We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap quality”
Review of Eben Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eben Hotel
Ranked #241 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Riga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cheap quality”
Reviewed 27 February 2007

I have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. I didn't expect to see clean rooms and to get a good service in such a low budget hotel. But it was great for the money I have payed for it. The breakfast was very good for strating the day of active tourist :) It is about 15 minutes to go till the metro station. I would recommend this hotel for those who don't want to spend lots of money and to geet a clean and cosy bed in the clean room with good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Apreljskaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    19
    35
    11
    14
See reviews for
9
20
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 October 2005

The hotel is not in the centre of the city but there is a tram stop just outside the door and the metro is very close too, which takes you directly to the centre of town. There is also a huge shopping centre just down the road. Out the front of the hotel, the carpark and pavement are only partly concreted and cracked and didn't look particularly welcoming, although we found that road surfaces did seem to be generally poor around Budapest.
We had booked a room with a double bed, and were given a room with 3 single beds. The shower head was missing a screw or 2 so you had to hold it by hand if you wanted it above chest height. Admitedly we didn't make a fuss because we were only staying for a short time so I don't know whether they would have moved us if we'd asked.
The hot breakfast buffet was good - lots of variety and interesting food, although quite different to an English hot breakfast. There is also a nice little souvenir shop which is open for a few hours each morning, and you can buy postcards and stamps there as well as the usual paprika and dolls etc.
We didn't generally find the staff particularly friendly, but they weren't rude either, I think it may just be a cultural trait.
The hotel served its purpose for us, but I wouldn't make a point of staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2005

stayed at the hotel whilst ona music tour with school. Hotel was clean and the rooms were nice, however we had problems with the bathroom and there was areally bad smell coming frfom the drains. DON'T use the lifts, some of our group got stuck in one of them for half an hour, funny though it seems, just use the stairs instead. Staff seemed friendly and generally the hotel was good. Very good location for shops but watch pick pocketers

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Cheshire7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2005

Located about 10/15 mins drive from the centre this is a basic, more 2 star than a self claimed 3 star hotel. Whilst the rooms are clean and basically furnished (and fine if you like a hard bed) the carpet in the corridors was stained and dirty -- with no lighting at night.

Ok breakfast and to be fair, you can get a tram right outside to the centre of town. If you can pay the rate I did of €30 per night for a night or two then fine. Otherwise would recommend somewhere more central.

Helpful?
6 Thank isee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 September 2004

The hotel itself was so and so, nothing special. Used mostly by large groups as the price was reasonable. Good thing was the secured (free!!) parking lot. The breakfast was included and very nice with big choice of good products. The hotel was situated very close to the metro. You are within Budapest centre in 15-20 minutes. Excellent!! I booked a room for 2 and one bed, but received two single beds, not possible to change...the shower was smelly, but I noticed that in more places of the city as well...I would recommand it to people that do not want to spend a lot of money in hotel.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#191 of 333 in Budapest
190 reviews
1.0 km away
Matus Hotel
Matus Hotel
#218 of 333 in Budapest
5 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Lucky
Hotel Lucky
#242 of 333 in Budapest
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Veritas Hotel
Veritas Hotel
#225 of 333 in Budapest
84 reviews
2.4 km away
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#114 of 333 in Budapest
1,100 reviews
1.9 km away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#234 of 333 in Budapest
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eben Hotel

Property: Eben Hotel
Address: Nagy Lajos kiraly utja 15-17, Budapest 1148, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,102 - ₹ 7,142
Hotel Class:3 star — Eben Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eben Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing