for tourists visiting Budapest. The hotel's 52 stylish rooms with delicate natural colours designed for both individual and business travellers. Due to its central location, major tourist attractions are easily reachable by high frequency public transport. The 3-star family friendly Baross City Hotel ensures peaceful relaxation in its spacious, bright rooms facing to the beautiful inner courtyard or the historic building of the Keleti Railway Station. Long stay travellers also can take advantage of fully furnished 2 bedroom apartments while enjoying various hotel services. If you are looking for an ideal place for city break, book our amazing deals, and make the most out of your Budapest trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Baross City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baross Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing